Bridgeport Speedway Home Page Fan Guide Bridgeport Speedway Tickets Race Schedule Bridgeport Speedway Track Information Photos and Video Gallery Home Contact Us Driver Forms Media
  Bridgeport Speedway Home  

Bridgeport Speedway News

Sunday July 18, 2010
Bridgeport Speedway
BRIDGEPORT, NJ (July 18, 2010) – On Hospital Worker Night at
Bridgeport Speedway, Wade Hendrickson claimed the $2600 top prize for
winning the Big Block Modified feature. In the Crate Modified class,
Travis Hill was the victor. John Wyers took the checkered flag in the
Tri-State RaceSaver Sprint Car race with Pat Conaway scoring the
victory in the Proformance Cuts Outlaw Stock Car feature. The winner
of the Rookie race was Matt Budd.

In the 25-lap Big Block Modified feature, Scott Irwin hopped out to
the early lead with Bob Sarkisian, Matt Harrell, Ryan Watt and Mike
Franz in tow. Harrell, using a borrowed motor, maneuvered around
Sarkisian to take second place on lap 2. With Harrell quickly on the
move, Irwin’s lead began to dwindle and Harrell took over the top spot
on lap 6. On the next tour of the fast 5/8th mile oval, Watt advanced
to the runner-up spot. A little further back in the pack, Wade
Hendrickson was dicing his way forward and motored into third place on
lap 8. With the top three in close quarters and using different
grooves on the track, Watt and Hendrickson became locked into a
multi-lap battle for the second spot. On lap 12, Hendrickson gained
the position just prior to the yellow flag being displayed for a spin
by Brett Ballard. When the green flag waved again, Hendrickson used an
explosive run to claim the lead from Harrell with Richie Pratt, Jr.
and Watt in pursuit. By lap 14, Pratt, Jr. had strolled up into second
place. When flagman Kenny Golden gave the signal for five laps
remaining in the race, Hendrickson had stretched out his advantage
over the field by nearly a full straightaway. On lap 22, Hendrickson’s
large lead was eliminated as the caution lights were illuminated due
to a tangle between Dave Howard and Ballard. Racing resumed for only
one more lap as Ballard spun once again in turn three due to an
apparent mechanical issue. Following the final restart, Hendrickson
kept the lead for the final two laps as he claimed his eighth win of
the year. With thirty one Big Block Modifieds entered, the victory was
worth $2600 for the defending champion. For his career at Bridgeport,
Hendrickson now has fifty wins in the Big Block Modified division.
Richie Pratt, Jr. followed Hendrickson across the finish line. Third
place went to Jimmy Chester with Sarkisian and Watt completing the top
five. Bob Sarkisian, Brian Kressley and Wade Hendrickson won the Big
Block Modified heat races. Sarkisian was the Ciconte’s Pizza driver of
the night. Mike Iles took the checkered flag in the consolation event.

In the 20-lap Crate Modified contest, Travis Hill gained the lead on
lap 11 and went on to score his sixth triumph of the season. Mike
Cogdill led the opening ten circuits of the race. Following a caution
period on lap 10, Hill battled his way by Cogdill and led the rest of
the way for the win. Cogdill held for second with third place going to
Neal Williams. Ron Roberts and Jimmy Anderson rounded out the top
five. The Crate Modified qualifying events were won by Mike Cogdill,
Travis Hill and Tom Miller.

Pat Conway overtook Jeremy Doerr with five laps remaining to win the
Proformance Cuts Outlaw Stock Car feature. Doerr finished second with
Rick Broschard coming home in third. Nick Gargiulo and Ken Watson
completed the top five finishers.

Matt Budd led all five laps to claim his eighth win in the Rookie
division over Frank Raio, Troy Burger and Keith Earhart.

