Image Map
  1-4 Mile Image Map  
Bridgeport Speedway Home

Bridgeport Speedway News

Monday May 27, 2013

By Deb Smith

Bridgeport, NJ (May 27, 2013) - It seems only appropriate that the driver with the most feature wins in the history of the Bridgeport Speedway would be the winner of the the Wingate Classic, a race paying tribute to George Wingate. Jimmy Horton ran a smart race and had a little luck on his side has he won the forty lap, $4,000 to win second hand of the 2013 Poker Series event. Kyle Borrer claimed his first victory in several seasons at Bridgeport in the Crate/Sportsman Division's Poker Series while Bill Liedtka returned to Victory Lane for his second win of the season in Black Flagged Racing’s Outlaw Stock Car Shoot Out Series.

The Wingate Classic, with sponsorship from Colonial Pipeline, was a tremendous success as more than 130 cars filled the Bridgeport pit area and a large crowd of fans were on hand to see the twelve heat races, six consolations and three feature events. Colonial Pipeline is the originator of the call before you dig program. They originated the 811 number to be called before any excavating work is begun, to insure a safe working environment for anyone involved.

It was Bridgeport win number 119 for Horton who charged back through the field after a pit stop to change a right rear tire just past half way. Brett Hearn dominated the race from the drop of the green flag. Hearn raced comfortably at the front of the field over Ryan Godown. Godown was the first of the top three to experience tire issues, moving Frank Cozze and the Hansell Big Block up to second. Cozze had pressured Godown on several occasions and now moved in to challenge Hearn with about seven laps to go. Cozze went to the lead and then Hearn headed to the pits with a right rear flat. Cozze was the race leader for several circuits until he, too, had a tire go down. Horton, who had worked his way back up to second, became the race leader on lap thirty six.

It was Horton's first win at Bridgeport his season. Bobby Varin, winner of the first hand in the Poker Series, finished a strong second with Jimmy Blewett earning his best Bridgeport finish in third. Godown overtook Doug Manmiller for fourth in the closing laps.

Varin left Bridgeport with an Ace and a King for his Poker Series hand after two races.

Kyle Borror would duplicate Varin's hand in the Crate/Sportsman feature when he picked up the win over his friend and neighbor, Ryan Anderson. Borror worked most of the night and day to prepare his car to compete at Bridgeport on Sunday and his efforts paid off with the big win. Mike Lyons trailed Anderson, while Craig Whitmoyer and Brett Kressley finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Bill Liedtka returned to Bridgeport to pick up his second win in the Black Flagged Racing Shoot Out Series for Outlaw Stocks. Brian Ludwig beat Ron Frees to the line for second while Terry Griffin and Billy Wroble completed the top five after the top four raced for the second spot right up to the checkered flag.

On Saturday, June 1, Little League Night steps up to the plate at Bridgeport Speedway. All Little League uniformed managers and players receive free grandstand admission. On the track, the Four-Dozen returns with two 12-lap features taking place for the Crate/Sportsman and Outlaw Stock Cars. The Big Block Modifieds and D.A.’S Auto Body and Repair Rookies will be in action as well. Pit gates swing open at 4:30 p.m. with the spectator ticket booth opening at 5:30 p.m. The first race of the evening gets underway at 7:00 p.m. Adult (16 and older) admission will be $20 with students (10-15) being admitted for $10. Kids 9 and under are free. Pit admission is $30 for Bridgeport members and $35 for non-members.

Bridgeport Speedway provides a safe and secure family atmosphere, free parking, giveaways and fan participation games. Billed ‘The Fastest Dirt Track in the East’, Bridgeport Speedway is a banked 5/8th mile dirt oval, featuring a dirt 1/4 mile oval embedded in the center, and is located in Southern New Jersey -- just minutes from Pennsylvania and Delaware at exit 14 off of I-295.


