Home Fan Guide Bridgeport Speedway Tickets Races Bridgeport Speedway Track Information Photos and Video Gallery Image Map 1/4 Mile Home Page Race Schedule 5/8 Mile Home Page Driver Forms Contact Us Media
  Bridgeport Speedway Home  
Bridgeport Speedway Home

Bridgeport Speedway News

Sunday April 21, 2013
Bridgeport, NJ (April 21, 2013) – At Bridgeport Speedway, Rick Laubach streaked to a win in the Big Block Modified feature. CJ Jones picked up the victory in the Crate/Sportsman main event. The Rookie feature went to Kris Lilick. For the second consecutive week, Ron Frees topped the field in the Outlaw Stock Car race.

On the third attempt to start the 30-lap Big Block Modified feature, Tom Maccherone grabbed the lead with Scott Irwin and Ron Roberts in tow. Following a caution period on lap 1, Irwin motored to the front with Rick Laubach advancing into the runner-up position. Laubach used the outside groove to gain the lead with three circuits completed. Quickly, Laubach began to pull away with Irwin in second and Matt Harrell driving into third on lap 4. With the leader having a full straightaway advantage, a slowing Mike Franz caused the yellow lights to illuminate the track. When action got back underway, the top three of Laubach, Irwin and Harrell remained in place with the front runner streaking away from the pack. Laubach’s big lead was wiped out again on lap 9 as Tommy Beamer scraped the outside wall and dislodged the tires protecting the entrance to the pits. Action resumed for only one tour as Neil Huber and Sean Gunther tangled in the third corner of the speedway. When the green flag waved, the top three kept their spots with Jimmy Horton getting by Wade Hendrickson for fourth. With Laubach increasing his margin over the field, Harrell moved past Irwin with thirteen circuits in the books. As the event entered the second half, Irwin and Horton began to battle for third with Laubach cruising along in front. Just as Laubach was entering lap traffic, the final yellow flag of the contest occurred for a slowing Ron Roberts. When racing resumed, Laubach maintained his edge over Harrell with Horton charging into third and Ryan Watt gaining fourth on lap 22. With Laubach flying away from his rivals, a good three car battle for second between Harrell, Horton and Watt was developing. Horton slid by Harrell for the runner-up with five laps to go. In the final laps, Laubach continued to set a hot pace and sped to his first win of the year. Horton wound up in second with Harrell holding off Watt to finish in third. Hendrickson came home in fifth place. The Big Block Modified heats went to Wade Hendrickson, Ron Roberts, and Rick Laubach. Rob Nixon won the consolation race.

In the 20-lap Crate/Sportsman race, CJ Jones led all but one circuit to capture his first checkered flag of the season. Jason Bittner set the pace for the opening tour before Jones took control. Bittner’s strong run resulted in a second place finish. Third place went to veteran Billy Briggs. Matt Budd started the event in tenth and finished in fourth place. Fifth place was taken by Joe Dill. Billy Briggs and CJ Jones were victors in the Crate/Sportsman qualifying races.

Kris Lilick led from start to finish as he won the D.A.’S Auto Body and Repair Rookie Series 8-lap feature. The runner-up spot went to Jeff Bubori. Ian Humphries, Jesse James Bonaduce, and Scott Hulmes, Jr. rounded out the top five.

In the exciting 15-lap Outlaw Stock Car contest, Ron Frees took top honors for the second consecutive week. Jeff Dirkes paced the field for the first three circuits before Frees became the leader. The last five circuits of the race saw an entertaining battle for the top running spot with Frees, Rick Broschard, and Ken Watson, Sr. in tight quarters. In the end, it was Frees in front with Broschard finishing second and Watson, Sr. taking third. Terry Griffin and Mike Hughes, Jr. completed the top five. The winners of the Outlaw Stock Car heat races were Jeff Dirkes and Terry Griffin.

On Saturday, April 27, a Kid’s Money Scramble will take place during intermission. Children 12 and under will be divided into age groups and will be able to line their pockets with coins that will be scattered on the frontstretch of the quarter mile speedway. Racing on this evening will include Big Block Modifieds, Crate/Sportsman, Outlaw Stock Cars, and D.A.’s Auto Body and Repair Rookies. In addition, Borrowed Equipment will be performing cover songs and original music in the pavilion before the races. A free moon bounce will be available for kids. Pit gates open at 3:30 p.m. and grandstand turnstiles unlock at 4:30 p.m. The first green flag waves at 6:00 p.m. Fans (16 and older) are admitted for $15 with students (10-15) being admitted for $10. Kids 9 and under are free.

