Image Map
  1-4 Mile Image Map  
Bridgeport Speedway Home

Bridgeport Speedway News

Sunday May 05, 2013
Bridgeport, NJ (May 5, 2013) – On Sumo Wrestling Night at Bridgeport Speedway, David Hunt downed the competition and won the Big Block Modified feature. Marc Herman scored the victory in the Crate/Sportsman main event with Ron Frees taking the checkered flag in the Outlaw Stock Car feature. The D.A.’S Auto Body and Repair Rookie race was taken by Ian Humphreys.

At the start of 30-lap Big Block Modified feature, David Hunt was on top of the pack and was immediately followed by Stan Frankenfield, Jr. and Mike Barone. After back-to-back cautions on lap 1 including a multi-car accident, Hunt was still in charge with Frankenfield, Jr., Tommy Beamer and Barone in tow. On lap 3, Barone regained third place. By the sixth circuit, Frankenfield, Jr. and Barone began a good battle for the runner-up spot. Behind the top three of Hunt, Frankenfield, Jr. and Barone, Mike Iles motored by Barone to gain third place with ten tours recorded. At the halfway point, Hunt was still on top with Frankenfield still on the charge and Iles facing a challenge from Barone for the third position. With eight laps to go, Iles began to press Frankenfield, Jr. for second place. By lap 25, Frankenfield, Jr. had shaken off Iles and was gaining on Hunt. On the next circuit, Frankenfield, Jr. tried an inside move for the lead but was repelled by Hunt. Tommy Beamer’s flat tire brought out the final caution of the event with three circuits remaining. On the single file restart, Hunt and Frankenfield maintained their positions with Barone and RyanWatt driving past Iles. Hunt held on in the remaining laps to record his first Big Block Modified feature win at Bridgeport Speedway. Frankenfield’s strong run resulted in him finishing in second place. Barone wound up in third place with Watt in fourth and Iles in fifth. Mike Barone, David Hunt, and Tommy Beamer were the Big Block Modified heat winners. The consolation race was taken by Dominick Buffalino.

Following a restart with two circuits left, Marc Herman slipped by Billy Briggs and won his third 20-lap Crate/Sportsman feature of the year. Ryan Wozunk paced the field for the opening eleven tours before Briggs assumed the top running spot. Herman, who started the contest in eighth place, had advanced into the runner-up spot on lap 13. Following the last restart, Herman and Briggs engaged in an exciting side-by-side battle for the final two revolutions with Herman nosing out Briggs at the finish line for the victory. Mike Cogdill, Brad Roberts, and Ryan Wozunk completed the top five. The Crate/Sportsman qualifying events were won by Ricky DiEva and Mike Cogdill.

For the third time this season, Ian Humphries took the checkered flag in the D.A.’S Auto Body and Repair Rookie Series feature. Humphries took the lead from Jeff Bubori with two laps remaining. Bubori, Jesse James Bonaduce, and Tyler Hulmes followed Humphries across the finish line.

Ron Frees landed in victory lane for the third time this season after topping the field in the 15-lap Outlaw Stock Car main event. Ed Tinsman led the opening eight circuits before Terry Griffin motored to the front. On lap 13, Griffin and Frees were locked in a fierce fight for the lead and Griffin wound up hitting the fourth turn inside wall. Once in front, Frees preserved the win following the final restart. The runner-up spot went to Jimmy Avery. The top five was filled out by Tom Wills, Sr., Tom Boehlert, and Art Avery. Jimmy Hughes and Terry Griffin were the victors in the Outlaw Stock Car heat races.

