Bridgeport Speedway Home Page Fan Guide Bridgeport Speedway Tickets Race Schedule Bridgeport Speedway Track Information Photos and Video Gallery Home Contact Us Driver Forms Media
  Bridgeport Speedway Home  

Bridgeport Speedway News

Thursday July 22, 2010
BRIDGEPORT, NJ (July 21, 2010) – On a hot and damp summer night, Rick
Laubach won the Tri-Track Big Block Modified feature. The Super Late
Model contest went to Coleby Frye. Jonathan Mandato took the checkered
flag in the 600cc Micro-Sprint main. The Crate Modified race was
postponed due to time constraints.

The original start of the 25-lap Tri-Track Big Block Modified race was
marred by a five car accident in turn two that eliminated five
contenders including Frank Cozze, Matt Harrell and Jimmy Horton. When
the green flag waved again, Wade Hendrickson led the opening two
circuits until Duane Howard motored his way to the front of the field
on lap 3. The top three of Howard, Hendrickson and Richie Pratt, Jr.
were turning some very fast laps and began to encounter lap traffic on
lap 8. In the midst of passing a slower competitor, Pratt, Jr. was
able to gain the runner-up spot on the ninth tour. One lap later, the
caution flag was displayed as Stan Frankenfield, Jr. stopped in turn
two. On the restart, Howard kept his lead over Pratt, Jr. with Rick
Laubach entering the top three by working his way past Hendrickson. On
lap 13, Chic Cossaboone’s spin caused the yellow lights to flicker. At
the same moment, Howard retired to the pits with a mechanical failure
and Pratt, Jr. inherited the lead. When action got back underway,
Laubach powered his way by Pratt, Jr. to become the new top runner.
Just as multiple battles for several key positions were heating up,
Sean Merkel’s flat tire caused another caution period. On the
resumption of racing, the top two maintained their respective
positions and Ryan Watt worked his way by Hendrickson to gain third.
On the nineteenth circuit, Mike Iles began to slow on the track due to
a flat tire and the yellow flag was displayed. Laubach held off Pratt,
Jr. on the ensuing restart and began to pull away until the rear
exploded on the Big Block Modified of Jimmy Chester on lap 21. With
Laubach still on top, two more green flag laps were completed when the
final caution of the event occurred due to a flat tire on Bob
Sarkisian’s car. Laubach held off a staunch challenge by Pratt, Jr. on
the restart and charged to the checkered flag to claim his second win
of 2010 at Bridgeport Speedway. Pratt, Jr. finished second with Watt
taking third. Craig Von Dohren wound up in fourth and Brian Kressley
came home in fifth. Duane Howard, Chic Cossaboone and Mike Iles were
victorious in the Big Block Modified heat races.

Coleby Frye from Dover, PA was the victor in the star-studded Super
Late Model 25-lap contest. Donald Lingo took the lead on lap 2 from
Mark Pettyjohn. By the halfway point of the race, Lingo had a half
straightway lead on Austin Hubbard. By lap 18, Lingo’s comfortable
margin had vanished as Hubbard began to narrow the gap. Two circuits
later, Hubbard became the new man on the point and Lingo stopped on
the backstretch. Once in front, Hubbard appeared to be on his way to
victory lane until the final turn of the last lap when he lost a
wheel. As the new leader, Frye held off Darryl Hills on the single
file restart for the win. Ricky Elliott, Dale Lingo and Mark Pettyjohn
followed Frye and Hills across the finish line.

In the 600cc Micro-Sprint race, Jonathan Mandato held off a fierce
last lap challenge from Jeff Hartman to collect his first career
checkered flag in the division. Mandato started on the pole and led
every lap of the race. Hartman passed Glenn Heverin on the final
circuit and nearly caught Mandato at the finish line. Heverin, Jon
Holmquist and Luke Thomas completed the top five.

Due to a rain shower that caused a lengthy rain delay in the program,
the Crate Modified feature was postponed because of time constraints.
The make-up date for this race will be announced by Bridgeport
Speedway management in the next few weeks.

Bridgeport Speedway Results – Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Tri-Track Big Block Modifieds

Heat 1 – Duane Howard, Rick Laubach, Chad James, Sean Merkel, Mike
Franz, Brett Ballard
Heat 2 – Chic Cossaboone, Wade Hendrickson, Jimmy Chester, Ryan Watt,
Matt Harrell,
Stan Frankenfield, Jr.
Heat 3 – Mike Iles, Richie Pratt, Jr., Brian Kressley, Craig Von
Dohren, Frank Cozze, Ron Roberts


RICK LAUBACH, Richie Pratt, Jr., Ryan Watt, Craig Von Dohren, Brian
Kressley, Wade Hendrickson, Gary Hager, Mike Barone, Eric Kormann,
Mike Franz, Neil Huber, Bob Sarkisian, Chad James, Jimmy Chester, Mike
Iles, Sean Merkel, Duane Howard, Chic Cossaboone, Stan Frankenfield,
Jr., Ed Firth, Matt Harrell, Brett Ballard, Frank Cozze, Ron Roberts,
Jimmy Horton

DNQ: Neal Williams, Jeff Brown,


COLEBY FRYE, Darryl Hills, Ricky Elliott, Dale Lingo, Mark Pettyjohn,
Hal Browning, Ross Robinson, Staci Warrington, Tyler Hershey, Tim
Murphy, Austin Hubbard, Donald Lingo, Chuck Schutz, Mark Byram, Matt
Murphy, Rick Eckert, Andrew Mullins, Kyle Merkel, Bryan Bernheisel,
Scott LeBarron, Jim Bernheisel, Alan Sagi

DNS: Kenny Pettyjohn


JONATHAN MANDATO, Jeff Hartman, Glenn Heverin, Jon Holmquist, Luke
Thomas, Stephen Kemery, Jon Keller, Health Hehnly, Shane Lewis, Rick
Stief, Eric Brobst, Bryant Davis, Chris Panczner, Jim Tippin, Bernie
Korbel, Jermain Goshall, Joe Kay, Alex Buben, Ryan Stillwagon, Bob
DeVault, Dean Seemans, Scott Harbison, Marty Shurr


Bridgeport Speedway
83 Floodgate Road
Bridgeport NJ 08014
DE Office: 302- 875-4196
NJ Office: 856-467-4408
24 hr. Info: 856-467-4407
Fax: 856-467-5843
E-mail: [email protected]


Fri 7/23 – Fast and Furious Fridays – Three Division Friday
1/4 Mile – 600cc Micro-Sprints (20L), 270cc Micro-Sprints (20L) & 4
Cylinder Stock Cars (20L)
7:00 p.m. Warm-Ups, 7:30 p.m. Qualifying

Sat 7/24 – Saturday Night Stars! – Rookie Championship on Bike Night
with Big Wheel Races for Kids
Big Block Modifieds (25L), Crate Modifieds (20L), Proformance Cuts
Outlaw Stocks (15L) + Final race for Rookies (Double Points)
6:15 PM Warm-Ups, 7:00 PM Qualifying