Home Fan Guide Bridgeport Speedway Tickets Races Bridgeport Speedway Track Information Photos and Video Gallery Image Map 1/4 Mile Home Page Race Schedule 5/8 Mile Home Page Driver Forms Contact Us Media
  Bridgeport Speedway Home  
Bridgeport Speedway Home

Bridgeport Speedway News

Sunday April 07, 2013
Bridgeport, NJ (April 7, 2013) – At Bridgeport Speedway, Ryan Watt charged to victory lane after winning the Big Block Modified feature. The Crate/Sportsman contest was won by Matt Budd with Ian Humphreys taking the checkered flag in the Rookie race. Tom Wills, Jr. took top honors in the Outlaw Stock Car feature.

At the beginning of the 30-lap Big Block Modified feature, polesitter Ryan Watt grabbed the lead with Mike Iles and Jimmy Horton in his tracks. With five circuits recorded, Watt had opened up a sizable advantage over his rivals with Horton facing a duel from Richie Pratt, Jr. for third place. By lap 10, Iles had moved closer to Watt. On the next tour, the first yellow flag of the contest came out for Rick Laubach. When action resumed, Watt remained on top with Iles, Pratt, Horton, and Matt Harrell next in line. With Watt running the lower groove, Iles took to the high side of the speedway and pedaled to the front on lap 14. After Iles took the lead, he and Watt began a great side-by-side battle. Watt edged back to the front on lap 16. Two circuits later, Iles was back on top by a nose over Watt. On lap 19, Watt had just secured the lead when the yellow lights illuminated as Ron Roberts stopped off the track in turn four. When the green flag waved again, Watt continued to set the pace over Iles, Pratt, Horton, and Harrell. Pratt began to reel in Iles and he advanced into the runner-up position with seven circuits to go. A slowing Neil Huber brought out the final caution flag of the race on lap 26. As action resumed, Watt continued to be the leader with Pratt in second and Horton slipping past Iles for third. Watt continued ontop for the remainder of the contest to win his first feature of the season. Pratt wound up in second with Horton next in line. Iles came home in fourth and Harrell finished the race in fifth. The Big Block Modified heats went to Richie Pratt, Jr., Mike Iles, and Jimmy Horton. Tommy Beamer won the consolation race.

In the 20-lap Crate/Sportsman contest, Matt Budd led from wire-to-wire to win the race. Clyde Cox drove a strong race to finish in second place. Bryan Kuhl, making his first start at Bridgeport Speedway, wound up in third. Ryan Wozunk and Mike Cogdill rounded out the top five. Mike Cogdill and Scott Hulmes, Sr. were victorious in the Crate/Sportsman qualifying events.

After taking the lead from Jesse James Bonaduce on the fourth circuit, Ian Humphreys led the balance of race to win the opening event in the D.A.’s Auto Body and Repair Rookie Series. Bonaduce finished second in the 8-lap feature. Patrick Gold, Robbie Dunn, and Chris Schaffer rounded out the top five.

In the very exciting 15-lap Outlaw Stock Car feature, Tom Wills, Jr. captured his first win at Bridgeport Speedway in a close race. Russell Wurst led the opening two tours before Wills, Jr. advanced to the front. Just after Wills, Jr. became the new leader, a great multi-car tussle for second place began to take place. Eventually, Brian Ludwig took hold of second place on lap 7 after a clean multiple circuit battle with Terry Griffin, Russell Wurst, Tom Wills, Sr., and Ron Frees. Following a restart, Ludwig grabbed the lead on lap 13 but Wills, Jr. regained the front running position as the white flag waved. On the last tour, Wills, Jr. held off Ludwig to gain the victory. Frees, Griffin, and Jeff Dirkes filled out the top five. The Outlaw Stock Car heat races were won by Brian Ludwig and Ken Watson, Jr.

The Garden State Vintage Stock Car Club invades Bridgeport Speedway on Saturday, April 13. The Big Block Modifieds, Crate/Sportsman, Rookies, and Outlaw Stock Cars are on the agenda as well. Racing begins at 6:00 p.m. with grandstand gates opening at 4:30 p.m. Fans (16 and older) are admitted for $15 with students (10-15) being admitted for $10. Kids 9 and under are free.