On Saturday, May 11, a Mother’s Night celebration takes place at Bridgeport Speedway. All Moms in attendance will receive a flower courtesy of Creamy Acres Farm in Mullica Hill, NJ. Big Block Modifieds, Crate/Sportsman, Outlaw Stock Cars, and D.A.’s Auto Body and Repair Rookies will be in action on the 5/8th mile dirt oval. A House of Rock house band will be performing before the races. Several other attractions are on tap including a photograph session with the Bridgeport Bandit and a moon bounce for children. Pit gates unlock at 4:00 p.m. with the grandstand ticket office opening at 5:00 p.m. The first race starts at 6:30 p.m. Spectators (16 and older) are admitted for $15 with students (10-15) being admitted for $10. Kids 9 and under are free

Bridgeport Speedway provides a safe and secure family atmosphere, free parking, giveaways and fan participation games. Billed ‘The Fastest Dirt Track in the East’, Bridgeport Speedway is a banked 5/8th mile dirt oval, featuring a dirt 1/4 mile oval embedded in the center, and is located in Southern New Jersey -- just minutes from Pennsylvania and Delaware at exit 14 off of I-295.


Big Block Modifieds

Heat 1 - 1. Mike Barone 2. Wade Hendrickson 3. Stan Frankenfield, Jr. 4. Rusty Smith 5. Bob Sarkisian 6. Jimmy Horton
Heat 2 - 1. David Hunt 2. Eric Kormann 3. Richie Pratt, Jr. 4. Scott Irwin 5. Mike Franz 6. Jack Mihoff
Heat 3 - 1. Tommy Beamer 2. Mike Iles 3. Ryan Watt 4. Rick Laubach 5. Neil Huber 6. Travis Hill
Consolation - 1. Dominick Buffalino 2. Sam Martz 3. Tom Maccherone 4. Dave Dissinger 5. Don Cogdill, III 6. Ed Firth


1. DAVID HUNT 2. Stan Frankenfield, Jr. 3. Mike Barone 4. Ryan Watt 5. Mike Iles 6. Eric Kormann 7. Richie Pratt, Jr. 8. Rusty Smith 9. Tommy Beamer 10. Travis Hill 11. Wade Hendrickson 12. Scott Irwin 13. Bob Sarkisian 14. Jimmy Horton 15. Rick Laubach 16. Jack Mihoff 17. Tom Maccherone 18. Mike Franz 19. Neil Huber 20. Dominick Buffalino 21. Ron Roberts 22. Don Cogdill,III 23. Sam Martz 24. Dave Dissinger

DNS: Ed Firth
DNQ: Dave Witte, Sean Gunther


Heat 1 - 1. Ricky DiEva 2. Marc Herman 3. Dave Damiano 4. Ian Humphreys 5. Jeff Bubori 6. Kevin Belmont
Heat 2 - 1. Mike Cogdill 2. Ryan Wozunk 3. Billy Briggs 4. Brett Ballard 5. Joe Dill 6. Steve Young


1. MARC HERMAN 2. Billy Briggs 3. Mike Cogdill 4. Brad Roberts 5. Ryan Wozunk 6. Ricky DiEva 7. Matt Budd 8. Dave Damiano 9. Jesse James Bonaduce 10. Ian Humphreys 11. Jason Bittner 12. CJ Jones 13. Kevin Belmont 14. Jeff Bubori 15. Steve Young 16. Brett Ballard 17. Joe Dill 18. Jesse Dill

DNS: John Kelly, Scott Hulmes, Steve Searock


1. IAN HUMPHREYS 2. Jeff Bubori 3. Jesse James Bonaduce 4. Tyler Hulmes

Outlaw Stock Cars

Heat 1 - 1. Jimmy Hughes 2. Tom Wills, Jr. 3. Jimmy Avery 4. Ed Tinsman 5. Mike Hughes, Jr. 6. David Kramer
Heat 2 - 1. Terry Griffin 2. Ron Frees 3. Tom Boehlert 4. Joe Meron 5. Tom Wills, Sr. 6. Art Avery


1. RON FREES 2. Jimmy Avery 3. Tom Wills, Sr. 4. Tom Boehlert 5. Art Avery 6. Joe Meron 7. Tom Wills, Jr. 8. David Kramer 9. Terry Griffin 10. Ed Tinsman 11. Jimmy Hughes 12. Mike Hughes, Jr. 13. Jack Beaumont 14. Cleve Riehl