Image Map
  1-4 Mile Image Map  
Bridgeport Speedway Home

Bridgeport Speedway News

Monday July 14, 2014
For Immediate Release - Thank You

Media contact: D&D Media

Track Office: 856-467-4407
24 hr. info: 856-467-4408

Follow us on Facebook

Upcoming Events

Wednesday, July 16 - Night of Wings III - 360 Sprint Cars & 358 Small Block Modifieds with sail panels. Racing at 7:30 (Rain date - Thur, July 17th)

Friday, July 18 - Twin 15s for 270cc Micros - 600cc Micros and 4 Cylinders - Racing at 8pm on 1/4 mile

Saturday, July 19 - Bill Hill Memorial - Big Block Modifieds, Crate/Sportsman & Outlaw Stocks - Racing at 7pm on 5/8 mile track


The "Flying Farmer", Wade Hendrickson, drove the Pondish 358 small block powered #6 to a second feature win in the Spirit Dodge Big Block Modified feature event on Saturday night. 2013 Bridgeport Rookie Champion, Ian Humphreys raced to a flag to flag win in the 811 Dig Safely Crate/Sportsman Feature event while Alex Bright picked up another win in American Racing Drivers Club (ARDC) action on the quarter mile track.

It was Hendrickson's second win in the last four weeks of racing. The driver from Lawrenceville, NJ has learned to read the race track and his competition, waiting patiently for the track conditions to come to him. "These guys go so fast at the start of the race," Hendrickson explained, "With the track watered before the feature, they can go so fast and it builds up a lot of heat. That works in my favor in the late stages of the race."

Tom Maccherone and Kyle Hieber paced the Big Block Modifieds to the start of the twenty-five lap main event. Hieber quickly took the lead at the wave of the green but Maccherone powered back underneath the Big Block rookie to take the lead. But neither driver would be credited with leading the first lap as Roco Infante drove to the inside of both competitors to take the lead on the first circuit. As the field came around to complete lap two, Maccherone and Dominic Buffalino split to either side of Infante with Buffalino taking the lead. After starting tenth, Buffalino was the race leader at the end of two laps.

Buffalino's advance to the front came as no surprise to anyone as the Sayreville, NJ leadfoot was the fastest car on the track all night. Buffalino set the fastest lap times in both warm-ups and his heat race - the only car to break the twenty-one second mark. His fastest lap in the feature was again 20.839 seconds.

Buffalino set a torrid pace in the caution free laps, stretching his lead over Infante through lap sixteen. Hendrickson was waged in a three way battle for second as Ron Roberts made it three wide in turns one and two on lap seventeen with Hendrickson taking over the runner-up spot. 2012 Bridgeport Track Champion, Rick Laubach took over third one lap later.

With five laps to go, Buffalino led with Hendrickson closing. Laubach ran third followed by Roberts and Infante.

One lap later, Laubach slowed on the backstretch with a right rear flat on his Benton Electric #7, bringing out the first caution of the race. Laubach pitted for a tire change and returned to restart in the rear of the field on the single file restart with just four laps remaining.

With Hendrickson on his bumper, Buffalino led the field in search of his first win of the season. Hendrickson looked to the outside on lap twenty-two but Buffanlino prevailed. On the next lap, Hendrickson powered by Buffalino as the pair raced down the backstretch. Hendrickson led the final two and a half laps to take the win over Buffalino. Tommy Beamer rallied in the closing laps with the Thornton #31 to finish third. Jimmy Horton raced his way to fourth after starting sixteenth. Roberts culminated a strong run with a fifth place finish.

2013 Rookie Champion, Ian Humphreys overcame a season full of disappointments as he earned his first win in the 811 Dig Safely Crate/Sportsman twenty lap main event. Humphreys led from the green to the checkered, surviving several complete restarts before even one lap could be scored. Justin Lilick, a recent graduate of the DA's Auto Body & Repair Rookie class of 2014, finished second. CJ Jones raced his way to a third place finish followed by Frank Holmes and Jesse James Bonaduce.

Collegeville, PA driver, Alex Bright led a field of ARDC midgets on the quarter mile track to pick up his second win of the 2014 season in ARDC competition as the wingless midgets returned to the Bridgeport Speedway after an absence of several seasons. It was deja vue for Bright who won his very first ARDC midget feature on the Bridgeport quarter mile. Trailing Bright across the line was his younger brother, Brenden Bright in second. Current ARDC point leader, Steven Drevicki finished third followed by Bruce Buckwalter Jr. and Nick Wean.

The fifty lap 8 Cylinder Enduro capped off the evening of racing with the win going to "The Animal", Mike Baldwin.


1. Wade Hendrickson 2 Dominic Buffalino 3. Tommy Beamer, 4. Jimmy Horton 5. Ron Roberts 6. Scott Ambruster 7. Ryan Watt 8. Richie Pratt, Jr.,9. Rocco Infante 10. Eric Kormann 11. Dave Witte 12. Sam Martz,13. John Pakenham 14. Kyle Hieber 15. Bob Sarkisian 16. Tom Maccherone 17. Rick Laubach 18. Jack Swain 19. Corey Andersen 20. Steve Searock 21. Jesse Hill,22. Brett Ballard 23. Mike Franz, 24. Matt Harrell

811 DIG SAFELY CRATE/SPORTSMAN FEATURE (20 laps – 5/8 mile track)

1. Ian Humphries 2. Justin Lilick 3. CJ JoneS 4. Frank Holmes 5. Jesse Bonaduce 6. Ricky DiEva 7. Kris Lilick 8. Travis Hill 9. Rich Rutski 10. Gary Hieber 11. Steve Searock 12. Matthew Peck 13. Dave Damiano 14. Scott Hulmes 15. Sean Gunther 16. Joe Langshaw 17. Jeff Sargent 18. Pete Serra 19. Steve Desmelyk 20. Brett Kelly 21. David Crossman 22. Jason Duppel

Searock Landscaping Hard Charger - CJ Jones

ARDC MIDGET FEATURE (25 laps – 1/4 mile track)

1. Alex Bright 2. Brenden Bright 3. Steven Drevicki 4. Bruce Buckwalter, Jr. 5. Nick Wean 6. Ryan Watt 7. Shawn Jackson 8. Trevor Kobylarz 9. Brett Arndt 10. Austin Burke 11. Brett Wanner 12. John Barnett, Jr. 13. Tony Kunsman 14. P.J. Gargiulo 15. Greg Fitzpatrick 16. Carey Becker 17. Clayton Glassman 18. Tyler Brehm 19. Brian Gilmore

EIGHT CYLINDER ENDURO (50 laps – 1/4 mile track)

1. Mike “The Animal” Baldwin 2. Lee Allen 3. Travis Gruyer 4. Chris Allen, Sr. 5. Art Guadagno 6. Rob Longo 7. Brandon Guyer 8. Chris Felber