Home Fan Guide Bridgeport Speedway Tickets Races Bridgeport Speedway Track Information Photos and Video Gallery Image Map 1/4 Mile Home Page Race Schedule 5/8 Mile Home Page Driver Forms Contact Us Media
  Bridgeport Speedway Home  
Bridgeport Speedway Home

Bridgeport Speedway News

Sunday April 14, 2013
Four drivers went to Bridgeport's Victory Lane for the first time in 2013. Richie Pratt, Jr. waited for the track conditions to come to him as he took over the lead on lap twenty-two in the Big Block Modified feature to race to his first win of the season. Mark Herman was the winner of the Crate/Sportsman Main while Jesse James Bonaduce won race number two in the D.A. 's Auto Body & Repair Rookie Feature event. Ron Frees added his name to the list of winners in the Outlaw Stocks, picking up his first win of the season in the fifteen lap main event.

Wade Hendrickson, driving the Leach # 99 with Hendrickson power under the hook, took the lead at the drop of the green and set a blistering pace during the race's early stages. Hendrickson drove away from the field and had more than a straightaway lead before the first caution flag waved when Dave Hunt slowed off turn four on lap eight. The caution erased Hendrickson's lead and pitted Richie Pratt, Jr. right beside Hendrickson on the restart with Eric Kormann, Stan Frankenfield and Scott Irwin all racing for top five positions. Hendrickson prevailed and maintained the lead until Frankenfield made contact with the homestretch wall just nine laps from the end of the race. The field was realigned for the start as Hendrickson led Pratt, Watt, Kormann and Horton but track conditions would now turn the tables in Pratt's favor. As the track dried, the race came to Pratt who became the race leader on lap twenty-two. As Hendrickson's tires showed their wear, the Flying Farmer slid back through the top five. With Pratt picking up his 20th career victory at Bridgeport, Kormann raced his way to second. Mike Iles' late race charge had him in third ahead of Watt while Bucky Kell captured the fifth position. Hendrickson was sixth at the checkered. Modified heats were won by Dominic Buffalino, Hendrickson and Rick Laubach while Rusty Smith was the winner of the consolation

Mark Herman took the race lead in the 20 lap Crate/Sportsman feature on lap fourteen and raced to his first of the season and the first Bridgeport Speedway win of his career. Bradley Roberts was the early race leader as he raced ahead of Ricky DiEva for the first five laps of the race. DiEva took over on lap six and held the lead until Herman took over. DiEva held on to finish a strong second with Roberts taking third. Brett Kelly and Mike Cogdill rounded out the top five at the checkered. Roberts and DiEva were the winners of the two qualifying heats with Billy Briggs winning the consi.

Jesse James Bonaduce took the win in the D.A. Auto Body & Repair Rookie Feature over last week's winner, Ian Humphries. The two drivers now have identical finishes in the first two Rookie events. Chuck Fayash, Jeff Bubior and Tyler Hulmes followed Bonaduce and Humphries at the finish line.

Ron Frees dominated the Outlaw Stock Feature, taking the lead from, Mike Hughes, Jr. on lap four. Frees has been in the thick of the hunt so far in 2013 and captured his first Bridgeport win in the third race of the season. Frees now has a win at all three active New Jersey Speedways - Bridgeport, New Egypt and Wall Stadium. Tom Wills, Sr., Terry Griffin and Tom Wills, Jr. completed the top five in the running order. Mike Hughes, Jr. and Bill Liedtka won the qualifying heats.

Racing resumes at the Bridgeport Speedway next weekend with a Fast and Furious Friday night show on the quarter mile track and a regular show on the 5/8 mile track on Saturday.

Bridgeport Speedway provides a safe and secure family atmosphere, free parking, giveaways and fan participation games. Billed ‘The Fastest Dirt Track in the East’, Bridgeport Speedway is a banked 5/8th
mile dirt oval, featuring a dirt 1/4 mile oval embedded in the center, and is located in Southern New Jersey -- just minutes from Pennsylvania and Delaware at exit 14 off of I-295.

