5-8 Mile Image Map  
Image Map Bridgeport Speedway Home

Bridgeport Speedway News

Monday August 11, 2014
Upcoming Events

Friday, August 15st – 600cc and 270cc Micro Sprints, Four Cylinder Enduro (on 1/4mile) and the TSRS 305 Sprints (on 5/8th mile) – racing starts at 8pm

Saturday, August 16nd – BIG BLOCK TWIN 20’S – BIKE NIGHT & BIKE GIVEAWAYS – plus Crate/Sportsman, Outlaw Stocks, Garden State Vintage & Delaware Super Trucks (on 1/4 mile) – racing starts at 7pm

Friday, August 22nd – 600cc and 270cc Micro Sprints and 4-Cylinder Enduros – racing starts at 8pm

Saturday, August 23rd – FIRST REPONDER’S NIGHT – POWDER PUFF LADIES RACES – Big Block Modifieds, Crate/Sportsman & Outlaw Stocks – racing at 7pm


The quarter mile at Bridgeport Speedway provided plenty of excitement with a large field of cars and a good crowd on hand for the second round of the Poker series on the inner circle. Alex Bright picked up the $1,100 pay day for winning the 25-lap wingless 600cc Micro Sprint feature with Jay Hartman winning the 25-lap feature for the 270cc Micro Sprints. William Mohring captured his first win in the 20-lap Slingshot feature while Scott Dunn returned to winning form capturing the Four Cylinder feature event.

Forty cars were on hand to qualify for the 25-lap feature. With qualifying complete, Jim Tippin and Alex Bright led the field to the green flag. Bright quickly jumped to the lead with Tim Buckwalter moving into second from his eighth starting spot. Tony Dimattia followed in third by the completion of the first lap. The feature was slowed numerous times in the opening laps. The final restart was on lap three as the remainder of the event ran non-stop. Bright pulled away from Buckwalter as the pair threaded their way through lap traffic. Nick Walton and Jack Conover passed DiMattia for third and fourth while DiMattia held onto finish fifth.

Jay Hartman grabbed the lead on the opening lap and led every lap to capture the 270cc Micro Sprint feature. Kyle Spence finished second after starting 16th. Shawn Ratchford was third followed by Brent Bull and Tyler Brehm.

Mohring led the non-stop Slingshot feature from flag to flag to capture his first career feature win. Mohring jumped out to the lead over Cody Kline and B.J. Antonio. Mohring pulled away from Kline and Antonio until he caught the back of the pack. In the final laps, Kline and Antonio pulled to within striking distance but were unable to make a serious challenge for the win. Rich Partite and and Dave Morrell finished fourth and fifth.

Scott Dunn returned to the speedway from a two race absence to claim his sixth win of the season. Dunn lead the entire distance scoring the win over his son, Justin. Art Knapp was third followed by Michael Bentley and John Gray.


1. Alex Bright, 2. Tim Buckwalter, 3. Nick Walton, 4. Jack Conover, 5. Tony DiMattia, 6. James Morris, 7. Bill Thomas, 8. Robert Hocker, 9. Jeff Hartman, 10. Molly Chambers, 11. Rob Vivona, 12. Dave Carlberg, 13. Mike Rutherford, 14. P.J. Williams, 15. Ernie Miles, 16. Steve Kemery, 17. Jermain Godshall, 18. Wayne Scott, 19. Luke Thomas, 20. Chris Locuson, 21. Andrew Locuson, 22. Brett Mihalski, 23. Steve Bull, 24. Jim Tippin, 25. Sam Locuson, 26. Jay Hartman, 27. Ed Barber III, DNQ – Sam Lamothe, Billy Murphy, Steven Bracall, Charles Colburn, Jon Keller, Wayne Scott, Jr., Nick Havens, Joey Butts, Jeff Carman, Garrett Glassman, Rebecca Lamothe, Kyle Newkirk, Tony Hodgson


1. Jay Hartman, 2. Kyle Spence, 3. Shawn Ratchford, 4. Brent Bull, 5. Tyler Brehm, 6. Roland Saxton, 7. Dana Lamothe, 8. Keith Holiday, 9. Chris Moll, 10. Dana Watkins, 11. Jonathan John, 12. Glen Frye, Jr., 13. Tyler Reinhardt, 14. John Blanda, 15. Lee Reinhardt, 16. Joe Dopke, 17. R.J. Magyari, 18. Billy Gray


1. William Mohring, 2. Cody Kline, 3. B.J. Antonio, 4. Richard Partite, 5. Dave Morrell, 6. Jason Schenker, 7. Dave McCullough, 8. Erik Jones, 9. Steve Schenker, 10. Lou Partite

FOUR CYLINDER ENDURO (20 LAPS) – 1. Scott Dunn, 2. Justin Dunn, 3. Art Knapp, 4. Michael Bentley, 5. John Gray, 6. Jessica Dunn, 7. Carley Rocap, 8. John Webster, 9. Laura John, DNS – George Gargis