Big Block Modifieds

Heat 1 - 1. Frank Cozze 2. Ryan Watt 3. Jimmy Blewett 4. Doug Manmiller 5. Mike Barone
Heat 2 - 1. Richie Pratt, Jr. 2. Eric Kormann 3. David Hunt 4. Jack Swain 5. Craig VonDohren
Heat 3 - 1. Brett Hearn 2. Ryan Godown 3. Bobby Varin 4. Duane Howard 5. Billy Pauch, Sr.
Heat 4 - 1. Brian Kressley 2, Jimmy Horton 3. Matt Harrell 4. Wade Hendrickson 5. Neal Williams
Consolation #1 - 1. Rocco Infante 2. Dave Witte
Consolation #2 - Mike Iles 2. Dominic Buffalino


1. JIMMY HORTON 2. Bobby Varin 3. Jimmy Blewett 4. Ryan Godown 5. Doug Manmiller 6. Richie Pratt, Jr. 7. Mike Barone 8. Ryan Watt 9. Eric Kormann 10. Frank Cozze 11. Neal Williams 12. Dave Hunt 13. Rusty Smith 14. Brett Hearn 15. Brian Kressley 16. Dominic Buffalino 17. Matt Harrell 18. Bob Sarkisian 19. Rocco Infante 20. Jack Swain 21. Wade Hendrickson 22. Mike Iles 23. Craig VonDohren 24. Duane Howard 25. Don Cogdill III 26. Billy Pauch, Sr. 27. Dave Witte
DNS: Jeff Heotzler

Outlaw Stock Cars

Heat 1 - 1. Jimmy Avery 2. Bill Liedtka 3. Vern McLaughlin 4. Everett Taylor 5. Spider Essinger, Jr. 6. Jeff Dirkes
Heat 2 - 1. Mike Hughes, Jr 2. Brian Ludwig 3. Ed Tinsman 4. TJ Henry 5. Gary Lkimeczak 6. Billy Wroble
Heat 3 - 1. Ron Frees 2. Tom Princiotta 3. Terry Griffin 4. Tom Wills, Jr. 5. Jimmy Hughes 6. Marty Derr
Consolation - 1. Jeremy Doerr 2. Bob Dooley 3. Art Avery 4. Tom Boehlert 5. Joe Meron 6. John Parker 7. Bill Stockert 8. Cheri LaClaire


1. BILL LIEDTKA 2. Brian Ludwig 3. Ron Frees 4. Terry Griffin 5. Billy Wroble 6. Jimmy Avery 7. TJ Henry 8. Tom Princiotta 9. Tom Wills, Jr. 10. Tom Wills, Sr. 11. Jeff Dirkes 12. Art Avery 13. John Parker 14. Joe Meron 15. Bill Stockert 16. Mary Derr 17. Everett Taylor 18. Tom Boehlert 19. Mike Hughes, Jr. 20. Vern McLaughlin 21. Spider Ensinger, Jr. 22. Gary Klimeczak 23. Bob Dooley 24. Jeremy Doerr 25. Jimmy Hughes


Heat 1 - 1. Craig Whitmoyer 2. Mike Cogdill 3. CJ Jones 4. Joe Roemer
Heat 2 - 1. Kyle Borror 2. Ryan Anderson 3. Rich Rutski 4. Brett Kelly
Heat 3 - 1. Mike Lyons 2. Brett Kressley 3. Tom Miller 4. Clyde Cox
Heat 4 - 1. Jordan Watson 2. Billy Martino 3. John Scarpati, Jr. 4. Brian Kuhl
Heat 5 - Marc Herman 2. Bob Lilick 3. Jesse Hill 4. Steve Davis
Consolation 1 - 1. Ian Humphreys 2. Billy Briggs
Consolation 2 - Dave Damiano 2. Ken Eckert, Jr.
Consolation 3 - Mike Hendershot 2. Scott Hitchens


1. KYLE BORROR 2. Ryan Anderson 3. Mike Lyons 4. Craig Whitmoyer 5. Brett Kressley 6. Mike Cogdill 7. Clyde Cos 8. Jordan Watson 9. CJ Jones 10. Mike Hendershot 11. Matt Budd 12. Marc Herman 13. Steve Davis 14. Ian Humphreys 15. John Scarpati 16. Jeremy Martino 17. Bradley Roberts 18. Billy Briggs 19. Ricky DiEva 20. Bob Lilick 21. Jesse Hill 22. Brian Kuhl 23. Dave Damiano 24. Scott Hitchens 25. Joe Roemer 26. Ken Eckert, Jr. 27. Rich Rutski 28. Tom Miller