Bridgeport Speedway Home Page Fan Guide Bridgeport Speedway Tickets Race Schedule Bridgeport Speedway Track Information Photos and Video Gallery Home Contact Us Driver Forms Media
  Bridgeport Speedway Home  

Bridgeport Speedway News

Tuesday August 10, 2010

BRIDGEPORT, NJ (August 8, 2010) - On Banner Night at Bridgeport
Speedway, Mike Iles won the Big Block Modified feature. The Rislone
URC Sprint Car race went to Trevor Lewis with Tom Miller taking the
checkered flag in the Crate Modified event.

At the start of the 25-lap Big Block Modified feature, Mike Franz led
the opening lap with Ron Roberts, Chic Cossaboone and Scott Irwin in
tow. Roberts took over the top spot on lap 2. One circuit later,
Cossaboone had just motored into second when the only yellow flag of
the race was displayed as Rich Acolia spun in turn four. On the
restart, Roberts maintained his lead over Cossaboone. Mike Iles, who
started the feature in tenth, was on the march towards the front and
reached third place on lap 5. On the next tour, Roberts and Cossaboone
were racing side by side for the lead with Roberts still maintaining
his advantage. With ten laps completed, Roberts was clinging his lead
with Cossaboone on his bumper and Iles closing in on the top two
runners. By lap 17, the top three were in tight quarters with one
another. Iles took over second place on the next circuit while the top
contenders began to encounter lap traffic. On lap 20, Iles slid by
Roberts to gain the lead. In the final laps, Iles began to gain some
breathing room but two separate positional battles were keeping fans
on the edge of their seats. Roberts and Cossaboone were racing for
second while Ryan Watt and Wade Hendrickson were swapping fourth and
fifth spot. As the checkered flag waved, it was Iles in front of the
pack for his first win of the year. The victory was worth $2600 to the
2008 Big Block Modified champion. Cossaboone finished second with
Roberts holding off Hendrickson for third. Watt took home a fifth
place finish. Watt, Cossaboone and Richie Pratt, Jr. were victors in
the heat races for the Big Block Modifieds. The consolation contest
was won by Jimmy Chester.

Polesitter Jonathan Swanson grabbed the early lead in the 25-lap main
event for the Rislone URC Sprints with Bill Unglert, Robbie Stillwagon
and JJ Grasso in pursuit. With Swanson still in front, Scott Pursell
flipped in turn four on lap 3 to cause the illumination of the red
lights. When action got back underway, Swanson kept his lead but
Grasso jumped up into second place and quickly gained ground on
Swanson. On lap 6, Grasso rocketed by Swanson and began to distance
himself from his rivals. By lap 8, Grasso had a comfortable lead while
he was in lap traffic. With ten laps completed, Grasso was extending
his lead over Swanson, Stillwagon and Trevor Lewis by knifing his way
by slower cars. By lap 13, Lewis had motored his way by Stillwagon and
Swanson to gain second. With five circuits remaining, Grasso’s lead
was diminished to a half straightaway over Lewis with heavy lap
traffic looming ahead. As the white flag was waving, Lewis had
significantly narrowed the gap and was on the charge. In the midst of
lap traffic in turn three on the final lap, Grasso stayed high while
Lewis cruised to the low side and escaped with the lead coming out of
turn four as the checkered flag was being displayed. Behind Lewis and
Grasso, eleventh place starting Curt Michael finished in third place
with Josh Weller and Stillwagon completing the top five. Michael was
the Ciconte’s Pizza driver of the night. Swanson, Unglert and Lewis
each claimed a URC Sprint heat race. The consolation event was taken
by Nick Schlauch, Jr.

Tom Miller led all twenty laps to score the win in the Crate Modified
race. Miller survived several restarts to score his fourth career
victory at Bridgeport Speedway and his first since 2007. Frank Dorry,
Jr. wound up in second with Neal Williams taking third after starting
the feature from twelfth. Matt Budd, the 2010 Rookie Champion, and
Chuck Hopkins completed the top five. The heat races for the Crate
Modifieds were won by Hill and Tom Miller.

