Bridgeport Speedway Home Page Fan Guide Bridgeport Speedway Tickets Race Schedule Bridgeport Speedway Track Information Photos and Video Gallery Home Contact Us Driver Forms Media
  Bridgeport Speedway Home  

Bridgeport Speedway News

Tuesday June 22, 2010
BRIDGEPORT, NJ (June 20, 2010) - After Brian Kressley failed to
achieve the minimum weight requirement, Richie Pratt, Jr. was declared
the winner of the 25-lap Big Block Modified feature. Ryan Smith
grabbed the victory in the ARDC Midget race with Travis Hill scoring
the win in the Crate Modified event.

At the start of the 25-lap Big Block Modified race, Matt Harrell took
his family owned Harrell’s Trucking ride to the front with Brian
Kressley and Richie Pratt, Jr. in tow. On the second circuit, the
first yellow flag was displayed when Chad James apparently clipped the
inside wall and stopped in turn four. On the restart, Harrell chose
the outside pole and Kressley outdueled him for the lead with Pratt,
Jr. driving into second place. By lap 8, Kressley had built up a
comfortable lead using the middle grooves in the turns. As Kressley
entered lap traffic one tour later, Pratt, Jr. began to narrow the
gap. On lap 12, Kressley nearly lost the lead passing a slower car.
Also on the same circuit, the yellow lights flickered as John
Scarpati, Jr. rolled to a stop in turn four. When the green flag waved
again, Kressley kept the lead but Ryan Watt motored into second with
Pratt, Jr. dropping back to third. The top three of Kressley, Watt and
Pratt, Jr. were in tight quarters when Pratt, Jr. eventually re-gained
second place on lap 18. Two tours later, Kressley and Pratt, Jr. were
in lap traffic and swapped the lead on lap 22. On the same lap, Wade
Hendrickson blew a right rear tire and the caution flag was shown.
When action resumed, Kressley briefly lost the lead to Pratt but was
able to pedal back to the front. Green flag racing only lasted one
trip around the big five-eighth mile oval as Larry Crouse’s car came
to a stop in turn three. With a single file restart, Kressley
outpowered Pratt and led the remaining two laps to cross the finish
line first. Unfortunately, Kressley’s car was light on the scales and
Pratt, Jr. picked up his first win of the year. Watt was second with
veteran Chic Cossaboone grabbing third place. Young Big Block Modified
stars completed the top five as fourth place went to rookie Brett
Ballard and fifth was snared by Jimmy Horton, IV. Scott Irwin, Matt
Harrell and Kressley were the Big Block Modified heat race victors.

Ryan Smith, who had been competing in Indiana the past week, returned
to the ARDC Midget Series and scored the win in the 20-lap wingless
event on the quarter mile speedway. Donnie Trent took the lead at the
start of the race. On lap 13, Smith passed Trent to become the new top
runner and he pulled away in the final five laps to win by a
comfortable margin. Ryan Watt outlasted Bruce Buckwalter to secure
second place. Frank Polimedia and Trent completed the top five
finishers. The ARDC Midget heat race winners were Watt, Trent and
Bruce Buckwalter.

Travis Hill went from third to first on the last lap to capture his
fifth checkered flag of the year in the 20-lap Crate Modified event.
John Cavallaro led a majority of the laps but a flat tire on lap 17
turned the lead over to Ron Roberts. Following a caution period for
rookie Matt Budd on lap 19, Hill passed Brett Kressley and Roberts on
the restart to gain the win on the last lap. Roberts, Kressley, Neal
Williams and Jimmy Anderson followed Hill across the finish line.
Williams and Mike Cogdill each won a qualifying event in the Crate
Modified division.

Bridgeport Speedway Results – Saturday, June 19, 2010

Big Block Modifieds

Heat 1 – Scott Irwin, Ron Roberts, Chad James, Brett Ballard, Tommy
Scheetz, Jr., Rich Acolia
Heat 2 – Matt Harrell, Richie Pratt, Jr., Jack Hartnett, Jimmy Horton,
IV., Wade Hendrickson, John Scarpati, Jr.
Heat 3 – Brian Kressley, Chic Cossaboone, Ryan Watt, Butch Tittle,
Mike Franz, Eric Kormann


RICHIE PRATT, JR., Ryan Watt, Chic Cossaboone, Brett Ballard, Jimmy
Horton, IV., Butch Tittle, Rich Acolia, Eric Kormann, Ron Roberts,
Wade Hendrickson, Jack Hartnett, Bob Sarkisian, Scott Irwin, Mike
Franz, Jimmy Chester, Larry Crouse, Matt Harrell, Tommy Scheetz, Jr.,
John Scarpati, Jr., Jesse Hill, Chad James

DQ: Brian Kressley

ARDC Midgets

Heat 1 – Ryan Watt, Tim Buckwalter, PJ Gargiulo, Chris Zrinski, Trevor
Kobylarz, Drew Hiestand
Heat 2 – Donnie Trent, Ryan Smith, Stephanie Stevens, Steve Lenig,
Dave Shirk, Eric Heydenreich
Heat 3 – Bruce Buckwalter, Jimmy Cammock, Frank Polimedia, Alex
Bright, Steven Drevicki, Scott Zipp


RYAN SMITH, Ryan Watt, Bruce Buckwalter, Frank Polimedia, Donnie
Trent, Stephanie Stevens, Brett Arndt, Drew Hiestand, Steven Drevicki,
Eric Heydenreich, Chris Zrinski, Steve Lenig, Donnie Hoffman, Scott
Zipp, Alex Bright, Tim Buckwalter, Jimmy Cammock, PJ Gargiulo, Dave
Shirk, Trevor Kobylarz

Crate Modifieds

Heat 1 – Neal Williams, Frank Dorry, Jr., Travis Hill, Brett Kressley,
Eric Kormann, John Cavallaro
Heat 2 – Mike Cogdill, Chuck Hopkins, Larry Lippincott, Joe Langshaw,
Jimmy Anderson, Ron Roberts


TRAVIS HILL, Ron Roberts, Brett Kressley, Neal Williams, Jimmy
Anderson, Frank Dorry, Jr., Chuck Hopkins, Eric Kormann, Larry
Lippincott, Mike Cogdill, Jeff Duprez, John Cavallaro, Matt Budd, Jack
Simmermon, John Bilofsky, Joe Langshaw

DNS: Keith Earhart

Bridgeport Speedway
83 Floodgate Road
Bridgeport NJ 08014
DE Office: 302- 875-4196
NJ Office: 856-467-4408
24 hr. Info: 856-467-4407
Fax: 856-467-5843
E-mail: [email protected]


Tues 6/22 (Raindate Wed 6/23) – Wingate Classic – Triple Thunder
Thriller – Twin Twenties for the Tri-Track Big Block Modified Series
Tri-Track Big Block Modifieds (20L x 2) + 358 Open Sportsman (20L)
7:00 PM Warm-Ups, 7:30 PM Qualifying

Fri 6/25 – Fast and Furious Fridays – Four Division Friday with
Wingless 600cc Micro-Sprints
1/4 Mile – 600cc Micro-Sprints (20L), 270cc Micro-Sprints (20L), 4
Cylinder Stock Cars (20L) + Wingless 600cc Micro-Sprints
7:00 p.m. Warm-Ups, 7:30 p.m. Qualifying

Sat 6/26 – Saturday Night Stars! – Scout Night – Scout Leader admitted
for free with 7 scouts in uniform
Big Block Modifieds(25L), Crate Modifieds (20L), Proformance Cuts
Outlaw Stocks (15L) + Rookies
6:15 PM Warm-Ups, 7:00 PM Qualifying