Image Map
  1-4 Mile Image Map  
Bridgeport Speedway Home

Bridgeport Speedway News

Monday June 16, 2014
Upcoming Events

Friday, June 20 – 600cc and 270cc Micro Sprints and Four and Eight Cylinder Enduros – racing at 8pm

Saturday, June 21 – BIG BLOCK TWIN BLACKJACK 21’S – BIKE NIGHT plus BIKE GIVEAWAYS – Big Block Modifieds, Crate/Sportsman, Outlaw Stocks and Rookies – racing at 7pm

Friday, June 27 – 600cc and 270cc Micro Sprints and Four Cylinder Enduro – racing at 8pm

Saturday, June 28 – GRADUATION NIGHT – SCOUT & LITTLE LEAGUE NIGHT sponsored by Joy Auto Parts– Big Block Modifieds, Crate/Sportsman, TSRS 305 Sprints & Rookie Graduation – racing at 7pm


Just one week after picking up his first win of the season, Jimmy Horton drove Dieter Schmidt’s Lincoln Auto Body #5 into Bridgeport’s Victory Lane once again. This time, Horton came from deep in the pack to become the race leader mid-way through the twenty-five lap Spirit Dodge Big Block Modified feature. Marc Herman was a repeat winner in the 811 Dig Safely Crate/Sportsman 20 lap feature event while TJ Henry put his #57H in the Winner’s Circle for the first time after winning the fifteen lap Stewart Stainless Outlaw Stock Feature. Steve Desmelyk became the second driver to repeat in the DA's Auto Body & Repair Rookie division with just two week of racing left in the Rookie season.

The Spirit Dodge Big Block Modifieds raced with sail panels on Saturday night. Horton acknowledged that changes were needed on his car to adapt to the changes in the car’s handling caused by the extended body panels. Horton had high praise for track conditions. “The track was real good,” Horton stated. “There were multiple grooves. The middle one was the best for me!”

Sam Martz and Brett Ballard paced the field to the wave of the green flag with Martz taking the lead. Martz did it all over again as a multi-car incident in turn four brought out the first yellow at the end of the first lap. All cars involved were able to restart, including current point leader, Richie Pratt Jr. Stan Frankenfield Jr. took over second as 2013 Track Champion, Ryan Watt and Matt Harrell moved into third and fourth one lap later.

Martz led through lap five. Watt challenged the leader on the inside after a lap six restart, taking the lead as he raced Martz down the backstretch. Frankenfield and Martz raced side by side on lap eight as Frankenfield moved into second. Watt led Frankenfield, Horton up from his 15th place start, Martz and Harrell at the half way point.

Jesse James Bonaduce drew a caution when he came to a stop on the homestretch at the end of thirteen laps. As Frankenfield and Watt battled on the restart, Horton dove to the inside to take the race lead. Frankenfield emerged in second followed by Watt, Rocco Infante and Harrell. Harrell moved up to fourth one lap later.

As the field raced to the five to go signal, Watt raced outside of Frankenfield in turns one and two and came away with second off of turn two. Harrell and now Wade Hendrickson in the C&S Equipment #6 completed the top five as the final laps remained.

With twenty-one complete, the caution waved again as the safety crew was summoned to the pit area. Horton drove away from the competition on the restart as Frankenfield challenged Watt for second but Watt persevered. Hendrickson raced Harrell for fourth with just two laps to go. Rick Laubach challenged Harrell on the final lap but his efforts fell short. Horton led the way to the checkereed for the second week in a row followed by Watt, Frankenfield, Hendrickson and Harrell.

Brett Kelly led the first three laps of the 811 Dig Safely Crate Sportsman Feature event before Marc Herman moved into the lead on lap four. Jesse Hill drove the Cogdill #98 up to second and pressured Herman on the restarts but both cars seemed to be very equal and Hill could get close but was not able to mount a challenge on the leader.

Herman led the way to the checkered flag followed by Jesse Hill, Steve Searock who raced his way to third after starting fifteenth on the grid. Ricky DiEva finished fourth with Sean Gunther rounding out the top five in the Beavers #94. It was a good points night for Searock who was the only driver in the top five in points who came away with a good finish. Point leader, Travis Hill was eliminated in an early race incident as Jesse Bonaduce, CJ Jones and Gary Hieber Jr. also fell by the wayside before the checkered flag, thus tightening up the points chase in the Crate/Sportsman division.

TJ Henry picked up his first ever win in the Stewart Stainless Outlaw Stock feature after he drove from the back of the pack to take the race lead on lap four from Terry Griffin. Jimmy Avery rallied to finish second followed by Jeramy Doerr, Jack Beaumont and Jeff Dirkes.

Steve Desmelyk was the winner in the DA’s Auto Body & Repair Rookie Feature. It was Desmelyk’s second win – a feat that only he and Matthew Peck have been able to accomplish this season. With just two weeks remaining in Rookie competition, the win moved Desmelyk into the Rookie Point lead. Last week’s winner, Mike Liccardi finished second followed by David Crossman, Justin Lilick and Blake Bracelin.

BIG BLOCK MODIFIED FEATURE (25 laps) – 1. Jimmy Horton, 2. Ryan Watt, 3. Stan Frankenfield, 4. Wade Hendrickson, 5. Matt Harrell, 6. Rick Laubach, 7. Mike Barone, 8. Rocco Infante, 9. Mike Iles, 10. Eric Kormann, 11. Richie Pratt, Jr., 12. David Hunt, 13. Tommy Beamer, 14. Bob Sarkisian, 15. Ron Roberts, 16. Rusty Smith, 17. Dave Witte, 18. Tom Maccherone, 19. Brett Ballard, 20. Scott Ambruster, 21. Sam Martz, 22. Jesse Bonaduce, 23. Mike Franz, 24. Dominic Buffalino

CRATE/SPORTSMAN FEATURE (20 laps) – 1. Marc Herman, 2. Jesse Hill, 3. Steve Searock, 4. Ricky DiEva, 5. Sean Gunther, 6. George Nardelli, 7. Brad Roberts, 8. Pete Serra, 9. Mike Liccardi, 10. David Crossman, 11. Blake Bracelin, 12. Matt Davis, 13. Jesse Bonaduce, 14. Scott Hulmes, 15. Gary Hieber, 16. Brett Kelly, 17. Andrew Exter, 18. Wayne Groover, 19. C.J. Jones, 20. Kris Lilick, 21. Steve Desmelyk, 22. Rich Rutski, 23. Travis Hill, 24. Jason Duppel

Searock Landscaping Hard Charger Award - Steve Searock

ROOKIE FEATURE (8 LAPS) – 1. Steve Desmelyk, 2. Mike Liccardi, 3. David Crossman, 4. Justin Lilick, 5. Blake Bracelin, 6. Jeff Sargent, 7. Rich Deck, Jr., 8. Matt Davis, 9. Matthew Peck

OUTLAW STOCK FEATURE (15 LAPS) – 1. T.J. Henry, 2. Jimmy Avery, 3. Jeramy Doerr, 4. Jack Beaumont, 5. Jeff Dirkes, 6. Cleve Riehl, 7. Ed Tinsman, 8. David Kramer, 9. Art Avery, 10. Terry Griffin, 11. Tom Wills, Jr., 12. Joe Meron, 13. Tom Boehlert