Bridgeport Speedway Home Page Fan Guide Bridgeport Speedway Tickets Race Schedule Bridgeport Speedway Track Information Photos and Video Gallery Home Contact Us Driver Forms Media
  Bridgeport Speedway Home  

Bridgeport Speedway News

Tuesday June 01, 2010
GEORGETOWN, DE (May 31, 2010) - Before a large crowd, Josh Weller won the Rislone URC Sprint Car feature. The Super Late Model race was won by Mark Pettyjohn. Chuck Hopkins took the checkered flag in the Crate Modified race with Matt Hill winning the Crate Late Model contest.

The original start of the 25-lap Rislone URC Sprint Car feature was marred as Art Leidl took a tumble in turn one. On the next attempt, Kevin Nouse made contact with another competitor and flipped wildly in the same turn. When the green flag waved again, Josh Weller took the lead with Kevin Darling, Davey Sammons and Curt Michael in the hunt. Only one lap of racing was completed as Tim Hogue spun in turn two. On the restart, Weller kept the lead and began to pull away from the pack. Chris Coyle moved into contention and gained fourth on lap 10. While running in second place, Darling spun on the backstretch on lap 11 and the caution flag was displayed. When action got back underway, Weller kept his lead and once again pulled away from his rivals. By lap 15, Weller was beginning to encounter lap traffic with Sammons still in second place. Behind the top two, Trevor Lewis was continuing his charge and motored into third place on lap 18. Weller kept firm control of his lead in the final laps and charged to his third career URC victory. Lewis passed Sammons on the final circuit to gain second. Coyle and Michael completed the top five finishers. Winners in the URC qualifying events were Weller, Darling and Sammons. Robbie Stillwagon was the victor in the B-Main race.

In the 25-lap Super Late Model race, Donald Lingo took the lead and was being pursued by Hal Browning and Mark Byram. A spin by David Pettyjohn slowed down the action after only one tour of the track was completed. After the restart, the top three maintained their position but Mark Pettyjohn managed to migrate up to fourth place. Browning and Byram became engaged in a multi-lap tussle for position. By lap 9, Byram had climbed up to second over Browning. On lap 15, the yellow lights were illuminated for David Pettyjohn’s slowing car. Simultaneously, a terminal mechanical issue caused the lead car of Donald Lingo to stop in turn three. With Byram now in front, he kept his lead over Browning and Mark Pettyjohn as racing resumed. Another caution period happened on lap 17 as Mike Parsons spun in turn three. On the next restart, Mark Pettyjohn passed Browning to gain second and set his sights on Byram. On lap 20, a flat on the ride of Herb Tunis stopped the racing. When the green flag waved again, Mark Pettyjohn grabbed the lead and Byram spun on the backstretch near the exit of turn two. Mark Pettyjohn survived two additional restarts in the final five circuits to claim the win. Byram, the heat race winner, came back from his late race spin to finish in second place. Browning, Kerry King and Parsons finished in order behind the top two.

Chuck Hopkins led every step of the way to grab the victory in the 20-lap Crate Modified feature. Sean Gunther finished in second place with Neal Williams taking third. Jason Bishop and Ron Roberts filled out the top five. Williams and Hopkins each grabbed a Crate Modified heat race victory.

In the Crate Late Model race, Matt Hill was the winner after inheriting the lead from Bobby Watkins. Watkins, the pacesetter for a majority of the race, had to retreat to the pits to repair a flat tire during a late race restart. Clay Tatman, Mike Wharton, Watkins and Gus Economides followed Hill across the finish line. Crate Late Model qualifying races were won by Chris Hitchens and Hill.

Georgetown Speedway Results – Sunday, May 30, 2010

Rislone URC Sprints

Heat 1 – Josh Weller, Curt Michael, Bill Unglert, Kevin Nouse, Justin Collett, Jimmy Stitzel
Heat 2 – Kevin Darling, Kyle Purks, Nick Schlauch, Jr., Trevor Lewis, Kramer Williamson, Ken Meisner
Heat 3 – Davey Sammons, Tim Hogue, Randy West, Chris Coyle, Art Leidl, Andy Best
B-Main – Robbie Stillwagon, JJ Grasso, Jonathan Swanson, Rory Janney, Chris Weiss, Tim Higgins


JOSH WELLER, Trevor Lewis, Davey Sammons, Chris Coyle, Curt Michael, JJ Grasso, Justin Collett, Randy West, Kramer Williamson, Robbie Stillwagon, Bill Unglert, Andy Best, Nick Schlauch, Jr., Rory Janney, Jonathan Swanson, Kyle Purks, Tim Higgins, Kevin Darling, Jimmy Stitzel, Kenny Meisner, Chris Weiss, Tim Hogue, Kevin Nouse, Art Leidl

DNQ: Tim Iulg, Mike Kostic, Scott Pursell, Jack Conover, Justin Jones

Super Late Models

Heat 1 – Mark Byram, Donald Lingo, Jr., Bryan Driver, Hal Browning, Herb Tunis


MARK PETTYJOHN, Mark Byram, Hal Browning, Kerry King, Mike Parsons, Herb Tunis, Bryan Driver, Donald Lingo, David Pettyjohn, Dale Lingo

DNS: Ross Robinson, Ricky Elliott

Crate Modifieds

Heat 1 – Neal Williams, Jason Bishop, Justin Griffith, Corey Cohee, Brad Roberts, Ty Short
Heat 2 – Chuck Hopkins, Ron Roberts, Sean Gunther, Ryan Anderson, Brandon Sturgis, Josh Roscoe


CHUCK HOPKINS, Sean Gunther, Neal Williams, Jason Bishop, Ron Roberts, Ryan Anderson, Scott Hitchens, Corey Cohee, Ty Short, Nate Benson, Keith Dolan, Brad Roberts, Josh Roscoe, Justin Griffith, Brandon Sturgis

DNS: Michael White, Greg Taylor

Crate Late Models

Heat 1 – Chris Hitchens, Bobby Watkins, Mike Wharton, Mike Williams, Kelly Putz, Gus Economides
Heat 2 – Matt Hill, Clay Tatman, Justin Breeding, Mike Wilson, Colby Steele, Tony Bowers


MATT HILL, Clay Tatman, Mike Wharton, Bobby Watkins, Gus Economides, Kelly Putz, Chris Hitchens, Mike Williams, Mike Wilson, Tony Bowers, Colby Steele, Justin Breeding, John Emory

Georgetown Speedway
Georgetown, DE 19947
DE Office: 302- 875-4197
E-mail: [email protected]