Bridgeport Speedway Home Page Fan Guide Bridgeport Speedway Tickets Race Schedule Bridgeport Speedway Track Information Photos and Video Gallery Home Contact Us Driver Forms Media
  Bridgeport Speedway Home  

Bridgeport Speedway News

Monday July 06, 2009
BRIDGEPORT, NJ (July 5, 2009) - On Armed Forces Night at Bridgeport
Speedway, the Mr. 358 Sportsman Championship event was won by Jesse
Hill. David Bell was the victor in the GM Sportsman feature with Jimmy
Anderson taking the Rookie GM Sportsman race. The Proformance Outlaw
Stock Car main event was won by Pat Conaway. Jimmy Hughes claimed the
4-Cylinder Stock Car feature and John Wyers took the checkered flag in
the Bridgeport Limited Sprint contest.

John Cavallaro took the lead at the drop of the green flag in the
25-Lap Mr. 358 Sportsman Championship feature with Jarrad Miller, Don
Bogey and Ron Roberts in pursuit. The action slowed down on lap 3 when
Bogey's car spun in turn three. When the green waved again, Miller
worked his way past Cavallaro for the lead. Cavallaro dropped back a
couple more spots as Roberts motored into second on lap 5 with Yaple
taking third on lap 6. With a majority of the cars hugging the low
groove, thirteenth place starter Jesse Hill was using the high side of
the speedway and advanced up to fourth place on lap 12. