Image Map
  1-4 Mile Image Map  
Bridgeport Speedway Home

Bridgeport Speedway News

Monday June 30, 2014

Upcoming Events

Thursday, July 3 - High Stakes at the Port Poker Series #3 - Homeless Pet Collection - Bike Giveaways - FIREWORKS - Big Block Modifieds, Crate/Sportsman & Outlaw Stocks - racing at 7:30 (Rain date - Sunday, July 6th if needed)

Friday, July 4 - No Racing

Sunday, July 6 - Poker Series #2 - 600cc & 270 cc Micro Sprints, 4 Cylinders, Sling Shots & Delaware Super Trucks


Peck is Rookie Champion as Sargent, Hill and Brown Pick Up Wins

For the third time in four weeks, multi-time Bridgeport Champion, Jimmy Horton powered Dieter Schmidt's Lincoln Auto Body Car to the front of the field to capture the twenty-five lap Spirit Dodge Big Block Modified Feature on Joy Auto Parts Night at the Bridgeport Speedway. Matthew Peck was crowned as the DA's Auto Body & Repair 2014 Rookie Champion after the twelve lap feature win went to Jeff Sargent. Travis Hill earned his fourth win of the season in the 811 Dig Safely Crate/Sportsman Division while Dave Brown became the fourth different winner in the Hilborn Tri-State Race Savers Sprint Car Feature.

Horton has raced to three wins so far this season and under all types of circumstances. The first win came after the driver with the most Bridgeport feature wins started in the eighth position. The second win came with sail panels and a fifteenth place start. This week's win found Horton starting all the way back in eighteenth. There was only one caution flag during the entire twenty-five lap event that saw Horton catch race leader, Richie Pratt Jr. with just two laps to go.

Horton had high praise for car owner, Dieter Schmidt. "He goes on the top of the list," Horton replied when asked who he would like to thank. "And thank the fans for coming our and supporting the track," Horton added.

Horton received congratulations from a fan who saw her first race in thirty years after moving out of state. Her last race was at the Flemington Fairgrounds and she was elated to see Horton still racing for wins upon her return. "They've done such great things at this track," she stated. "I will be coming back for sure!"

Bob Sarkisian had his Lombardo powered #47 out in front from the start followed by Jason Rivers, Ron Roberts, Tommy Beamer and Scott Ambruster. Brett Ballard brought on the one and only caution when he spun in turn four with ten laps complete. The field was realigned double file for the restart but it was Sarkisian out in front and going away when the green flag waved. Pratt made some big moves and took over third as the field raced down the backstretch. By lap thirteen, Pratt ran second and began to close in on Sarkisian.

Pratt took the lead as he raced Sarkisian to the line to complete lap eighteen as Horton moved in to third. With just five laps to go, Pratt led Horton by a car length as Sarkisian, Ryan Watt and Beamer followed. Horton chased Pratt and made the pass for the lead on lap twenty-four as he raced to his 124th win. Pratt finished second followed by Sarkisian with his best run of the season. Watt was fourth with Beamer rounding out the top five.

Travis Hill had the Joel's Auto Technology #19 wound up in the high, outside groove as he powered from his thirteenth place start and into the lead by Jesse James Bonaduce on lap sixteen of the 811 Dig Safely Crate/Sportsman twenty lap feature. It was Hill's fourth win of the season. Bonaduce finished second with Rich Rutski in third. Jesse Hill, last week's winner, made a late race charge to finish fourth ahead of early race leader, Brett Kelly who had a season best finish in fifth.

Jeff Sargent picked up his second win of the season in the DA's Auto Body & Repair Rookie feature as he led all fifteen laps in the double point final race of the Rookie Season. Matthew Peck's second place finish was enough to earn Peck the 2014 Rookie title. Justin Lilick finished third followed by Rich Deck Jr. and Steve Desmelyk.

It was the fourth hand of the Bethman Auto Center/Bruce's Speed Shop/Champion Tire Poker Series for the Hilborn Tri-State Race Saver 305 Sprint cars and Dave Brown came up as the fourth different winner. Brown added an ace to his Poker hand with a the win. Brown took the lead at the green and led every one of the twenty laps. Mike Haggenbottom finished second with Tim Tanner taking third. Bob DeVault finished fourth with Eddie Wagner rounding out the top five at the finish line.

Spirit Dodge Big Block Modified Feature (25 laps)
1. Jimmy Horton 2. Richie Pratt 3. Bob Sarkisian 4. Ryan Watt 5. Tommy Beamer 6. Rick Laubach 7. Dominic Buffalino
8. Sam Martz 9. Ron Roberts 10. Scott Ambruster 11. Dave Witte 12. Wade Hendrickson 13. Eric Kormann 14. Mike Franz 15. John Pakenham 16. Steve Davis 17. Brett Ballard 18. Kyle Hieber 19. Tom Maccherone 20. Jason Rivers 21. Matt Harrell 22. Stan Frankenfield 23. David Hunt 24. Rocco Infante

Searock Landscapting Hard Charger Award - Jimmy Horton for his win from 18th starting position

811 Dig Safely Crate/Sportsman Feature (20 laps)
1. Travis Hill 2. Jesse James Bonaduce 3. Rich Rutski 4. Jesse Hill 5. Brett Kelly 6. Nick Nicotra 7. Steve Searock 8. Kris Lilick 9. Ricky DiEva 10. CJ Jones 11. Jeff Bubori 12. Kevin Belmont 13. George Nardelli 14. Scott Hulmes 15. Matthew Peck 16. Bruce Davis 17. Justin Lilick 18. Jeff Sargent 19. David Crossman 20. Brad Roberts 21. Steve Desmelyk 22. Sean Gunther 23. Jason Duppel 24. Melissa Scarpati 25. Gary Hieber
Searock Landscaping Hard Charger Award - Steve Searock

DA's Auto Body & Repair Rookie Feature (12 laps)
1. Jeff Sargent 2. Matthew Peck 3. Justin Lilick 4. Rich Deck Jr. 5. Steve Desmelyk 6. David Crossman 7. Andrew Exter 8. Matt Davis 9. Blaike Bracelin


Hilborn Tri-State Race Savers Sprint Cars (20 laps)
1. Dave Brown 2. Mike Haggenbottom 3. Tim Tanner 4. Bob DeVault 5. Eddie Wagner 6. Jeff Geiges 7. Erika Palmai 8. Stef Palmai 9. Kyle Purks 10. Tom Carberry, Jr. 11. Bryant Davis 12. Adam Carberry 13. Karl Freyer 14. Rick Stief 15. Jon Haegele 16. Mares Stellfox 17. Mike Esposito 18. Harris Kohen 19. Scott Flammer 20. Jamie Kostic