Bridgeport Speedway Home Page Fan Guide Bridgeport Speedway Tickets Race Schedule Bridgeport Speedway Track Information Photos and Video Gallery Home Contact Us Driver Forms Media
  Bridgeport Speedway Home  

Bridgeport Speedway News

Monday June 08, 2009
BRIDGEPORT, NJ (June 7, 2009) - As a full moon lit up the sky in
Southern New Jersey, Chad James and Richie Pratt, Jr. each won a Big
Block Modified feature on Twin 20’s Night at Bridgeport Speedway. In
the 358 Sportsman division, Jesse Hill was the victor. Corey Anderson
snared the GM Sportsman feature with Jimmy Anderson taking the
checkered flag in the Rookie GM race. In the Outlaw Stock main, Bill
Miller was the winner.

In the first 20-Lap feature for the Big Block Modifieds, polesitter
Jimmy Chester outgunned Brian Truppi to take the lead with Mike Barone
and Jimmy Horton in pursuit. After being shuffled back on the opening
lap, tenth place starter Chad James had marched up to the third
position by lap 8. While running in fourth, Mike Barone’s machine
slowed on the speedway due to a flat tire on lap 9 and the caution
flag appeared. James shot pass Truppi on the restart to gain second
place and took over the lead from Chester on lap 11. James was
beginning to pull away when the yellow lights illuminated for Steve
Durand’s flat tire. On the final resumption, James outdistanced
himself from the pack to gain his third win of the year at Bridgeport.
Chester ran a strong race to finish in the runner-up spot. Horton
wound up in third with Richie Pratt, Jr. taking the fourth spot. Wade
Hendrickson crossed the finish line in fifth place.

Scott Irwin and Rick Wegner, Jr. paced the field to the start of the
second 20-Lap feature for the Big Block Modifieds. Surviving a couple
of early cautions, Irwin led the opening three laps. Following a
restart of the feature, the fast improving Scott Ambruster assumed the
top spot from third place on lap 4 with Wade Hendrickson and Richie
Pratt, Jr. in tow. Pratt, Jr. gained the top spot on lap 7 just prior
to the caution flag waving for a turn three skirmish involving Irwin,
Chad James and Rich Acolia. Once in front, Pratt, Jr. dominated the
remaining laps to claim his second win of the year. Hendrickson got by
Ambruster on lap 12 and held on for second place. Ambruster finished
in third place with Matt Harrell taking fourth. Jimmy Chester
completed a good night with a fifth place run. Heat winners for the
Big Block Modifieds were Brian Truppi, Chad James, and Richie Pratt,

In the 358 Sportsman feature, Jesse Hill took the lead from Sean
Gunther on lap 13 and stormed off to his second win of the year.
Starting in the sixteenth spot, Hill steadlily climbed through the
field and reached the second spot on lap 7 trailing only Gunther.
Gunther finished in second place with fourteenth place starter Jack
Swain coming home in third place. Chuck Hopkins wound up fourth place
after starting the feature in eighteenth place. Fifth place went to
Randy Yaple. Swain, Jarrad Miller, and Gunther each won a 358
Sportsman heat race.

Corey Anderson slipped by Michael Cogdill at the start and went on to
wire the field in the 15-Lap GM Sportsman event. Eric Kormann finished
in second place after starting the feature in the seventh position.
Tom Moore, Jr., Kyle Borror and Bob Burgess completed the top five. GM
Sportsman qualifying events were won by Moore, Jr. and Corey Anderson.
Jimmy Anderson captured his first win in the Rookie GM race.

After starting on the pole, Bill Miller cruised to the win in the
15-Lap Outlaw Stock race. The victory was Miller’s eight career win
in the division. Terry Griffin took second place with Dean Woolford
returning to Bridgeport and finishing in third place. Spider Ensinger,
Jr. and Bob Hopely rounded out the top five.

