Image Map
  1-4 Mile Image Map  
Bridgeport Speedway Home

Bridgeport Speedway News

Sunday September 08, 2013
Bridgeport, NJ (September 8, 2013) - Second generation driver Sammy Martz became the eleventh different winner in the Big Block Modified ranks at the Bridgeport Speedway as he captured the thirty lap main event for his first career win on the 5/8 mile speedway. It may have taken Kevin Belmont more than thirty years to win his first race but only took about six weeks for the Langhorne, PA driver to earn his second win of the season in the Crate/Sportsman division. Jeff Dirkes made his first visit of the season to Bridgeport's Victory Lane with his Outlaw Stock Car win.

Outside polesitter, Jack Mihoff, took the lead at the start of the thirty lap Big Block Modified feature event. Sam Martz worked his way into third place on lap three with an inside move beneath two-time feature winner Dave Hunt. A lap four caution had Martz restarting behind Mihoff and Bob Sarkisian but the driver from Whitehouse Station, NJ had the lead by the completion of lap five. Current point leader Ryan Watt started in seventeenth and passed Wade Hendrickson for third with six laps scored. Watt took over second from Sarkisian on the next tour but Martz had built a substantial lead by the time Watt reached the runner-up spot. By halfway, Martz was dealing with lapped traffic but he never faltered as he maintained his advantage over Watt. Hendrickson ran third followed by Sarkisian and Jimmy Horton. The caution waved on lap nineteen for Jesse Bonaduce who was making his first Big Block Modified start in the Horton #43. The restart erased Martz's lead as the double file restart closed in the ranks. Martz elected to restart on the outside and when the green flag waved, he immediately pulled away from the field. Hendrickson and Horton waged a back and forth battle for third with Horton finally winning the spot. With five laps to go, Hendrickson gave up his top five spot as he headed to the infield with mechanical issues. With a clear race track ahead, Martz continued to stretch his lead as Watt dealt with the late race challenges of Horton. Horton used the inside of the track to pull even with Watt on several occasions but each time, Watt held the advantage at the start finish line. Martz sailed under the checkered flag to take a very popular win. Just three weeks earlier, Martz was within three laps of securing his first win but a flat tire stood in his way. Watt edged Horton for second place at the line. 2012 Track Champion, Rick Laubach raced home in fourth with Matt Harrell completing the top five. The victors in the Big Block Modified heat races were Sam Martz, Jack Mihoff, and Bob Sarkisian.

It's been an up and down couple of weeks for Kevin Belmont since he captured his first win but it was all good as Belmont led all twenty laps to win his second Crate/Sportsman feature of the season. Matt Budd ran in second for most of the race but was never able to mount a challenge for the lead. Four time feature winner, Marc Hermann challenged Budd for second but had his hands full with Bradley Roberts as the field raced to the checkered. Hermann held on to take third over Roberts in fourth as Jesse Bonaduce rounded out the top five with a strong run. The Crate/Sportsman qualifying events were taken by Marc Herman, Brad Roberts, and Mike Cogdill. CJ Jones won the consolation race.

Jeff Dirkes went back into the lead with just two laps remaining in the fifteen lap Outlaw Stock Car feature as he passed Ed Tinsman for what would prove to be the winning move. Dirkes drove to his first win of the season - a win that he dedicated to his mother who passed away during the season. Brian Ludwig finished a strong second with nine time feature winner, Ron Frees finishing third. TJ Henry came home in fourth ahead of fifth place finisher, Terry Griffin. The heat winners in the Outlaw Stock Car division were Ed Tinsman and Ron Frees.

Tom Ervin picked up the win in the Micro Stock feature event on the quarter mile speedway.

Bridgeport Speedway provides a safe and secure family atmosphere, free parking, giveaways and fan participation games. Billed ‘The Fastest Dirt Track in the East’, Bridgeport Speedway is a banked 5/8th mile dirt oval, featuring a dirt 1/4 mile oval embedded in the center, and is located in Southern New Jersey -- just minutes from Pennsylvania and Delaware at exit 14 off of I-295.


Big Block Modifieds

Heat 1 - 1. Sam Martz 2. Wade Hendrickson 3.Mike Iles 4. David Hunt 5. Matt Harrell 6. Neil Huber
Heat 2 - 1. Jack Mihoff 2. Jimmy Horton 3. Richie Pratt, Jr. 4. Eric Kormann 5. Ron Roberts 6. Mike Franz
Heat 3 - 1. Bob Sarkisian 2. Rick Laubach 3. Ryan Watt 4. Corey Andersen 5. Rob Nixon 6. Tom Maccherone


1. SAM MARTZ 2. Ryan Watt 3. Jimmy Horton 4. Rick Laubach 5. Matt Harrell 6. Bob Sarkisian 7. Mike Iles 8. Jesse Hill 9. Ryan Forte 10. Corey Andersen 11. Jack Mihoff 12. David Hunt 13. Ron Roberts 14. Tom Maccherone 15. Scott Irwin 16. Neil Huber 17. Richie Pratt,Jr. 18. Wade Hendrickson 19. Mike Franz 20. Jesse Bonaduce 21. Rob Nixon 22. Mark Forte, Jr. 23. Eric Kormann

DNS: Tommy Beamer


Heat 1 - 1. Marc Herman 2. Kevin Belmont 3. Joe Dill 4. Kris Lilick 5. Dave Damiano 6. Ryan Wozunk
Heat 2 - 1. Brad Roberts 2. Ricky DiEva 3. Matt Budd 4. Kyle Hieber 5. Travis Hill 6. Steve Searock
Heat 3 - 1. Mike Cogdill 2. Jesse Bonaduce 3. Gary Hieber 4. Bob Lilick 5. Wayne Groover 6. Brett Ballard
Consolation - 1. CJ Jones 2. John Kelly 3. Jeff Bubori 4. Harry Landis 5. Scott Hulmes 6. Robbie Dunn
Provisional - Jesse Dill


1. KEVIN BELMONT 2. Matt Budd 3. Marc Herman 4. Brad Roberts 5. Jesse Bonaduce 6. Gary Hieber 7. Mike Cogdill 8. Kris Lilick 9. Bob Lilick 10. Kyle Hieber 11. Travis Hill 12. John Kelly 13. Dave Damiano 14. Harry Landis 15. Jeff Bubori 16. Ricky DiEva 17. Ryan Wozunk 18. Wayne Groover 19. Scott Hulmes 20. Steve Searock 21. Jesse Dill 22. Robbie Dunn 23. Joe Dill 24. Brett Ballard 25. CJ Jones

DNQ: Dan Stout

Outlaw Stock Cars

Heat 1 - 1. Ed Tinsman 2. Jimmy Hughes 3. Terry Griffin 4. Jeff Dirkes 5. Mike Hughes 6. Jimmy Avery
Heat 2 - 1. Ron Frees 2. TJ Henry 3. Brian Ludwig 4. Tom Wills, Jr. 5. Doug DeBray 6.Cleve Riehl


1. JEFF DIRKES 2. Brian Ludwig 3. Ron Frees 4. TJ Henry 5. Terry Griffin 6. Jimmy Hughes 7. Ed Tinsman 8. Ken Watson, Jr. 9. Tom Wills, Sr. 10. Mike Hughes, Jr. 11. Jimmy Avery 12. Rick Broschard 13. Jack Beaumont 14. Tom Wills, Jr. 15. David Kramer 16. Art Avery 17. Jeremy Doerr 18. Joe Meron 19. Doug BeBray 20. Cleve Riehl


1. Tom Ervin 2. Andrew Schuster 3. Lou Keraitis 4. Don Boonstra 5. Andrew Hiddemen 6. Jeff Weinacker 7. Harry Burd 8. Billy Larue

DNS: Dennis Hiddemen, David Parker