Image Map
  1-4 Mile Image Map  
Bridgeport Speedway Home

Bridgeport Speedway News

Sunday August 18, 2013
Bridgeport, NJ (August 18, 2013) - Young Don Cogdill, III became the 95th Modified driver to record a feature win in the history of the Bridgeport Speedway as he captured the first twenty lap event for the Big Block Modifieds on Saturday night. Ryan Watt came back in the second twenty lap event to pick up his fifth win of the 2013 season at Bridgeport Speedway. Bob Lilick became a three time winner in the Crate/Sportsman division and Mike Frees added win number nine to his impressive list of results with his victory in the Outlaw Stock Car feature event.

After several strong performances earlier in 2013, Cogdill, III became the fourth driver to win his first Bridgeport Speedway Big Block Modified feature this season which is a trend that was started by Bobby Varin on opening night. Cogdill, III swept past polesitter Tom Macherone for the race lead on the second circuit and never looked back to collect his first career victory in the non-stop contest. The first twenty lap feature event produced several season best finishes as former drag racer Tom Macherone crossed the finish line behind Cogdill, III. Mike Franz finished third for his best performance of 2013. Three time track champion Wade Hendrickson finished fourth as he drove the Rio R10 for this week's events. Travis Hill earned his best Big Block Modified finish to date with a fifth place run.

The top eleven finishers in the first twenty lap feature were inverted for the second main event for the Big Block Modifieds. At the start, polesitter Sammy Martz put his #3 out in front with Jimmy Horton in his tracks. After a torrid battle for second, Ryan Watt took over the spot from Horton on the eighth circuit. Martz was the class of the field has he maintained the lead in spite of three restarts to complete lap nine followed by another caution on lap eleven. With just three laps to go, a flat on Martz’s ride brought out the caution. As Martz headed to the pits for a new tire, Watt became the new race leader and held off Horton for the win after another caution with just two laps to go. Following Watt across the finish line were Horton, Richie Pratt, Jr., Wade Hendrickson and 2012 Bridgeport Champion Rick Laubach. With two fourth place finishes in the two twenty lap feature events, Wade Hendrickson earned a guaranteed redraw starting spot in the upcoming Friends of Mike race scheduled for Thursday, August 29 at Bridgeport Speedway. The Big Block Modified heat races were won by Richie Pratt, Jr., Wade Hendrickson, and Don Cogdill, III. Scott Ambruster captured the consolation event.

In the 20-lap main event for the Crate/Sportsman, Steve Searock led the opening two laps before Bob Lilick took the lead on the third tour. Once in front, Lilick led the remainder of the race with Ricky DiEva finishing in the runner-up spot. Marc Hermann came home in third. Searock and Mike Cogdill rounded out the top five. Bob Lilick and Brad Roberts were victors in the Crate/Sportsman qualifying events.

In the 15-lap feature for the Outlaw Stock Cars, Ron Frees took the lead from Jimmy Avery on lap eight to capture his ninth feature win of the season. At the checkered flag, it was a family affair to the finish as father bested son when Tom Wills, Sr. completed the race in second in front of Tom Wills, Jr. Fourth was taken by Doug DeBray in his first Bridgeport Speedway appearance and Ken Moren came home in fifth. The Outlaw Stock Car heat race winners were Ron Frees and Jimmy Avery.

On Saturday, August 24, the Bill Hill Memorial for Crate/Sportsman highlights the three-division program. Plenty of extra incentives including lap money and an enhanced purse are on tap for the competitors in the Crate/Sportsman class. The Big Block Modifieds and Outlaw Stock Cars complete the card. Quarter Midget cars will be on display and will compete in an exhibition event on the quarter mile track. Spectators from Millville and Vineland will be admitted to the grandstand for free with proper identification. The pit gates open at 4:30 p.m. and grandstand turnstiles unlock at 5:30 p.m. Racing on the 5/8th mile dirt oval revs up at 7:00 p.m. Adult (16 and older) admission will be $15 with students (10-15) being admitted for $10. Kids 9 and under are free. Pit admission is $30 for Bridgeport members and $35 for non-members.

