Bridgeport Speedway Home Page Fan Guide Bridgeport Speedway Tickets Race Schedule Bridgeport Speedway Track Information Photos and Video Gallery Home Contact Us Driver Forms Media
  Bridgeport Speedway Home  

Bridgeport Speedway News

Monday June 29, 2009
BRIDGEPORT, NJ (June 27, 2009) - On Scout and Little League Night at
Bridgeport Speedway, Wade Hendrickson was the victor in the Big Block
Modified feature. The 358 Sportsman event was won by Bob Lineman, Jr.
Michael Cogdill won the GM Sportsman contest with Jimmy Anderson
capturing the Rookie GM Sportsman race. The Outlaw Stock feature went
to Jeremy Doerr.

Brian Truppi took the early lead in the 25-Lap Big Block Modified
feature. The first red flag of the event occurred on lap 2 when a
multi-car accident blocked the track in turn two. After back to back
cautions on lap 3, Ryan Watt went from third to the lead on the
restart with Wade Hendrickson taking second place. Hendrickson scooted
by Watt on lap 6 to take the lead. Jimmy Chester began to show his
muster by gaining third place from Truppi on lap 7. As Hendrickson
began to edge away from the field, Watt and Chester were in a close
duel for the second spot. The caution lights illuminated again on lap
16 as Steve Durand developed a flat tire. As the green flag waved
again, Hendrickson kept his advantage. Two laps later, Richie Pratt,
Jr. drove by Truppi for fourth place. Chester and Pratt began a battle
for third that would have an unfortunate ending on lap 21 as the car
of Pratt, Jr. would flip violently in turn three. After the red flag
accident, Hendrickson drew away from the field on the final restart to
win his second race of the year and his thirty-ninth of his career at
Bridgeport. Chester worked his way by Watt on lap 24 to finish in
second place. Watt took the third spot with fourth place going to
Truppi. Mike Barone finished in fifth. Hendrickson, Pratt, Jr. and
Jimmy Horton were the heat winners in the Big Block Modified division.

After starting on the pole, Bob Lineman Jr. took the lead at the
start of the 20-Lap 358 Sportsman feature and put on a strong
performance in winning his sixth career feature. Lineman led every lap
of the event and was only slowed down by one caution flag to win his
first race of 2009. Brett Ballard took second place with the third
spot going to Kevin Collins. Sean Gunther came home in fourth with
Chuck Hopkins getting the final spot in the top five. Qualifying
events for the 358 Sportsman were won by Lineman, Jr., Ron Roberts and
Randy Yaple.

Michael Cogdill took the lead at the start of the 15-Lap GM Sportsman
feature and never relinquished it to win his first career race. In the
caution free contest, second place finisher Neal Williams narrowed the
gap late in the race but could not catch Cogdill. Eric Kormann wound
up in the third spot. Corey Anderson and Tom Moore, Jr. rounded out
the top five. The GM Sportsman heat races were won by Chuck Buchman
and Corey Anderson. Jimmy Anderson led the entire distance to win his
second Rookie GM Sportsman race of the year.

Jeremy Doerr took the lead on lap 4 from Pat Conaway and went onto to
grab the checkered flag in the 15-Lap Outlaw Stock race. For Doerr, it
was his first career victory. Dean Woolford took second place and
third place went to Spider Ensinger, Jr. Bob Hopely and Conaway filled
out the top five.

On Saturday, July 4th, active military personnel will be admitted for
free to the grandstand on Armed Forces Night with veteran personnel
getting a $5 discount off general admission. On the racetrack, 358
Sportsman headline the card with the Mr. 358 Sportsman special. Also,
the GM Sportsman, 4 Cylinder Stock Cars, Outlaw Stocks, Bridgeport
Limited Sprints, and Rookie GM Sportsman will be in competition on the
big 5/8th mile dirt oval. Racing starts at 7:00 PM on July 4th with
Grandstand Gates opening at 5:00 PM.

Quarter mile racing resumes on T-Shirt Night Friday, July 3rd. The
270cc and 600cc Micro-Sprints will be joined by the 4 Cylinder Stock
Cars. The first 50 paying fans admitted to the grandstand will receive
a free T-Shirt. Heat races begin at 7:00 PM on Friday July 3rd with
Gates opening at 5:00 PM. For additional information, please visit or call 302-875-4196.

