Image Map
  1-4 Mile Image Map  
Bridgeport Speedway Home

Bridgeport Speedway News

Monday August 26, 2013
Bridgeport, NJ (August 25, 2013) - Richie Pratt's third feature win of the season moves him up to being one feature win away from moving into the top ten on the all-time feature win list at the Bridgeport Speedway. Jordan Watson was the winner of the Bill Hill Memorial Race for the Crate/Sportsman division while Jimmy Avery led all fifteen laps of the Outlaw Stock Car feature to win his second race of the season.

Two time feature winner David Hunt took the race lead at the wave of the green flag of the thirty lap Big Block Modified feature. It was Bob Sarkisian who had the hot shoe on Saturday night as the Woolrich, NJ driver took the lead from Hunt on the third circuit and then went on to set the fastest lap of the night on lap five. Cautions were needed on laps five and seven as first Scott Ambruster then Sam Martz ran into mechanical issues and slowed on the track. Sarkisian resumed his spot on point after the lap five restart but he had five time feature winner Ryan Watt on his tail by the lap seven yellow. After starting fifteenth, Watt ran in second and then overtook Sarkisian to become the race leader on lap eight. Watt led Hunt, Wade Hendrickson, Matt Harrell and Richie Pratt at the half way mark. Hendrickson brought out the caution two laps later, relinquishing his third place run. Pratt took over second on lap twenty. On the next lap, again the third place driver, this time Hunt, brought out the yellow flag. A second caution was needed before lap twenty-one could be scored as Jimmy Horton made contact with the backstretch wall as the Lincoln Auto Body Car lost a wheel. As action resumed, Watt was still in front with Pratt, Mike Iles, Harrell and Eric Kormann in tow. Pratt raced Watt for the lead as the field came up on five to go. As Pratt gained the lead by a nose, the caution waved for another third place driver, Mike Iles, who had a left rear tire go down. Pratt's timing was perfect has he edged into the lead with restarts becoming single file in the final five laps of the race. Pratt led Watt to the checkered flag five laps later with Harrell in third. Another late race charge by 2012 Bridgeport Champion, Rick Laubach, earned the Hellertown, PA driver a fourth place finish ahead of Eric Kormann. The Big Block Modified heat races were won by David Hunt, Ron Roberts, and Jack Mihoff. Wade Hendrickson captured the consolation race.

The Crate/Sportsman division paid tribute to Bill Hill on Saturday night as the twenty lap Bill Hill Memorial Race was won by Delaware invader, Jordan Watson. Watson, a regular at Bridgeport during the 2011 season, drew the pole and led all twenty laps of the race. Hill lost his battle with cancer on Christmas Eve 2012. Brett Ballard finished second while Rich Rutski finished in third. Matt Budd and Ryan Anderson rounded out the top five. Marc Herman, Jordan Watson, and Matt Budd were victors in the Crate/Sportsman qualifying events. The consolation event was taken by Kyle Hieber

Jimmy Avery was another flag to flag feature winner as he picked up his second win of the season in the fifteen lap Outlaw Stock Car feature. Avery's early challenge came from Brian Ludwig while Jimmy Hughes took over second for laps three through eight. For the rest of the race, Avery held off the advances of nine time feature winner Ron Frees to take the win. Frees finished in second place ahead of Tom Wills, Jr., Jeff Dirkes, and Ed Tinsman. The Outlaw Stock Car heat race winners were Jimmy Avery and Brian Ludwig.

On Thursday, August 29, the 8th Annual Friends of Mike Race takes place for the first time at Bridgeport Speedway. This special two-division card is highlighted by a 51-lap Poker Series event for the Big Block Modifieds and the victor will receive $7500. The take the green money is $500. The ‘Rogie Rumble’, a 5-lap “Dash for Cash” for the winners of the Big Block Modified heat races, will pay $500 to the victor. The Crate/Sportsman division will share the limelight with the Big Block Modifieds on this night as they will compete for $1,500 in their 25-lap Poker Series affair. In addition, there is a “dual” Gambler’s Challenge for the Crate/Sportsman on this night. A $50 gamble will see the winner walk away with $2,000 while a $100 gamble will see one lucky driver leave with $2,500. The take the green money for the Crate/Sportsman is $175. Competitors can begin to enter the pits at 3:00 p.m. with the grandstand gates opening at 3:00 p.m. Warm-ups start at 6:30 p.m. and racing gets underway at 7:00 p.m. Tickets for fans 16 and older will be $30. Admission for students (10-15) will be $15 and children 9 and under are free. Pit admission is $40.

Bridgeport Speedway provides a safe and secure family atmosphere, free parking, giveaways and fan participation games. Billed ‘The Fastest Dirt Track in the East’, Bridgeport Speedway is a banked 5/8th mile dirt oval, featuring a dirt 1/4 mile oval embedded in the center, and is located in Southern New Jersey -- just minutes from Pennsylvania and Delaware at exit 14 off of I-295.


Big Block Modifieds

Heat 1 - 1. David Hunt 2. Bob Sarkisian 3. Mike Iles 4. Scott Ambruster 5. Jimmy Horton 6. Sam Martz
Heat 2 - 1. Ron Roberts 2. Matt Harrell 3. Rick Laubach 4. Eric Kormann 5. Dom Buffalino 6. Rob Nixon
Heat 3 - 1. Jack Mihoff 2. Richie Pratt, Jr. 3. Ryan Watt 4. Tommy Beamer 5. Corey Andersen 6. Mike Franz
Consolation - 1. Wade Hendrickson 2. Mark Forte, Jr. 3. Tom Maccherone 4. Brian Papiez 5. Jason Rivers 6. Scott Irwin


1. RICHIE PRATT, JR. 2. Ryan Watt 3. Matt Harrell 4. Rick Laubach 5. Eric Kormann 6. Corey Andersen 7. Dom Buffalino 8. Ron Roberts 9. Tom Maccherone 10. Scott Irwin 11. Jack Mihoff 12. Mike Franz 13. Mike Iles 14. Jimmy Horton 15. Jason Rivers 16. David Hunt 17. Rob Nixon 18. Bob Sarkisian 19. Wade Hendrickson 20. Brian Papiez 21. Mark Forte, Jr. 22. Scott Ambruster 23. Tommy Beamer 24. Sam Martz

DNQ: Neil Huber, Bruce Davis, Dave Witte, Ryan Forte


Heat 1 - 1. Marc Herman 2. Jesse Hill 3. Jesse Bonaduce 4. Ryan Anderson 5. Tim Trimble 6. Brett Ballard
Heat 2 - 1. Jordan Watson 2. Brad Roberts 3. Ricky DiEva 4. Travis Hill 5. Bob Lilick 6. Kevin Belmont
Heat 3 - 1. Matt Budd 2. Rich Rutski 3. Brian Papiez 4. Gary Hieber 5. Billy Briggs 6. Pete Serra Consolation - 1. Kyle Hieber 2. CJ Faison 3. Steve Searock 4. Kris Lilick 5. Jesse Dill 6. Joe Dill


1. JORDAN WATSON 2. Brett Ballard 3. Rich Rutski 4. Matt Budd 5. Ryan Anderson 6. Bob Lilick 7. Marc Herman 8. Jesse Hill 9. Gary Hieber 10. Kyle Hieber 11. Jesse Bonaduce 12. Ricky DiEva 13. Tim Trimble 14. Kris Lilick 15. Billy Briggs 16. Kevin Belmont 17. CJ Faison 18. Jesse Dill 19. Brian Papiez 20. Pete Serra 21. Travis Hill 22. Steve Searock 23. Joe Dill 24. Brad Roberts

DNQ: George Nardelli, IV, Scott Hulmes, Steve Kassekert, Jeff Bubori, Mike Cogdill, Jason Bittner

Outlaw Stock Cars

Heat 1 - 1. Jimmy Avery 2. Jimmy Hughes 3. Ron Frees 4. Mike Hughes, Jr. 5. Ed Tinsman 6. John Parker
Heat 2 - 1. Brian Ludwig 2. Tom Wills, Jr. 3. Art Avery 4. Jeff Dirkes 5.David Kramer


1. JIMMY AVERY 2. Ron Frees 3. Tom Wills, Jr. 4. Jeff Dirkes 5. Ed Tinsman 6. John Parker 7. Cleve Riehl 8. Art Avery 9. Jimmy Hughes 10. David Kramer 11. Mike Hughes, Jr. 12. Brian Ludwig

DNS: Terry Griffin