Image Map
  1-4 Mile Image Map  
Bridgeport Speedway Home

Bridgeport Speedway News

Thursday July 10, 2014
Big Blocks, Crate/Sportsman and Midgets See Saturday Night Action

The wingless midgets of the American Racing Drivers Club (ARDC) return to the Bridgeport Speedway for the first time since the 2011 season, joining the 8 Cylinder Enduro cars on the mile track. Big Block Modifieds and Crate/Sportsman will be rounding out the show on the big track.

Current ARDC point leader, Steven Drevicki will lead the field of ARDC midget competitors on the Bridgeport quarter mile track for qualifying races and a twenty-five lap feature event. Drevicki has two wins so this season but would like nothing better than to a Bridgeport to his list of feature wins. Alex Bright, who has a Bridgeport win to his credit from the 2011 season, will also be in the field looking to add another win to his total. PJ Gargiulo of nearby Morton, PA was an ARDC feature winner earlier this season. Gargiulo is looking forward to returning to the Bridgeport quarter mile where he has raced many times in both midgets and micro sprints. The Steward #33 has been a past winner at Bridgeport with driver, Ryan Smith. The Stewards will return to Bridgeport his Saturday with driver, Danny Stratton in the cockpit.

In the hunt for their first wins of 2014 are reigning ARDC Champion, Trevor Kobylarz, Bruce Buckwalter, Jr., Brett Arndt, Brenden Bright, Nick Wean, Kyle Lick, Brett Wanner and Shawn Jackson. Of course there are plenty of drivers still seeking that important first win.

Jimmy Horton started off the month of July in the same manner as the month of June - by winning. Horton has four wins in the last five weeks of racing and will be looking to continue his domination on the 5/8 mile track. With 125 wins on the Bridgeport Speedway, Horton knows what is needed to get to the checkered flag first. 2013 Track Champion, Ryan Watt, 2012 Champion, Rick Laubach, Richie Pratt Jr., Dave Hunt, Wade Hendrickson and Sammy Martz have all captured wins this season and will be in the thick of the hunt come Saturday night.

Pratt is the current point leader in the Spirit Dodge Big Block Modifieds with just a four point edge over the hard charging Horton. Laubach, Watt and Hendrickson complete the top five in points as the mid-point of the season approaches.

The 811 Dig Safely Crate/Sportsman point chase has also closed up in recent weeks. Travis Hill's four wins find him on the top of the points battle but a very consistent Steve Searock is only 24 points behind the leader. Searock picked up the win in last week's Poker Series contest. Marc Hermann, Kevin Belmont, Sean Gunther, Jesse Hill and Steve Davis have all visited Bridgeport's Victory Lane so far this season.

Jesse James Bonaduce, CJ Jones and Ricky DiEva trail Hill and Searock in the points and are all looking for their first wins of the 2014 season.

In addition to three divisions of racing there will also be a Show of the Tow (Truck) display with a special parade lap just for the tow trucks.

Drivers, Jimmy Horton, Steve Searock and ARDC drivers, PJ Gargiulo and John Barnett will be on hand to greet the fans upon their arrival to the grandstands on Saturday night. The drivers will be available to sign autographs, pose for pictures and talk to the fans before heading to the pit area to prepare the night of racing.

Saturday night action gets underway at 7pm.

Racing action returns to the Bridgeport Speedway this Friday night on the quarter mile track as the Garden State Vintage Club joins the 600cc & 270cc Micro Sprints and 4 Cylinders. Championship contenders Luke Thomas, Andrew Locuson, Kyle Reinhardt, and Joe Dopke will all be in action on Friday night with the new increased purse payout. Racing action begins at 8pm.