Bridgeport Speedway Results – Saturday, August 7, 2010

Big Block Modifieds

Heat 1 – Ryan Watt, Ron Roberts, Wade Hendrickson, Brett Ballard,
Tommy Beamer, Rob Nixon
Heat 2 – Chic Cossaboone, Mike Iles, Jesse Hill, Scott Irwin, Butch
Tittle, Tommy Scheetz, Jr.
Heat 3 – Richie Pratt, Jr., Brian Kressley, Mike Franz, Rich Acolia,
Bob Sarkisian, Steve Durand
Consolation – Jimmy Chester, Bobby Firth, Jack Hartnett, John
Scarpati, Jr., Sean Gunther, Rob Wyant


MIKE ILES, Chic Cossaboone, Ron Roberts, Wade Hendrickson, Ryan Watt,
Richie Pratt, Jr., Mike Franz, Jimmy Chester, Scott Irwin, Brian
Kressley, Tommy Beamer, Bob Sarkisian, Brett Ballard, Steve Durand,
Butch Tittle, Rob Nixon, Jack Hartnett, John Scarpati, Jr., Tommy
Scheetz, Jr., Rob Wyant, Rich Acolia, Bobby Firth, Sean Gunther, Jesse

DNQ: Dave Howard, Ed Firth, Brett Hoffman, Rusty Smith

Rislone URC Sprints

Heat 1 – Jonathan Swanson, Robbie Stillwagon, Kevin Nouse, Andy Best,
Tim Iulg, Becca Anderson
Heat 2 – Bill Unglert, JJ Grasso, Randy West, Curt Michael, Tim
Higgins, Kevin Darling
Heat 3 – Trevor Lewis, Scott Pursell, Josh Weller, Rory Janney, Mark
Bitner, Jimmy Stitzel
Consolation – Nick Schlauch, Jr., Kramer Williamson, Gary Gollub,
Tim Hogue, Kyle Purks, Justin Collett


TREVOR LEWIS, JJ Grasso, Curt Michael, Josh Weller, Robbie Stillwagon,
Kevin Nouse, Bill Unglert, Jonathan Swanson, Mark Bitner, Randy West,
Andy Best, Becca Anderson, Tim Iulg, Kevin Darling, Justin Collett,
Art Leidl, Kramer Williamson, Rory Janney, Kyle Purks, Nick Schlauch,
Jr., Tim Higgins, Jimmy Stitzel, Tim Hogue, Gary Gollub, Scott Pursell

DNQ: Midge Miller, Chris Weiss, Mike Kostic

Crate Modifieds

Heat 1 – Travis Hill, Neal Williams, Brett Kressley, Larry Lippincott,
Troy Burger, John Cavallaro
Heat 2 – Tom Miller, Ron Roberts, Chuck Hopkins, Frank Dorry, Jr.,
Matt Budd, Eric Kormann


TOM MILLER, Frank Dorry, Jr., Neal Williams, Matt Budd, Chuck Hopkins,
Brett Kressley, Larry Lippincott, Mike Cogdill, Ron Roberts, John
Cavallaro, Frank Raio, Troy Burger, Eric Kormann, Travis Hill

DNS: Jimmy Anderson
DQ: Dan Cogdill

Bridgeport Speedway
83 Floodgate Road
Bridgeport NJ 08014
DE Office: 302- 875-4196
NJ Office: 856-467-4408
24 hr. Info: 856-467-4407
Fax: 856-467-5843
E-mail: [email protected]


Fri 8/13 – Fast and Furious Fridays – Triple Thriller Thunder
1/4 Mile – 600cc Micro-Sprints (20L), 270cc Micro-Sprints (20L) + 4
Cylinder Stock Cars (20L)
7:00 p.m. Warm-Ups, 7:30 p.m. Qualifying

Sat 8/14 – Saturday Night Stars! – Pie Your Favorite Finale with TSRS Sprints
Big Block Modifieds (25L), Crate Modifieds (20L), Proformance Cuts
Outlaw Stocks (15L), + Tri-State RaceSaver Sprints (15L)
6:15 p.m. Warm-Ups, 7:00 p.m. Qualifying