Image Map
  1-4 Mile Image Map  
Bridgeport Speedway Home

Bridgeport Speedway News

Sunday July 28, 2013
Bridgeport, NJ (July 28, 2013) – Residents of Wenonah and Woodbury Heights, New Jersey were given the opportunity to see a night of four divisions of racing for free on the fast 5/8 mile Bridgeport Speedway on Saturday night. Ryan Watt drove to his fourth win of the season on Fan Appreciation Night. Kevin Belmont was the class of the Crate/Sportsman field with his first ever feature win. Jeremy Doerr earned his second win of the season in the Outlaw Stock Car main event. Kyle Purks was the winner of the twenty lap Hilborn TriState Race Savers Sprint Car feature event.

Bob Sarkisian took the race lead at the start of the thirty lap Big Block Modified feature. While in a battle for second, outside polesitter, Dave Witte spun in turn two on the second lap, bringing out the caution for the first time. Only Tom Macherone and Dominic Buffalino were involved in the incident as the majority of the starting line-up was able to avoid it. The "Flying Farmer", Wade Hendrickson, quickly moved up to second when green flag racing resumed as Watt moved into third after starting thirteenth on the grid. A second caution was needed when Mike Franz came to a stop in turn four on lap five. When action resumed, Sarkisian continued to maintain the lead as Watt moved into second with Tommy Beamer taking over third. Watt pursued Sarkisian and moved his Roberts Racing 14w to the inside of the leader on the backstretch, taking the lead on lap eight. Watt, Sarkisian, Beamer and Hendrickson raced in the top four through the half way mark, separating themselves from the rest of the field. Sarkisian closed in on Watt on lap seventeen but Watt pulled away as he caught the back of the field with ten laps remaining. Hendrickson drew a caution on lap twenty-one when electrical issues sidelined the Pondish #6. 2012 Bridgeport Champion, Rick Laubach moved into fourth on the restart as when he passed Matt Harrell. With a clear track ahead, Watt drove to his fourth Bridgeport win of the season followed by Sarkisian, Beamer, Laubach, and Harrell.

It took four attempts to score the first lap of the Crate/Sportsman feature but it only took Kevin Belmont until lap three to secure the lead from Scott Hulmes in the twenty lap feature event. Belmont quickly pulled away from the field and a battle for second began between the cars of Kyle Hieber, Hulmes, Jesse Bonaduce and George Nardelli IV. With the checkered flag waving, Belmont drove to his first ever feature event win in a racing career that has spanned thirty years and an extensive racing background. Kyle Hieber finished second ahead of his brother Gary in third. Nardelli picked up a career best in fourth with rookie Bonaduce finishing fifth.

Jeremy Doerr scooted by Ed Tinsman as the two came down the homestretch on lap four of the Outlaw Stock Car feature event. Doerr raced to his second win of the season as Jimmy Hughes rebounded from a lap one spin to finish second ahead of seven time feature winner, Ron Frees. Tinsman finished fourth with Tom Wills, Jr. rounding out the top five.

Kyle Purks was the winner of the Hilborn Tri-State Race Saver Sprint in their third appearance of the season at Bridgeport. Purks won the pole after winning the first qualifying heat and led the twenty lap main from the green through to the checkered to earn the win. Eddie Wagner kept Purks in his sight throughout the race, finishing second at the end of twenty laps. Rick Stief raced to a third place finish ahead of Kyle Reinhard while Joe Lord finished fifth.

On Saturday, August 3, two twenty five lap features for the Big Block Modifieds take place on Short Track SuperNationals qualifier night. Along with a regular main event, the postponed Big Block Modified feature from Saturday, July 20 will be contested. The Crate/Sportsman and Outlaw Stock Cars complete the card. The pit area opens at 4:30 p.m. with the spectator gates unlocking at 5:30 p.m. Action gets underway at 7:00 p.m. Adult (16 and older) admission will be $15 with students (10-15) being admitted for $10. Kids 9 and under are free. Pit admission is $30 for Bridgeport members and $35 for non-members.

Bridgeport Speedway provides a safe and secure family atmosphere, free parking, giveaways and fan participation games. Billed ‘The Fastest Dirt Track in the East’, Bridgeport Speedway is a banked 5/8th mile dirt oval, featuring a dirt 1/4 mile oval embedded in the center, and is located in Southern New Jersey -- just minutes from Pennsylvania and Delaware at exit 14 off of I-295.


