Bridgeport Speedway Home Page Fan Guide Bridgeport Speedway Tickets Race Schedule Bridgeport Speedway Track Information Photos and Video Gallery Home Contact Us Driver Forms Media
  Bridgeport Speedway Home  

Bridgeport Speedway News

Thursday June 25, 2009
BRIDGEPORT, NJ (June 24, 2009) - On a perfect evening for racing at
Bridgeport Speedway, the BPG Racing/Hooters Restaurant Tri –Track
Big Block Modified Challenge Series resumed with Chad James and Rick
Laubach each winning a 20-lap Big Block Modified feature at the George
Wingate Classic Memorial. Travis Hill was victorious in the 358
Sportsman event.

In the opening 20-lap feature, polesitter Craig Von Dohren motored
out to the lead with Scott Van Gorder, Ryan Godown and Chad James in
pursuit. After apparent contact with another competitor, Stewart
Friesen hit the front straightaway wall hard to bring out the caution
flag on lap 4. When the green flag waved again, Von Dohren maintained
his lead but a fierce battle for second place ensued over the next few
laps with James eventually getting the spot. The yellow flag waved
once more as Richie Pratt, Jr. began to slow down due a flat tire on
lap 9. On the restart, James grabbed the lead from Von Dohren with
Godown getting by Van Gorder for third place. Two laps later, Duane
Howard entered the picture by passing Van Gorder for fourth place. As
the laps began to wind down, the top four of James, Von Dohren, Godown
and Howard began to distance themselves from the field. Von Dohren
began to edge closer to James when the final caution of the event came
for Chuck Hopkins on lap 19. During the caution period, Godown,
running in third place, pulled into the pits with motor issues. On the
last lap shootout, James outran the pack to snag his fourth win of the
year. In the duel for second place, Von Dohren and Howard battled back
and forth with Von Dohren edging out Howard. Van Gorder and Jimmy
Horton completed the top five.

In the second 20-lap feature, the top six finishing cars from the
first feature were inverted to set the starting grid. Jimmy Horton
took the lead at the start with Ryan Watt, Chad James and Duane Howard
in tow. James worked his way passed Watt on lap 2. Duane Howard moved
up to third just before John Stangle’s spin in turn four caused the
yellow lights to illuminate the speedway. On the ensuing restart,
Horton chose the outside to keep his lead. Pratt, Jr. elevated himself
to the third position on lap 8 with Rick Laubach moving into fifth
place. One lap later, Pratt, Jr. flew by James to take the second
spot. Unfortunately, Pratt, Jr. stopped the action when he spun out on
lap 10 while in the runner-up start. When the green flag waved again,
Horton kept his lead with Laubach taking second. On lap 12, Laubach
took the lead just before the final yellow flag of the event was shown
for Ray Swinehart’s spin in turn three. When action resumed, Laubach
showed his strength and pulled away from the pack in the final laps
for his twenty-second career win at Bridgeport. Horton nosed out a
fast closing Pratt, Jr. for second place. James and Howard rounded out
the top five. Heat winners for the Big Block Modifieds were Chad
James, Chuck Hopkins, Rich Scagliotta and Ryan Godown. The consolation
race was won by Rick Laubach. provided bonus
money to each of the Big Block Modified heat winners.

Travis Hill led all 20-laps to gain his first career win in the 358
Sportsman class at Bridgeport Speedway. Jack Swain came home in second
place. Chuck Hopkins finished in third place with Eric Kormann and
Sean Gunther completing the top five. Gunther, Rocco Infante, Swain
and Neal Williams each won a 358 Sportsman heat race with Bob Lineman,
Jr. gaining the victory in the consolation event. The top three
finishers in each of the 358 Sportsman heat races received bonus money
courtesy of Mike Lyons and family.

On Saturday, June 27th, Scout and Little League Night is on tap as 7
scouts or players in uniform will allow the leader or manager to be
admitted at no charge. On the fast 5/8th mile track, the racing action
will feature the Big Block Modifieds, 358 Sportsman, GM Sporstman,
Outlaw Stocks and Rookie GM Sportsman. Racing starts at 7:00 PM on
June 27th with Grandstand Gates opening at 5:00 PM. Quarter mile
racing on Friday, June 26th showcases the 600cc Micro-Sprints
competing in a winged and wingless feature sponsored by Guhl Motors.
270cc Micro-Sprints and the 4-Cylinder Stock Cars complete the
schedule. The first race on the inner dirt oval will begin at 7:00 PM
on Friday June 26th with Track Gates opening at 5:00 PM. For
additional information, please visit or call

