Bridgeport Speedway Home Page Fan Guide Bridgeport Speedway Tickets Race Schedule Bridgeport Speedway Track Information Photos and Video Gallery Home Contact Us Driver Forms Media
  Bridgeport Speedway Home  

Bridgeport Speedway News

Monday May 18, 2009
BRIDGEPORT, NJ (May 17, 2009) - On 70’s Night at Bridgeport
Speedway, Chad James from Laurel, Delaware made it two wins in a row
by winning the 25-lap Big Block Modified feature. Kevin Collins took
the checkered flag in the 358 Sportsman event. In the GM Sportsman
contest, David Bell was victorious while Brittany Whitesall won the
rookie GM Sportsman feature.

In the 25-lap feature for the Big Block Modifieds, polesitter Stan
Frankenfield jumped out to lead the first lap over fellow front row
starter, Bob Sarkisian. Frankenfield’s lead and night ended when he
and Sarkisian brushed together in turn four creating the first caution
of the event. With Sarkisian now in front, Matt Harrell moved into
second place on the ensuing restart with Wade Hendrickson, Ryan Watt
and Jimmy Chester in tow. Chester elevated himself past Watt on lap 8.
Two laps later, the yellow lights illuminated when the left rear tire
went flat on the car of Richie Pratt Jr. When action resumed, Harrell
and Hendrickson tangled allowing Chester to get into the runner-up
spot and twelfth place starter Chad James to motor into third place.
Harrell’s left rear went soft on lap 16 drawing another caution
flag. Green flag racing returned for only two circuits as Chester’s
car slowed down due to a flat tire. With James now positioned in
second place, Sarkisian chose the inside lane for the restart on lap
18. After the green flag waved, Sarkisian and James battled for the
lead for nearly a lap until James masterfully slipped by Sarkisan.
Watt stayed in contention by moving into third place on lap 19 with
Scott Ambruster jumping into fourth place. Watt and Ambruster inched
closer to the leader when they both snuck by Sarkisian on lap 24. Also
on lap 24, the fifth place car of Pratt Jr. stopped in turn two
setting up a one lap shootout for the win. On the restart, James
outgunned Watt and Ambruster to streak to the finish line for his
second win of the year. Watt held onto second place while Ambruster
completed a career best night with a third place finish. Fourth place
went to Scott Irwin and Scott Van Gorder wound up in fifth place.
Sarkisian’s night ended terribly when his car bounced in turn three
on the last lap and hopped into the path of Matt Harrell’s machine.
With the impact, Sarkisian’s car became airborne and flipped
violently. Hendrickson, James and Pratt Jr. won the Big Block Modified
qualifying races.

In the 358 Sportsman feature, Don Bogey took advantage of his front
row starting spot to lead the opening three laps. The top four of
Bogey, John Scarpati Jr. and Kevin Collins were running as a pack when
Collins used the outside lane to sweep by the top three runners to
take the lead on lap 4. Once in front, Collins withstood multiple
restarts and challenges to claim his fifteenth career win at
Bridgeport Speedway. Behind Collins, Scarpati Jr. and sixteenth place
starter Brett Ballard waged a terrific battle for second place with
Ballard getting the advantage at the checkered flag. Scarpati Jr. took
third place with Chuck Hopkins taking the fourth spot. Fifteenth place
starter Jesse Hill worked his way to a fifth place finish. 358
Sportsman heat races were won by John Kelly, Tom Miller and Collins.
Sean Gunther won the consolation event.

David Bell led all 15 laps of the GM Sportsman event to capture his
first career win. Bell outgunned Doug Urbano at the drop of the green
and successfully maneuvered through late race lapped traffic to gain
the victory. Eric Kormann, Neal Williams, Tom Moore Jr., and Urbano
completed the top five. Moore Jr. and Bell won the GM Sportsman heat
races. Brittany Whitesall took the lead on lap 2 and went onto win the
Rookie GM Sportsman feature.

