Image Map
  1-4 Mile Image Map  
Bridgeport Speedway Home

Bridgeport Speedway News

Sunday June 02, 2013
Bridgeport, NJ (June 2, 2013) - On Four Dozen and Little League Night at Bridgeport Speedway, Richie Pratt, Jr. won his second Big Block Modified feature of the year. The Crate/Sportsman features were taken by Matt Budd and Marc Herman with Ian Humphreys winning the D.A.’S Auto Body and Repair Rookie race. Terry Griffin and Jeremy Doerr were victors in the Outlaw Stock Car main events.

After the original start was disrupted by a caution period, the 30-lap Big Block Modified feature went green the rest of the way with Dave Witte initially pacing the pack. Richie Pratt, Jr., who started in sixth, moved into second place on lap 2 and was followed by Mike Franz. By lap 5, Witte had a half-straightway advantage over Pratt, Jr., Wade Hendrickson, and Matt Harrell. Seventeenth place starting Rick Laubach moved into the fifth spot with six tours recorded. On lap 11, Witte’s comfortable lead was evaporating due to some lap traffic and Laubach was able to slip by Harrell for fourth place. On the seventeenth circuit, the top four of Witte, Pratt, Jr., Hendrickson and Laubach were in tight quarters. Three revolutions later, Pratt, Jr. used the outside lane and swept by Witte for the lead. Over the next few circuits, Hendrickson and Laubach battled for third place with Laubach winning the positional tussle on lap 24. With five tours to go, Pratt, Jr. was knifing through traffic as Laubach passed Witte for the runner-up position. As the final laps clicked off and Pratt, Jr. stretched out his lead, Hendrickson and Don Cogdill, III moved into third and fourth place respectively. When the checkered flag waved, Pratt, Jr. was the first to cross the finish line for his second victory of the season. Laubach completed the event in second with Hendrickson finishing in third. Cogdill, III drove a strong race to take fourth. Jimmy Horton, who was involved in the original start mishap, came from the back of the pack and passed Witte on the final circuit to finish in fifth. Sean Gunther, Bob Sarkisian, and Cogdill, III were the Big Block Modified heat winners. Eric Kormann took the consolation event.

The Crate/Sportsman main events were taken by Matt Budd and Marc Herman. In the first 12-lap Crate/Sportsman feature, Budd passed Steve Searock on the eleventh circuit to win his second race of the season. Searock, who had led the opening ten laps, held on for second place. Bob Lilick, Herman, and Mike Cogdill rounded out the top five. In the second 12-lap feature, Herman took the lead from Cogdill on the eleventh tour following a restart to register his fourth victory of the year. The runner-up spot was taken by Cogdill. Bob Bracall, Budd, and Brad Roberts completed the top five. The Crate/Sportsman qualifying events were won by Herman and Searock.

For the fifth time this year, Ian Humphreys took the checkered flag in the D.A.’S Auto Body and Repair Rookie Series feature. Humphreys took the lead from Jesse Bonaduce with one circuit to go in the 8-lap race. Bonaduce, Tyler Hulmes, and Kris Lilick completed the race in order behind the winner.

Terry Griffin and Jeremy Doerr were victors in the 12-lap features for the Outlaw Stock Cars. In the first 12-lap contest, Griffin grabbed the top spot from Ron Frees with three circuits remaining and held off Frees on a last lap restart for the win. Frees completed the race in second and was followed by Tom Wills, Jr., Doerr, and Ed Tinsman. In the second 12-lap feature, Doerr comfortably crossed the finish line ahead of Frees after securing the top spot on the fifth circuit. Tinsman, Everett Taylor, and Griffin rounded out the top five. Ed Tinsman and Terry Griffin were victors in the Outlaw Stock Car heat races.

On Saturday, June 8, Nostalgia Night wheels into Bridgeport Speedway as the Garden State Vintage Stock Car Club will be on hand with a display and an exhibition event. Big Block Modifieds, Crate/Sportsman, Outlaw Stock Cars and the D.A.’S Auto Body and Repair Rookies will be on the docket as well. Pit gates unlock at 4:30 p.m. with the grandstand turnstiles opening at 5:30 p.m. Action gets underway at 7:00 p.m. Adult (16 and older) admission will be $15 with students (10-15) being admitted for $10. Kids 9 and under are free. Pit admission is $30 for Bridgeport members and $35 for non-members.

Bridgeport Speedway provides a safe and secure family atmosphere, free parking, giveaways and fan participation games. Billed ‘The Fastest Dirt Track in the East’, Bridgeport Speedway is a banked 5/8th
mile dirt oval, featuring a dirt 1/4 mile oval embedded in the center, and is located in Southern New Jersey -- just minutes from Pennsylvania and Delaware at exit 14 off of I-295.