Bridgeport Speedway Results – Saturday, July 17, 2010
Big Block Modifieds
Heat 1 – Bob Sarkisian, Jesse Hill, Matt Harrell, Richie Pratt, Jr.,
Butch Tittle, Larry Crouse
Heat 2 – Brian Kressley, Ryan Watt, Jack Hartnett, Scott Irwin, Ron
Roberts, Brett Ballard
Heat 3 – Wade Hendrickson, Jimmy Chester, Mike Franz, Gary Hager, Chic
Cossaboone, Chad James
Consolation – Mike Iles, Rob Nixon, Sean Gunther, Tommy Scheetz, Jr.,
Jimmy Wyers, Dave Howard


WADE HENDRICKSON, Richie Pratt, Jr., Jimmy Chester, Bob Sarkisian,
Ryan Watt, Brian Kressley, Mike Iles, Jack Hartnett, Scott Irwin, Matt
Harrell, Chic Cossaboone, Mike Franz, Chad James, Gary Hager, Rob
Nixon, Butch Tittle, Ron Roberts, Larry Crouse, Tommy Scheetz, Jr.,
Dave Howard, Brett Ballard, Jim Wyers, Sean Gunther, Jesse Hill

DNQ: Bobby Firth, Brett Hoffman, Ed Firth, John Scarpati, Jr., Bryant
Brown, Rich Acolia, Rob Wyant

Crate Modifieds

Heat 1 – Mike Cogdill, John Cavallaro, Brett Kressley, Chuck Hopkins,
Bob Dmuchowski, Matt Budd
Heat 2 – Travis Hill, Eric Kormann, Larry Lippincott, Jimmy Anderson,
Brett Ballard, John Scarpati, Jr.
Heat 3 – Tom Miller, Neal Williams, Frank Dorry, Jr., Ron Roberts, Dan
Cogdill, John Aumick


TRAVIS HILL, Mike Cogdill, Neal Williams, Ron Roberts, Jimmy Anderson,
Frank Dorry, Jr., Larry Lippincott, John Cavallaro, Dan Cogdill, John
Aumick, Bob Dmuchowski. Matt Budd, Josh Roscoe, John Scarpati, Jr.,
Troy Burger, Chuck Hopkins, Brett Kressley, Keith Earhart, Tom Miller,
Eric Kormann

DNS: Brett Ballard, Frank Raio


JOHN WYERS, Stef Palmai, Jeff Geiges, Bill Case, Jr., Bobby Sandt,
Jeff Mueller, Dean Schaeffer, Sean Cambell, Mike Cannon, Mike McManus,
Chuck Palmucci

DNS: Tory Rose


PAT CONAWAY, Jeremy Doerr, Rick Broschard, Nick Gargiulo, Ken Watson,
Andy Whittaker, Russell Wurst, Jeff Dirkes, Pete Ellis, Josh Denny


MATT BUDD, Frank Raio, Troy Burger, Keith Earhart

83 Floodgate Road
Bridgeport NJ 08014
DE Office: 302- 875-4196
NJ Office: 856-467-4408
24 hr. Info: 856-467-4407
Fax: 856-467-5843
E-mail: [email protected]


Tues 7/20 (Raindate Wed 7/21) – 4-25’s - Tri-Track Big Block Modifieds
plus three 25-Lap feature only events
5/8Mile – Tri-Track Big Block Modifieds (25L), Super Late Models (25L)
+ Crate Modifieds (25L)
1/4 Mile – 600cc Micro-Sprints (25L)
7:00 PM Warm-Ups, 7:30 PM Qualifying

Fri 7/23 – Fast and Furious Fridays – Three Division Friday
1/4 Mile – 600cc Micro-Sprints (20L), 270cc Micro-Sprints (20L) & 4
Cylinder Stock Cars (20L)
7:00 p.m. Warm-Ups, 7:30 p.m. Qualifying

Sat 7/24 – Saturday Night Stars! – Rookie Championship on Bike Night
with Big Wheel Races for Kids
Big Block Modifieds (25L), Crate Modifieds (20L), Proformance Cuts
Outlaw Stocks + Final race for Rookies (Double Points)
6:15 PM Warm-Ups, 7:00 PM Qualifying