On Saturday, May 23rd, the URC Sprints join the Big Block Modifieds,
358 Sportsman and GM Sportsman on Wing Night. Racing starts at 6:30 PM
on May 23rd with Grandstand Gates opening at 4:30 PM. Quarter mile
racing on Friday, May 22nd has four divisions on the card as the
Slingshots by Tobias join the 4-Cylinder Stock Cars, 270cc and 600cc
Micro-Sprints. The first race on the inner dirt oval starts at 7:00 PM
on Friday May 22nd with Spectator Gates opening at 5:00 PM. For
additional information, please visit or call

Bridgeport Speedway Results – Saturday, May 16, 2009

Big Block Modifieds

Heat 1 – Wade Hendrickson, Mike Barone, Stan Frankenfield, Rich
Acolia, Rusty Smith, Jimmy Horton
Heat 2 – Chad James, Jimmy Chester, Bob Sarkisian, Mike Franz,
Steve Durand, Brian Truppi
Heat 3 – Richie Pratt Jr., Ryan Watt, Scott Irwin, Matt Harrell,
Scott Ambruster, Ron Roberts


CHAD JAMES, Ryan Watt, Scott Ambruster, Scott Irwin, Scott Van
Gorder, Ron Roberts, Richie Pratt Jr., Rusty Smith, Bob Sarkisian,
Matt Harrell, Mike Barone, Wade Hendrickson, Steve Durand, Jimmy
Chester, Mike Franz, Brian Truppi, Rich Acolia, Jimmy Horton, Stan

358 Sportsman

Heat 1 – John Kelly, Tom Solderich, Chuck Hopkins, Dan Cogdill,
Jarrad Miller, John Scarpati Jr.
Heat 2 – Tom Miller, Larry Lippincott, Jack Swain, Frank Dorry Jr.,
Jesse Hill, Randy Yaple
Heat 3 – Kevin Collins, Travis Hill, Don Bogey, Bob Lineman Jr.,
Brett Ballard, Harry Marlin
Consolation – Sean Gunther, Rick Beavers, Rob Pierce, Ron Roberts,
Andrew Weygand, Jim McCallion


KEVIN COLLINS, Brett Ballard, John Scarpati Jr., Chuck Hopkins, Jesse
Hill, Bob Lineman Jr., Randy Yaple, Larry Lippincott, Jarrad Miller,
Frank Dorry Jr., Travis Hill, Rob Pierce, Andrew Weygand, Jack Swain,
John Kelly, Tom Miller, Harry Marlin, Sean Gunther, Ron Roberts, Don
Bogey, Dan Cogdill, Jim McCallion, Rick Beavers, Tom Solderich

DNQ: Jeff Hartman, John Cavallaro, Gino Postorivo, Jason Duppel, Rob

GM Sportsman

Heat 1 – Tom Moore Jr., Neal Williams, Chuck Buchman, Eric Kormann,
Doug Urbano, Brittany Whitesall
Heat 2 – David Bell, Bob Burgess, Tim Trimble, Michael Cogdill,
Tyler DeVault, Kyle Borror


DAVID BELL, Eric Kormann, Neal Williams, Tom Moore Jr., Doug Urbano,
Chuck Buchman, Michael Cogdill, Corey Anderson, John Micek, Tim
Trimble, Bob Burgess, Tyler DeVault, Kyle Borror, Jimmy Anderson,
Billy Martino, Brittany Whitesall

DNS: Mike Starke, Bob Bracall


BRITTANY WHITESALL, Tyler DeVault, Billy Martino, Jimmy Anderson,
Mike Starke, Bob Bracall

Bridgeport Speedway
83 Floodgate Road
Bridgeport NJ 08014
DE Office: 302- 875-4196
NJ Office: 856-467-4408
24 hr. Info: 856-467-4407
Fax: 856-467-5843
E-mail: [email protected]


Fri 5/22 – Fast and Furious Fridays – Four Feature Friday
1/4 Mile – Slingshots by Tobias (20L), 600cc Micro-Sprints (20L),
270cc Micro-Sprints (20L), & 4 Cylinder Stock Cars (20L)
6:30 PM Warm-Ups, 7:00 PM Qualifying

Sat 5/23 – Saturday Night Stars! – Wing Night – Memorial Day
Weekend Twin 25’s plus Chicken Wing eating contest sponsored by
Ciconte’s Italian Pizzeria
URC Sprints (25L), Big Block Modifieds (25L), 358 Sportsman (20L), +
GM Sportsman (15L)
5:45 PM Warm-Ups, 6:30 PM Qualifying