Big Block Modifieds

Heat 1 - 1. Sean Gunther 2. Richie Pratt, Jr. 3. Rusty Smith 4. Mike Iles 5. Mike Franz 6. Jimmy Horton
Heat 2 - 1. Bob Sarkisian 2. Tommy Beamer 3. Tom Maccherone 4. Rick Laubach 5.Mike Barone 6. Wade Hendrickson
Heat 3 - 1. Don Cogdill, III 2. Dave Witte 3. Matt Harrell 4. Ryan Watt 5.Dom Buffalino 6. Stan Frankenfield, Jr.
Consolation - 1. Eric Kormann 2. Scott Irwin 3. Jeff Heotzler 4. Travis Hill 5. Rob Nixon 6. Jack Swain 7. Ron Roberts
Provisionals – Sam Martz, David Hunt


1. RICHIE PRATT, JR. 2. Rick Laubach 3. Wade Hendrickson 4. Don Cogdill, III 5. Jimmy Horton 6. Dave Witte 7. Matt Harrell 8.Mike Franz 9. Tom Maccherone 10. Mike Barone 11. Mike Iles 12. Dom Buffalino 13. Ryan Watt 14. Tommy Beamer 15. Eric Kormann 16. Rusty Smith 17. Scott Irwin 18. Jack Swain 19. Rob Nixon 20. Travis Hill 21. Jeff Heotzler 22. Ron Roberts 23. David Hunt 24. Sam Martz 25. Sean Gunther 26. Bob Sarkisian

DNS: Stan Frankenfield, Jr.
DNQ: Ed Firth, Dave Dissinger, Rick Kuiken, Jr., Jay Kosch


Heat 1 - 1. Marc Herman 2. Brett Ballard 3. Matt Budd 4. Bob Lilick 5. Bob Bracall 6. Mike Cogdill 7. Scott Hulmes
Heat 2 - 1. Steve Searock 2. Ricky DiEva 3. Joe Dill 4. Ryan Wozunk 5. Bradley Roberts 6. CJ Jones 7. Jason Neidlinger


1. MATT BUDD 2. Steve Searock 3. Bob Lilick 4. Marc Herman 5. Mike Cogdill 6. Brett Ballard 7. CJ Jones 8. Brad Roberts 9. Billy Briggs 10. Dave Damiano 11. Ian Humphreys 12. Bob Bracall 13. Scott Hulmes 14. Ricky DiEva 15. Brett Kelly 16. Ryan Wozunk 17. Jason Neidlinger 18. Jesse Dill 19. Tyler Hulmes 20. Joe Dill

DNS: Kevin Belmont, Jesse Bonaduce


1. Marc Herman 2. Mike Cogdill 3. Bob Bracall 4. Matt Budd 5. Brad Roberts 6. Dave Damiano 7. Bob Lilick 8. CJ Jones 9. Steve Searock 10. Scott Hulmes 11. Ricky DiEva 12. Ryan Wozunk 13. Joe Dill 14. Brett Ballard 15. Jesse Dill 16. Tyler Hulmes 17. Jason Neidlinger 18. Brett Kelly 19. Billy Briggs

DNS: Ian Humphreys, Kevin Belmont, Jesse Bonaduce


1. IAN HUMPHREYS 2. Jesse Bonaduce 3. Tyler Hulmes 4. Kris Lilick

Outlaw Stock Cars

Heat 1 - 1. Ed Tinsman 2. Brian Ludwig 3. Ron Frees 4. Tom Wills, Sr. 5. Tom Princiotta 6. Art Avery
Heat 2 - 1. Terry Griffin 2.Tom Wills, Jr. 3. Jimmy Avery 4. Tom Boehlert 5. Jeremy Doerr 6. Everett Taylor


1. TERRY GRIFFIN 2. Ron Frees 3. Tom Wills, Jr. 4. Jeremy Doerr 5. Ed Tinsman 6. Brian Ludwig 7. Jimmy Avery 8. Everett Taylor 9. Tom Boehlert 10. Tom Wills, Sr. 11. Marty Derr 12. Art Avery 13. Joe Meron 14. Tom Princiotta 15. Ken Moren 16. David Kramer


1. JEREMY DOERR 2. Ron Frees 3. Ed Tinsman 4. Everett Taylor 5. Terry Griffin 6. Tom Wills, Jr. 7. Tom Princiotta 8. Tom Wills, Sr. 9. Ken Moren 10. Tom Boehlert 11. Jimmy Avery 12. Brian Ludwig 13. David Kramer 14. Art Avery

DNS: Marty Derr, Joe Meron