Bridgeport Speedway provides a safe and secure family atmosphere, free parking, giveaways and fan participation games. Billed ‘The Fastest Dirt Track in the East’, Bridgeport Speedway is a banked 5/8th mile dirt oval, featuring a dirt 1/4 mile oval embedded in the center, and is located in Southern New Jersey -- just minutes from Pennsylvania and Delaware at exit 14 off of I-295.


Big Block Modifieds

Heat 1 - 1. Richie Pratt, Jr. 2. Matt Harrell 3. Travis Hill 4. Eric Kormann 5. Sam Martz 6. Mike Barone
Heat 2 - 1. Mike Iles 2. Scott Irwin 3. Robbie Nixon 4. Bucky Kell 5. Dave Dissinger 6. David Hunt
Heat 3 - 1. Jimmy Horton 2. Ryan Watt 3. Rick Laubach 4. Mike Franz 5. Dom Buffalino 6. Bob Sarkisian
Consolation - 1. Tommy Beamer 2. Brett Ballard 3. Sean Gunther 4. Ron Roberts 5. Neil Huber 6. Rusty Smith
Provisional – Don Cogdill, III


1. RYAN WATT 2. Richie Pratt, Jr. 3. Jimmy Horton 4. Mike Iles 5. Matt Harrell 6. Bucky Kell 7. Mike Barone 8. Rusty Smith 9. Dom Buffalino 10. Rick Laubach 11. Sam Martz 12. Tommy Beamer 13. Travis Hill 14. Sean Gunther 15. Rob Nixon 16. Mike Franz 17. Don Cogdill, III 18. Ron Roberts 19. Brett Ballard 20. Eric Kormann 21. Dave Dissinger 22. Dave Hunt 23. Neil Huber 24. Scott Irwin 25. Bob Sarkisian

DNQ: Mike McAleer, Tom Maccherone, Stan Frankenfield, Wade Hendrickson,


Heat 1 - 1.Mike Cogdill 2. CJ Jones 3. Steve Kasskert 4. Dave Damiano 5. Bryan Kuhl 6. Clyde Cox
Heat 2 - 1. Scott Hulmes, Sr. 2. Brad Roberts 3. Billy Briggs 4. Brett Kelly 5. Ryan Wozunk 6. Matt Budd


1. MATT BUDD 2. Clyde Cox 3. Bryan Kuhl 4. Ryan Wozunk 5. Mike Cogdill 6. Billy Briggs 7. Scott Hulmes, Sr. 8. CJ Jones 9. Jason Bittner 10. Ian Humphreys 11. Steve Kassekert 12. Scott Hulmes, Jr. 13. Pete Serra 14. Chris Schaeffer 15. Jason Neidlinger 16. Robbie Dunn 17. Jesse James Bonaduce 18. Brett Kelly 19. Dave Damiano 20. Brad Roberts 21. Ricky DiEva 22. Jason Duppel

DNS: Patrick Gold


1. IAN HUMPHREYS 2. Jesse James Bonaduce 3. Patrick Gold 4. Robbie Dunn 5. Chris Schaeffer 6. Scott Hulmes, Jr. 7. Ryan Cox

Outlaw Stock Cars

Heat 1 - 1. Brian Ludwig 2. Ron Frees 3. Tom Wills, Jr. 4. Mike Hughes, Jr. 5. Terry Griffin 6. Ron Dirkes
Heat 2 - 1. Ken Watson, Jr. 2. Tom Wills, Sr. 3. Anthony DiBenedetto 4. Cleve Riehl 5. Russell Wurst 6. Tom Boehlert


1. TOM WILLS, JR. 2. Brian Ludwig 3.Ron Frees 4. Terry Griffin 5. Jeff Dirkes 6. Tom Wills, Sr. 7. Tom Boehlert 8. Anthony DiBenedetto 9. John Rambo 10. David Kramer 11. Ken Watson, Jr. 12. Russell Wurst 13. Bob Dooley 14. Cleve Riehl 15. Mike Hughes, Sr. 16. Ron Dirkes

DNS: Mike Hughes, Jr.