Bridgeport Speedway Results Saturday, June 27th, 2009

Big Block Modifieds

Heat 1 Wade Hendrickson, Brian Truppi, Chad James, Matt Harrell,
Scott Irwin, Chic Cossaboone
Heat 2 Richie Pratt, Jr., Stan Frankenfield, Jr., Steve Durand,
Jimmy Chester, Rob Nixon, Rich Scagliotta
Heat 3 Jimmy Horton, Ryan Watt, Ron Roberts, Andy Burkhart, Jimmy
Wyers, Mike Barone


WADE HENDRICKSON, Jimmy Chester, Ryan Watt, Brian Truppi, Mike
Barone, Scott Irwin, Rusty Smith, Jimmy Wyers, Rob Nixon, Bryant
Brown, Steve Durand, Richie Pratt, Jr., Chad James, Jimmy Horton, Ron
Roberts, Rich Acolia, Chic Cossaboone, Matt Harrell, Stan
Frankenfield, Mike Franz, Andy Burkhart, Rich Scagliotta

DNS: Dave Howard, Rick Wegner, Jr.

358 Sportsman

Heat 1 Bob Lineman, Jr., Kevin Collins, Travis Hill, Jarrad
Miller, Frank Dorry, Jr., Jesse Hill
Heat 2 Ron Roberts, Sean Gunther, Chuck Hopkins, Brett Ballard,
Don Bogey, John Scarpati, Jr.
Heat 3 Randy Yaple, Gino Postorivo, Larry Lippincott, Craig
Whitmoyer, Tom Miller, John Cavallaro


BOB LINEMAN, JR., Brett Ballard, Kevin Collins, Sean Gunther, Chuck
Hopkins, Ron Roberts, Randy Yaple, Craig Whitmoyer, Frank Dorry, Jr.,
Jesse Hill, Travis Hill, Jack Swain, Larry Lippincott, Jarrad Miller,
Don Bogey, Gino Postorivo, Andrew Weygand, John Scarpati, Jr., Bob
Rambone, Dan Cogdill, Tom Miller

DNS: John Cavallaro

GM Sportsman

Heat 1 Chuck Buchman, Michael Cogdill, Bob Burgess, Tom Moore,
Jr., Jimmy Anderson, David Bell
Heat 2 Corey Anderson, Neal Williams, Kyle Borror, Erik
Renninger, Eric Kormann


MICHAEL COGDILL, Neal Williams, Eric Kormann, Corey Anderson, Tom
Moore, Jr., Bob Burgess, Chuck Buchman, David Bell, Dan Mazy, Eric
Renninger, Jimmy Anderson, Kyle Borror

DNS: Mike Starke


JIMMY ANDERSON, Dan Mazy, Mike Starke


JEREMY DOERR, Dean Woolford, Spider Ensinger, Jr., Bob Hopely, Pat
Conaway, Steve Schemglia, Terry Griffin, Bill Miller, Jeff Dirkes

DNS: Herman Solderich

Bridgeport Speedway
83 Floodgate Road
Bridgeport NJ 08014
DE Office: 302- 875-4196
NJ Office: 856-467-4408
24 hr. Info: 856-467-4407
Fax: 856-467-5843
E-mail: [email protected]


Fri 7/3 Fast and Furious Fridays T-Shirt Night First 50
paying fans get a free T-Shirt

1/4 Mile 600cc Micro-Sprints (20L), 270cc Micro-Sprints (20L), & 4
Cylinder Stock Cars (20L)
6:30 PM Warm-Ups, 7:00 PM Qualifying

Sat 7/4 Saturday Night Stars! Mr. 358 Sportsman on Armed
Forces Night Free Grandstand admission for Active Military members
with Veterans getting a $5 discount off of Grandstand Admission

358 Sportsman (25L), GM Sportsman (20L), 4 Cylinder Stock Cars (10L),
Bridgeport Limited Sprints, Outlaw Stocks (15L) + Rookie GM Sportsman
6:15 PM Warm-Ups, 7:00 PM Qualifying