Image Map
  1-4 Mile Image Map  
Bridgeport Speedway Home

Bridgeport Speedway News

Sunday August 19, 2012
Swedesboro, NJ (August 19, 2012) – On a beautiful summer night at Bridgeport Speedway, Richie Pratt, Jr. won his fifth Big Block Modified feature of the season. Tommy Beamer was the victor in the Crate Sportsmen contest while Jeff Dirkes topped the field in the Outlaw Stock Car main event.

At the start of the 30-lap Big Block Modified feature, Ron Roberts jumped out to the front with Stan Frankenfield, Jr. and Mike Barone in pursuit. Barone motored into second place with two circuits recorded and began to close in on Roberts. After a side-by-side tussle with Roberts, Barone grabbed the lead on lap 5. Once on top of the pack, Barone began to pull away from the field and he developed a full straightaway advantage by lap 8. With the leader in lap traffic, the first caution of the event occurred on the tenth tour for a stopped Dominic Buffalino. On the restart, the top two of Barone and Roberts remained intact with Jimmy Horton and Richie Pratt, Jr. charging into third and fourth respectively. The final yellow flag of the contest was displayed on the eleventh revolution for Sean Gunther. When racing resumed, Barone was still in front with Roberts in second and Pratt, Jr. slipping by Horton for third. On lap 13, Pratt scooted by Roberts into second with Horton following him to gain third. At the halfway mark, Barone had a third of a straightaway lead over Pratt, Jr. By lap 20, Pratt, Jr. had closed the gap and began to challenge Barone for the top spot. With Barone running high and Pratt using the lower lane, the top two waged a good side-by-side battle for the lead in traffic over the next several laps. On lap 23, Barone elected to switch lanes and Pratt, Jr. jumped to the top side to gain the lead. Quickly, Horton began to close in on Barone and gained the runner up position with only six circuits remaining. With less than five tours to go and in lap traffic, Horton began to close in on Pratt, Jr. As the checkered flag waved, it was Pratt, Jr. holding off Horton for his fifth win of the season. Rick Laubach passed Barone with one lap remaining to finish in third. With Barone coming home in fourth, Ryan Watt wound up in fifth. Eric Kormann, Matt Harrell, and Ryan Watt were the victors in the heat races for the Big Block Modifieds. The consolation event was won by Neil Huber.

Tommy Beamer’s controversial last lap pass earned him his third Crate Sportsmen feature of the year. In the 20-lap contest, Brett Kressley paced the field for the opening two circuits before Travis Hill gained control. Hill had a commanding advantage over the field until the last caution flag of the race appeared with two laps to go. With the field bunched up as the final green flag waved, Hill had Beamer in his tracks. In turns three and four on the last tour, Beamer edged to the inside and made contact with Hill in turn four. With the checkered flag waving, it was Beamer in front with Hill in second. Matt Budd, Kressley and Mike Cogdill rounded out the top five. The Crate Sportsmen qualifying events were taken by Brett Kressley and Travis Hill.

After regaining the top spot from Terry Griffin on the seventh revolution, Jeff Dirkes led the remainder of the 15-lap Outlaw Stock feature to garner his sixth victory of the season. With Griffin taking second place, Spider Ensinger, Jr. completed the event in third. Russell Wurst and Pete Ellis completed the top five. Jeff Dirkes and Terry Griffin were the Outlaw Stock Car heat race winners.

Bridgeport Speedway provides a safe and secure family atmosphere, free parking, giveaways and fan participation games. Billed ‘The Fastest Dirt Track in the East’, Bridgeport Speedway is a banked 5/8th mile dirt oval, featuring a dirt 1/4 mile oval embedded in the center, and is located in Southern New Jersey -- just minutes from Pennsylvania and Delaware at exit 14 off of I-295.


Big Block Modifieds

Heat 1 - 1. Eric Kormann 2. Jimmy Horton 3. Dominic Buffalino 4. Ron Roberts 5. Mike Barone 6. Dave Adams
Heat 2 - 1. Matt Harrell 2. Rick Laubach 3. Stan Frankenfield, Jr. 4. Jesse Hill 5. Bob Sarkisian 6. Danny Hieber
Heat 3 - 1. Ryan Watt 2. Richie Pratt, Jr. 3. Sean Gunther 4. Steve Durand 5. Jim Bobbitt, Jr. 6. Jack Swain
Consolation - 1. Neil Huber 2. Dave Witte 3. Corey Andersen 4. Scott Irwin 5. Robbie Nixon 6. Dale Hartz


1. RICHIE PRATT, JR. 2. Jimmy Horton 3. Rick Laubach 4. Mike Barone 5. Ryan Watt 6. Eric Kormann 7. Ron Roberts 8. Jesse Hill 9. Matt Harrell 10. Bob Sarkisian 11. Scott Irwin 12. Steve Durand 13. Dave Witte 14. Dave Adams 15. Neil Huber 16. Robbie Nixon 17. Sean Gunther 18. Jim Bobbitt, Jr. 19. Dale Hartz 20. Danny Hieber 21. Stan Frankenfield, Jr. 22. Jack Swain 23. Corey Andersen 24. Dominic Buffalino

DNQ: Don Cogdill III, Scott Hulmes, Ed Firth, Mike Franz

Crate Sportsmen

Heat 1 - 1. Brett Kressley 2. Matt Budd 3. CJ Jones 4. Tom Miller 5. Brett Kelly 6. Kyle Hieber
Heat 2 - 1. Travis Hill 2. Mike Cogdill 3. Tommy Beamer 4. Ryan Wozunk 5. Brad Roberts 6. Gary Hieber, Jr.


1. TOMMY BEAMER 2. Travis Hill 3. Matt Budd 4. Brett Kressley 5. Mike Cogdill 6. Ryan Anderson 7. Tom Miller 8. Brad Roberts 9. CJ Jones 10. Kyle Hieber 11. Ricky DiEva 12. Gary Hieber, Jr. 13. Ryan Wozunk 14. George Nardelli, IV 15. Brett Kelly

Outlaw Stocks

Heat 1 - 1. Jeff Dirkes 2. Jimmy Hughes 3. Spider Ensinger, Jr. 4. Joe LaClaire 5. Tom Boehlert
Heat 2 - 1. Terry Griffin 2. Russell Wurst 3. Joe Meron 4. Ron Dirkes 5. Carl Holcomb


1. JEFF DIRKES 2. Terry Griffin 3. Spider Ensinger, Jr. 4. Russell Wurst 5. Pete Ellis 6. Tom Boehlert 7. Anthony DiBenedetto 8. Ron Dirkes 9. Fred Tomarchio 10. Kate Raively 11. Jimmy Hughes 12. Joe LaClaire 13. Carl Holcomb 14. Andy Whittaker 15. Joe Meron