Bridgeport Speedway provides a safe and secure family atmosphere, free parking, giveaways and fan participation games. Billed ‘The Fastest Dirt Track in the East’, Bridgeport Speedway is a banked 5/8th mile dirt oval, featuring a dirt 1/4 mile oval embedded in the center, and is located in Southern New Jersey -- just minutes from Pennsylvania and Delaware at exit 14 off of I-295.


Big Block Modifieds

Heat 1 - 1. Richie Pratt, Jr. 2. Eric Kormann 3. Tom Maccherone 4.Matt Harrell 5. Travis Hill 6. Scott Irwin
Heat 2 - 1. Wade Hendrickson 2. Jimmy Horton 3. Mike Franz 4. Dom Buffalino 5. Jack Swain 6. Jack Mihoff
Heat 3 - 1. Don Cogdill, III 2. Dave Witte 3. Sam Martz 4. Ryan Watt 5. Rick Laubach 6. Tommy Beamer
Consolation - 1. Scott Ambruster 2. Mike Barone 3. Ron Roberts 4. Rocco Infante 5. Donny Radd 6. Rob Nixon


1. DON COGDILL, III 2. Tom Maccherone 3. Mike Franz 4. Wade Hendrickson 5.Travis Hill 6. Richie Pratt, Jr. 7. Matt Harrell 8. Scott Irwin 9. Ryan Watt 10. Jimmy Horton 11. Sam Martz 12. Rick Laubach 13. Tommy Beamer 14. Dom Buffalino 15. Dave Witte 16. Jack Swain 17. Eric Kormann 18. Rocco Infante 19. Scott Ambruster 20. Jack Mihoff 21. Ron Roberts 22. Rob Nixon 23. Jason Rivers 24. Donny Radd

DNS: Mike Barone
DNQ: Jason Rivers, Bobby Firth, Dave Hunt, Ed Firth, Bob Sarkisian, Sean Gunther


1. RYAN WATT 2. Jimmy Horton 3. Richie Pratt, Jr. 4. Wade Hendrickson 5. Rick Laubach 6. Mike Franz 7. Eric Kormann 8. Scott Ambruster 9. Donny Radd 10. Don Cogdill, III 11. Tom Maccherone 12. Dave Witte 13. Scott Irwin 14. Sam Martz 15. Matt Harrell 16. Ron Roberts 17. Rocco Infante 18. Rob Nixon 19. Travis Hill 20. Tommy Beamer 21. Dom Buffalino 22. Jack Mihoff 23. Jason Rivers 24. Jack Swain


Heat 1 - 1. Bob Lilick 2. Steve Searock 3. Matt Budd 4. Joe Dill 5. Jesse Bonaduce 6. Marc Herman 7. Kyle Hieber
Heat 2 - 1. Brad Roberts 2. Gary Hieber 3. Kris Lilick 4. Ricky DiEva 5. George Nardelli, IV 6. Mike Cogdill 7. Ryan Wozunk


1. BOB LILICK 2. Ricky DiEva 3. Marc Herman 4. Steve Searock 5. Mike Cogdill 6. Gary Hieber 7. Brad Roberts 8. Mike Hendershot 9. George Nardelli, IV 10. Matt Budd 11. Kyle Hieber 12. Joe Dill 13. Jesse Dill 14. Ian Humphreys 15. Dave Damiano 16. Jeff Duprez 17. Jesse Bonaduce 18. Ryan Wozunk 19. Kris Lilick

DNS: Pete Lucchesi, Kevin Belmont

Outlaw Stock Cars

Heat 1 - 1. Ron Frees 2. Brian Ludwig 3. Tom Wills, Sr. 4. Mike Hughes, Jr. 5. Doug DeBray 6. Ed Tinsman
Heat 2 - 1. Jimmy Avery 2. Terry Griffin 3. Jimmy Hughes 4. Tom Wills, Jr. 5. Cleve Riehl 6. Ken Moren


1. RON FREES 2. Tom Wills, Sr. 3. Tom Wills, Jr. 4. Doug DeBray 5. Ken Moren 6. David Kramer 7. Art Avery 8. Jimmy Hughes 9. Jimmy Avery 10. Jack Beaumont 11. Cleve Riehl 12. Mike Hughes, Jr. 13. Brian Ludwig 14. TJ Henry 15. Terry Griffin 16. Jeff Dirkes 17. Ed Tinsman

DNS: Tom Boehlert