Image Map
  1-4 Mile Image Map  
Bridgeport Speedway Home

Bridgeport Speedway News

Sunday August 11, 2013
Bridgeport, NJ (August 11, 2013) - On a beautiful summer night in Southern New Jersey, Mike Iles, the 2008 Bridgeport Speedway Track Champion, won his first feature of the 2013 season in Big Block Modified competition. After being so close on so many occasions, Bradley Roberts broke into the winner's circle for his first career win in Crate/Sportsman competition. The Hilborn Tri-State Race Saver Sprint cars were the third division in this tripleheader night of racing that saw young sprint car sensation, Kyle Reinhardt race to his second TSRS win of the year.

Tom Maccherone and three time feature winner this season, Dom Buffalino, rolled off the grid in row number one for the start of the thirty lap Big Block Modified feature event. Buffalino immediately took the lead on the first circuit just before Corey Anderson drew the race's first caution. The field realigned for a restart but a second yellow flag came out quickly for a multi-car incident in turn three involving the cars of Richie Pratt, Jr., Matt Harrell, and Eric Kormann. With Buffalino in the lead, Sammy Martz was in second ahead of Wade Hendrickson, Ron Roberts and Iles. Iles had moved into second by the time a lap thirteen caution was needed for the stopped car of Tommy Beamer. On the restart, Iles made use of the outside line to claim the lead on lap fourteen. Quickly, Iles began to pull away from the pack and developed a full straightaway lead by the twenty second circuit. Rick Laubach began to pick up the pace in the final laps and moved into second with four tours remaining. Two laps later, the final caution period occurred due to a spin by Jason Rivers. On the ensuing restart, Iles held off Laubach and remained in control for the remaining laps to claim the checkered flag. With Laubach taking the runner-up spot, Buffalino finished in third and Jimmy Horton and Martz rounded out the top five at the line. The Big Block Modified qualifying events were taken by Travis Hill, Mike Iles, and Wade Hendrickson.

Bradley Roberts wasted no time in putting his Roberts Racing #14 into the race lead at the start of the twenty-lap Crate Sportsman Feature. Roberts took the lead on lap one after starting in the fourth position. Dave Damiano challenged Roberts for the lead and became the new race leader on lap four. Damiano held the top spot for just four circuits before Roberts wheeled back into the lead on lap eight and went on to claim his first ever feature win. It was a season best finish for Damiano as he followed Roberts across the line. Brett Ballard finished third with Marc Hermann in fourth. Brian Papiez drove to a fifth place finish for his best Bridgeport effort to date. Jesse Bonaduce, Brad Roberts and Dave Damiano won the heat races in the Crate/Sportsman division. The consolation race was taken by Clyde Cox.

More than thirty sprint cars came to compete for a starting spot in the Hilborn Tri-State Race Savers feature event. After eight different winners had claimed feature wins this season, Kyle Reinhardt drove his Bruce Kindberg entry into the winner's circle to be the first driver to earn two wins this season. Reinhardt was the winner in the fifth race of the season and picked up his second win just four races later. Bob DeVault was the early race leader but he tangled with a lapped car on lap seven and flipped in turn two. Reinhardt had raced his way to the front from his seventh place start and bested Adam Carberry to the finish line for the win. Eddie Wagner finished third followed by 2012 TSRS Champion, Mike Haggenbottom. Kyle Purks, winner of the last TSRS outing at Bridgeport Speedway, finished fifth. The TSRS Sprint Car heat race victors were Karl Freyer, Kyle Reinhardt, and Ed Newhouser. Mark Sasso won the consolation race.

On Saturday, August 17, twin 20-lap features for the Big Block Modifieds will be contested on the 5/8th mile. The Crate/Sportsman and Outlaw Stock Cars will round the agenda. Residents from Egg Harbor, Galloway and Mays Landing, along with all drivers of motorcycles, will be admitted to the grandstand for free. Competitors can begin to enter the pits at 4:30 p.m. with the grandstand ticket office opening at 5:30 p.m. Action on the outer oval starts at 7:00 p.m. Adult (16 and older) admission will be $20 with students (10-15) being admitted for $10. Kids 9 and under are free. Pit admission is $30 for Bridgeport members and $35 for non-members.