Big Block Modifieds

Heat 1 - 1. Ryan Watt 2. Rick Laubach 3. Bob Sarkisian 4. Dom Buffalino 5. Tom Maccherone 6. Scott Ambruster
Heat 2 - 1. Dave Witte 2. Ron Roberts 3. Eric Kormann 4. Sam Martz 5. Matt Harrell 6. Scott Irwin
Heat 3 - 1. David Hunt 2. Wade Hendrickson 3. Tommy Beamer 4. Mike Barone 5. Jimmy Horton 6. Mike Iles
Consolation - 1. Richie Pratt, Jr. 2. Dave Shirk 3. Don Cogdill, III 4. Mike Franz 5. Jason Rivers 6. Sean Gunther


1. RYAN WATT 2. Bob Sarkisian 3. Tommy Beamer 4. Rick Laubach 5. Matt Harrell 6. Mike Barone 7. Jimmy Horton 8. Richie Pratt, Jr. 9. Dom Buffalino 10. Sam Martz 11. Eric Kormann 12. Scott Ambruster 13. Mike Iles 14. Don Cogdill, III 15. Jason Rivers 16. Wade Hendrickson 17. David Hunt 18. Dave Shirk 19. Sean Gunther 20. Scott Irwin 21. Tom Maccherone 22. Mike Franz 23. Dave Witte 24. Ron Roberts

DNQ: Ed Firth, Jack Swain


Heat 1 - 1. Ian Humphreys 2. Marc Herman 3. Dave Damiano 4. Jason Duppel 5. Mike Cogdill 6. Jesse Hill
Heat 2 - 1. Jesse Bonaduce 2. Steve Davis 3. Gary Hieber 4. Steve Searock 5. Matt Budd 6. Ryan Wozunk
Heat 3 - 1. Kevin Belmont 2. Bob Lilick 3. Kyle Hieber 4. Kris Lilick 5. Joe Dill 6. Scott Hulmes Consolation - 1. Ricky DiEva 2. George Nardelli, IV 3. Brian Papiez 4. Mike Carman 5. Jason Bittner 6. Jesse Dill


1. KEVIN BELMONT 2. Kyle Hieber 3. Gary Hieber 4. George Nardelli, IV 5. Jesse Bonaduce 6. Matt Budd 7. Brad Roberts 8. Jason Duppel 9. Jason Bittner 10. Kris Lilick 11. Mike Cogdill 12. Marc Herman 13. Dave Damiano 14. Ryan Wozunk 15. Scott Hulmes 16. Ricky DiEva 17. Steve Searock 18. Jesse Hill 19. Ian Humphreys 20. Bob Lilick 21. Joe Dill 22. Mike Carman 23. Brian Papiez 24. Jesse Dill

DNS: Steve Davis
DNQ: Pete Serra, Brad Roberts

Outlaw Stock Cars

Heat 1 - 1. Brian Ludwig 2. Ron Frees 3. Tom Wills, Sr. 4. Cleve Riehl 5. David Kramer 6. Ed Tinsman
Heat 2 - 1. Jeremy Doerr 2. Jimmy Avery 3. Tom Wills, Jr. 4. Mike Hughes, Jr. 5. Jimmy Hughes 6. Art Avery


1. JEREMY DOERR 2. Jimmy Hughes 3. Ron Frees 4. Ed Tinsman 5. Tom Wills, Jr. 6. Brian Ludwig 7. Art Avery 8. Tom Wills, Sr. 9. Andy Whittaker 10. Joe LaClaire 11. Mick Search 12. David Kramer 13. Joe Meron 14. Jimmy Avery 15. Mike Hughes, Jr.16. Cleve Riehl 17. Jack Beaumont 18. Tom Boehlert

TSRS Sprint Cars

Heat 1 - 1. Kyle Purks 2. Jon Haegele 3. Tim Tanner 4. Adam Carberry 5. Cody Jourdan 6. Harris Kohen
Heat 2 - 1. Joe Lord, Jr. Rick Stief 3. Stef Palmai 4. Steve Patterson 5. Karl Fryer 6. Bryant Davis
Heat 3 - 1. Eddie Wagner 2. Mike Haggenbotttom 3. Kyle Reinhardt 4. Robbie Stillwagon 5. Dave Brown 6. Sean Kirkpatrick


1. KYLE PURKS 2. Eddie Wagner 3. Rick Stief 4. Kyle Reinhardt 5. Joe Lord, Jr. 6. Stef Palmai 7. Mike Haggenbottom 8. Tim Tanner 9. Jon Haegele 10. Adam Carberry 11. Karl Fryer 12. Dave Brown 13. David Martin 14. Bill Brown 15. Bryant Davis 16. Erika Palmai 17. Harris Kohen 18. Cody Jourdan 19. Zoe Mattis 20. Robbie Stillwagon 21. Bob DeVault 22. Steve Patterson 23. Mike Kostic

DNS: Sean Kirkpatrick