Bridgeport Speedway Results – Tuesday, June 23, 2009

Big Block Modifieds

Heat 1 – Chad James, Duane Howard, Wade Hendrickson, Billy Pauch,
Sr., Stewart Friesen
Heat 2 – Chuck Hopkins, Scott Van Gorder, Rick Wegner, Jr., Jimmy
Chester, Jeff Heotzler
Heat 3 – Rich Scagliotta, Craig Von Dohren, Ryan Watt, Brian
Heat 4 – Ryan Godown, Jimmy Horton, Mike Franz, Billy Pauch, Jr.,
Matt Harrell
Consolation – Rick Laubach, Richie Pratt, Jr., Ray Swinehart, Mike
Iles, Doug Manmiller


CHAD JAMES, Craig Von Dohren, Duane Howard, Scott Van Gorder, Jimmy
Horton, Ryan Watt, Billy Pauch, Sr., Rick Laubach, Wade Hendrickson,
Richie Pratt, Jr., Rich Scagliotta, Billy Pauch, Jr., Jimmy Chester,
Rick Wegner, Jr., John Stangle, Jeff Heotzler, Doug Manmiller, Chuck
Hopkins, Ryan Godown, Mike Iles, Ray Swinehart, Matt Harrell, Stewart
Friesen, Mike Franz

DNS: Brian Truppi


RICK LAUBACH, Jimmy Horton, Richie Pratt, Jr., Chad James, Duane
Howard, Craig Von Dohren, Billy Pauch, Sr., Ryan Watt, Billy Pauch,
Jr., Rich Scagliotta, Jimmy Chester, Chuck Hopkins, Doug Manmiller,
Mike Franz, Scott Van Gorder, Jeff Heotzler, Ron Roberts, Steve
Haggan, Ray Swinehart, John Stangle, Rick Wegner, Jr., Wade

DNQ: Kevin Hirthler, John Stangle, Steve Young, Ron Roberts, Tim
Tanner, Jr., Steve Haggan, Bobby Firth, Rusty Smith, Mark Herman, Mike
Barone, Chic Cossaboone, Scott Irwin, Sean Gunther, Rick Holsten, Dave
Howard, Bob Sarkisian

358 Sportsman

Heat 1 – Sean Gunther, Eric Kormann, Travis Hill, Frank Dorry,
Jr., John Kelly
Heat 2 – Rocco Infante, Chuck Hopkins, Jesse Hill, Gino Postorivo,
Chad Barney
Heat 3 – Jack Swain, Randy Yaple, Jarrad Miller, Kevin Collins,
Don Bogey
Heat 4 – Neal Williams, Larry Lippincott, Kyle Borror, Chuck
Buchman, Bob Dmuchowski
Consolation – Bob Lineman, Jr., Ron Roberts, Pat Wall, Corey


TRAVIS HILL, Jack Swain, Chuck Hopkins, Eric Kormann, Sean Gunther,
Randy Yaple, Jesse Hill, Rocco Infante, Neal Williams, Larry
Lippincott, Kevin Collins, Jarrad Miller, Frank Dorry, Jr., Ron
Roberts, John Kelly, Kyle Borror, Brett Ballard, Corey Anderson, Bob
Dmuchowski, Bob Lineman, Jr., Chad Barney, Gino Postorivo, Chuck
Buchman, Pat Wall, Don Bogey

DNQ: Brett Ballard, George Quinlan, Frank Holmes, Scott Davis, Jr.,
Dan Mazy, Jim Anderson, DJ Ruppert, David Bell, Dan Cogdill, Mark
Herman, John Cavallaro
Bridgeport Speedway
83 Floodgate Road
Bridgeport NJ 08014
DE Office: 302- 875-4196
NJ Office: 856-467-4408
24 hr. Info: 856-467-4407
Fax: 856-467-5843
E-mail: [email protected]


Fri 6/26 – Fast and Furious Fridays – Four Feature Friday with a
600cc Micro-Sprint Wingless race presented by Guhl Motors. Plus, the
return of Grandstand Bingo.

1/4 Mile –600cc Micro-Sprints (20L), 270cc Micro-Sprints (20L), & 4
Cylinder Stock Cars (20L) plus 600cc Micro-Sprint Wingless (20L)
6:30 PM Warm-Ups, 7:00 PM Qualifying

Sat 6/27 – Saturday Night Stars! – Scout and Little League Night
– With 7 Scouts or Players in uniform, the leader or manager is
admitted for free.

Modified (25L), 358 Sportsman (20L), GM Sportsman (15L), Outlaw
Stocks (15L), + Rookie GM Sportsman
6:15 PM Warm-Ups, 7:00 PM Qualifying