Bridgeport Speedway provides a safe and secure family atmosphere, free parking, giveaways and fan participation games. Billed ‘The Fastest Dirt Track in the East’, Bridgeport Speedway is a banked 5/8th mile dirt oval, featuring a dirt 1/4 mile oval embedded in the center, and is located in Southern New Jersey -- just minutes from Pennsylvania and Delaware at exit 14 off of I-295.


Big Block Modifieds

Heat 1 - 1. Travis Hill 2. Rick Laubach 3. Ron Roberts 4. Matt Harrell 5. Scott Irwin 6. Tom Maccherone
Heat 2 - 1. Mike Iles 2. Richie Pratt, Jr. 3. Ryan Watt 4. Eric Kormann 5. Sam Martz 6. Mike Franz
Heat 3 - 1. Wade Hendrickson 2. Dom Buffalino 3. Jimmy Horton 4. Jack Swain 5. Tommy Beamer 6. Sean Gunther


1. MIKE ILES 2. Rick Laubach 3. Dom Buffalino 4. Jimmy Horton 5. Sam Martz 6. Ryan Watt 7. Richie Pratt, Jr. 8. Sean Gunther 9. Jack Swain 10. Bob Sarkisian 11. Scott Irwin 12. Mike Barone 13. Travis Hill 14. Eric Kormann 15. Corey Andersen 16. Jason Rivers 17. Ron Roberts 18. Tom Maccherone 19. Tommy Beamer 20. Wade Hendrickson 21. Mike Franz 22. Ed Firth 23. Matt Harrell 24. Dave Hunt

DNQ: Jack Mihoff


Heat 1 - 1. Jesse Bonaduce 2. Scott Hulmes 3. Ricky DiEva 4. Kris Lilick 5. Marc Herman 6. Kevin Belmont
Heat 2 - 1. Brad Roberts 2. Matt Budd 3.Mike Cogdill 4. Ryan Wozunk 5. Steve Searock 6. Jesse Dill
Heat 3 - 1. Dave Damiano 2. Bob Lilick 3. Brian Papiez 4. Brett Ballard 5. Ian Humphreys 6. George Nardelli, IV
Consolation - 1. Clyde Cox 2. Adam Cox 3. Harry Landis 4. Joe Dill 5. Dan Stout 6. Billy Briggs


1. BRAD ROBERTS 2. Dave Damiano 3. Brett Ballard 4. Marc Herman 5. Brian Papiez 6. Ricky DiEva 7. Jesse Bonaduce 8. Kris Lilick 9. Joe Dill 10. Ryan Wozunk 11. Clyde Cox 12. Matt Budd 13. Mike Cogdill 14. George Nardelli, IV 15. Ian Humphreys 16. Harry Landis 17. Steve Searock 18. Kevin Belmont 19. Adam Cox 20. Jesse Dill 21. Dan Stout 22. Scott Hulmes 23. Bob Lilick

DNS: Billy Briggs
DNQ: Pete Lucchesi, Joey Borror, Aaron Weaver, Wayne Groover

TSRS Sprint Cars

Heat 1 - 1. Karl Freyer 2. Eddie Wagner 3. Stef Palmai 4. Mike Haggenbottom 5. Tim Tanner, Jr. 6. Jamie Kostic
Heat 2 - 1. Kyle Reinhardt 2. Joe Lord, Jr. 3. Adam Carberry 4. Kyle Purks 5. Mark Bittner 6. Brittany Tresch
Heat 3 - 1. Ed Newhouser 2. Anthony Sesely 3. Bob DeVault 4. Dave Brown, Jr. 5. Rick Stief 6. Kevin Nagy
Consolation - 1. Mark Sasso 2. Jon Haegele 3. Bryant Davis 4. Justin Hoffman 5. Tommy Carberry 6. Erika Palmai


1. KYLE REINHARDT 2. Adam Carberry 3. Eddie Wagner 4. Mike Haggenbottom 5. Kyle Purks 6. Anthony Sesely 7. Karl Freyer 8. Joe Lord, Jr. 9. Rick Stief 10. Tim Tanner, Jr. 11. Stef Palmai 12. Jon Haegele 13. Jamie Kostic 14. Justin Hoffman 15. Erika Palmai 16. Dave Brown, Jr. 17. Ed Newhouser 18. Kevin Nagy 19. Bryant Davis 20. Mark Bittner 21. Tommy Carberry 22. Brittany Tresch 23. Mark Sasso 24. Bob DeVault

DNQ: Gary Palmer, Pat U’Selis, David Martin, Cody Jourdan, Harris Kohen, Zoe Mattis,