Bridgeport Speedway provides a safe and secure family atmosphere, free parking, giveaways, and fan participation games. Billed ‘The Fastest Dirt Track in the East’, Bridgeport Speedway is a banked 5/8th mile dirt oval, featuring a dirt 1/4 mile oval embedded in the center, and is located in Southern New Jersey -- just minutes from Pennsylvania and Delaware at exit 14 off of I-295.


Big Block Modifieds

Heat 1 - 1. Wade Hendrickson 2. Dom Buffalino 3. Eric Kormann 4. Richie Pratt, Jr. 5. Mike Franz 6. Tom Maccherone
Heat 2 - 1. Ron Roberts 2. Jimmy Horton 3. Ryan Watt 4. Tommy Beamer 5. Matt Harrell 6.Bob Sarkisian
Heat 3 - 1. Rick Laubach 2. Scott Irwin 3. Sam Martz 4. Mike Barone 5. Mike Iles 6. Rusty Smith Consolation - 1. Rob Nixon 2. Jack Mihoff 3. Don Cogdill, III 4. Neil Huber 5. Sean Gunther 6. Ed Firth


1. RICK LAUBACH 2. Jimmy Horton 3. Matt Harrell 4. Ryan Watt 5. Wade Hendrickson 6. Sam Martz 7. Rusty Smith 8. Tommy Beamer 9. Scott Irwin 10. Bob Sarksian 11. Eric Kormann 12. Mike Barone 13. Mike Franz 14. Don Cogdill, III 15. Rob Nixon 16. Tom Maccherone 17. Ron Roberts 18. Neil Huber 19. Ed Firth 20. Sean Gunther 21. Jack Mihoff 22. Richie Pratt, Jr. 23. Mike Iles 24. Dom Buffalino

DNQ: Brett Ballard, David Hunt, Stan Frankenfield, Jr., Ron Haring


Heat 1 - 1. Billy Briggs 2. Ricky DiEva 3. Matt Budd. 4. Scott Hulmes 5. Jesse James Bonaduce 6. Jason Bittner 7. Jeff Bubori 8. Jason Duppel
Heat 2 - 1. CJ Jones 2. Ryan Wozunk 3. Mike Cogdill 4. Brad Roberts 5. Joe Dill 6. Scott Hitchens 7. Pete Serra 8. Ian Humphries


1. CJ JONES 2. Jason Bittner 3. Billy Briggs 4. Matt Budd 5. Joe Dill 6. Ryan Wozunk 7. Ian Humphries 8. Steve Searock 9. Jeff Bubori 10. Kris Lilick 11. Brett Kelly 12. Dave Damiano 13. Pete Serra 14. Jason Duppel 15. Mike Cogdill 16. Scott Hulmes 17. Robbie Dunn 18. Brad Roberts 19. Ricky DiEva 20. Scott Hitchens 21. Jesse James Bonaduce 22. Bob Lilick 23. Jesse Dill 24. Scott Hulmes, Jr.
DNS: Matt Stern


1. KRIS LILICK 2. Jeff Bubori 3. Ian Humphries 4. Jesse James Bonaduce 5. Scott Hulmes, Jr. 6. Robbie Dunn

DNS: Matt Stern

Outlaw Stock Cars

Heat 1 - 1. Jeff Dirkes 2. Brian Ludwig 3. Ron Frees 4. Mike Hughes, Jr. 5. Ron Dirkes 6. Bob Dooley
Heat 2 - 1. Terry Griffin 2. Tom Wills, Jr. 3. Ed Tinsman 4. Rick Broschard 5. Tom Boehlert 6. Joe Meron


1. RON FREES 2. Rick Broschard 3. Ken Watson, Sr. 4. Terry Griffin 5. Mike Hughes, Jr. 6. Ed Tinsman 7. Tom Wills, Jr. 8. Joe Meron 9. Cleve Riehl 10. Ron Dirkes 11. Joe LaClaire 12. Brian Ludwig 13. Mike Hughes, Sr. 14. Jeff Dirkes 15. David Kramer 16. Bob Dooley 17. Jack Beaumont 18. Tom Boehlert