Big Block Modifieds
Heat 1 - 1. Dominic Buffalino 2. Stan Frankenfield, Jr. 3. Jimmy Horton 4. Eric Kormann 5. Mike Iles 6. Don Cogdill, III
Heat 2 - 1. Wade Hendrickson 2. Bob Sarkisian 3. Sam Martz 4. Richie Pratt, Jr. 5. Corey Anderson 6. Matt Harrell
Heat 3 - 1. Rick Laubach 2. Bucky Kell 3. Ryan Watt 4. Scott Irwin 5. Mike Barone 6. Dave Hunt
Consolation - 1. Rusty Smith 2. Travis Hill 3. Mike Franz 4. Tom Beamer 5. Brett Ballard 6. Sean Gunther

1. Richie Pratt, Jr. 2. Erck Kormann 3. Mike Iles 4. Ryan Watt 5. Bucky Kell 6. Wade Henrickson 7. Jimmy Horton 8 Rusty Smith 9. Bob Sarkisian 10. Sam Martz 11. Dominic Buffalino 12. Scott Irwin 13. Mike Franz 14. Dave Dissinger 15. Don Cogdill, III 16. Stan Frankenfiled, Jr. 17. Mike Barone 18. Corey Anderson 19. Brett Ballard 21. Rick Laubach 22. Sean Gunther 23. Dave Hunt 24. Matt Harrell 25. Travis Hill

DNQ: Neil Huber

Heat 1 - 1. Bradley Roberts 2. Mike Cogdill 3. Mark Herman 4. Brett Kelly 5. Scott Hulmes 6. Matt Budd
Heat 2 - 1. Ricky DiEva 2. CJ Jones 3. Dave Damiano 4. Ryan Wozunk 5. Steve Searock 6. Steve Kassekort
Consolation - 1. Billy Briggs 2. Jesse Dill 3. Ian Humphries 4. Chuck Fayash 5. Jeff Bubari 6. Kris Lilick

1 .Mark Hermann 2. Ricky DiEva 3. Bradley Roberts 4. Brett Kelly 5. Mike Cogdill 6. Matt Budd 7. Davie Damiano 8. Andy Fayash 9. Steve Searock 10. Scott Hulmes 11. Billy Briggs 12. Joe Dill 13. Ian Humphries 14. Jesse James Bonaduce 15. Jason Bitner 16. Jesse Dill 17. Pete Serra 18. Jeff Bubari 19. Kris Lilick 20. CJ Jones 21. Chuck Fayash 22. Steve Kassekort 23. Ryan Wozunk

DNQ: Pete Lucchesi


1. Jesse Bonaduce 2. Ian Humphries 3. Chuck Fayash 4. Jeff Bubior 5. Tyler Hulmes 6. Kris Lilick 7. Pete Lucchesi

Outlaw Stock Cars

Heat 1 - 1. Mike Hughes, Jr. 2. Ron Frees 3. Tom Wills, Jr. 4. Ed Tinsman 5. Marty Dorr 6. Cheri LaClair 7. Tom Boehlert 8. Mike Huges, Sr.
Heat 2 - 1. Bill Liedtka 2. Tom Wills, Sr. 3. Brian Ludwig 4. Terry Griffin 5. John Parker 6. Joe Meron 7. Jack Beaumont 8. David Kramer 9. Ron DIrkes


1. Ron Frees 2. Mike Huges, Jr. 3. Tom Wills, Sr. 4. Terry Griffin 5. Tom Wills, Jr. 6. Brian Ludwig 7. Joe Meron 8. Tom Boehlert 9. Ed Tinsman 10. Jack Beaumont 11. Jeff Dirkes 12. Marty Dorr 13. Bill Liedtka 14. Mike Hughes, Sr. 15. David Kramer 16. Ron Dirkes 17. John Parker 18. Cheri LaClair