On Saturday, June 13th, the New Jersey dirt track champions from the
1980's will be honored on 80s Night. On this special night, Big Block
Modifieds, 358 Sportsman, GM Sportsman, and Rookie GM Sportsman will
be in competition on the big 5/8th mile dirt oval. Racing starts at
7:00 PM on June 13th with Grandstand Gates opening at 5:00 PM. Quarter
mile racing on Friday, June 12th showcases the 600cc Micro-Sprints
competing in a Winged and Wingless feature sponsored by Guhl Motors.
270cc Micro-Sprints and the 4-Cylinder Stock Cars complete the
schedule. The first race on the inner oval starts at 7:00 PM on Friday
June 12th with Gates opening at 5:00 PM. For additional information,
please visit or call 302-875-4196.

Bridgeport Speedway Results – Saturday, June 6th, 2009

Big Block Modifieds

Heat 1 – Brian Truppi, Ryan Watt, Wade Hendrickson, Rick Wegner,
Jr., Mike Franz, Rich Acolia, Matt Harrell
Heat 2 – Chad James, Jimmy Horton, Mike Barone, Ron Roberts, Stan
Frankenfield, Rob Nixon
Heat 3 – Richie Pratt, Jr., Jimmy Chester, Steve Durand, Rusty
Smith, Scott Ambruster, Scott Irwin


CHAD JAMES, Jimmy Chester, Jimmy Horton, Richie Pratt, Jr., Wade
Hendrickson, Ryan Watt, Scott Ambruster, Matt Harrell, Stan
Frankenfield, Ron Roberts, Rick Wegner, Jr., Scott Irwin, Mike Franz,
Rob Nixon, Mike Barone, Andy Burkhart, Rich Acolia, Mike Roscoe,
Bryant Brown, Steve Durand, Brian Truppi, Rusty Smith, Brett Hoffman


RICHIE PRATT, JR.,Wade Hendrickson, Scott Ambruster, Matt Harrell,
Jimmy Chester, Steve Durand, Rich Acolia, Andy Burkhart, Rick Wegner,
Jr., Scott Irwin, Mike Roscoe, Mike Barone, Rusty Smith, Ryan Watt,
Chad James, Rob Nixon, Ron Roberts, Mike Franz, Bryant Brown, Brett
Hoffman, Stan Frankenfield, Jimmy Horton

DNS: Brian Truppi

358 Sportsman

Heat 1 – Jack Swain, Dan Cogdill, Bob Lineman, Jr., John Kelly,
Larry Lippincott, Kevin Collins
Heat 2 – Jarrad Miller, Chuck Hopkins, Gino Postorivo, John
Cavallaro, Jesse Hill, John Scarpati, Jr.
Heat 3 – Sean Gunther, Randy Yaple, Travis Hill, Ron Roberts,
Frank Dorry, Jr., Andrew Weygand


JESSE HILL, Sean Gunther, Jack Swain, Chuck Hopkins, Randy
Yaple,Travis Hill, Craig Whitmoyer,Kevin Collins, Larry Lippincott,
Brett Ballard, Dan Cogdill, Scott Davis, Jr., Andrew Weygand, Tom
Miller, Bob Rambone, Frank Dorry, Jr., Ron Roberts, Bob Lineman, Jr.,
Gino Postorivo, John Cavallaro, Jarrad Miller, John Kelly, John
Scarpati, Jr.

GM Sportsman

Heat 1 – Tom Moore, Jr. Michael Cogdill, Bob Burgess, Chuck
Buchman, David Bell, Rich Jackson
Heat 2 – Corey Anderson, Neal Williams, Eric Kormann, Kyle Borror,
Barry Readinger, Billy Martino


COREY ANDERSON, Eric Kormann, Tom Moore, Jr., Kyle Borror, Bob
Burgess, Chuck Buchman, Barry Readinger, David Bell, Billy Martino,
Jimmy Anderson, Bob Bracall, Rich Jackson, Michael Cogdill, Erik
Renninger, Bob Bartleson, Dan Stout, Neal Williams


JIMMY ANDERSON, Billy Martino, Bob Bracall


BILL MILLER, Terry Griffin, Dean Woolford, Spider Ensinger, Jr., Bob
Hopely, Jim Honeker, Jay Charkin, Russell Wurst, Brian Ludwig, Spider
Ensinger, Pat Conaway, Pete Ellis, Draper Ellis

DNS: Bucky Albright, J. Henry Doerr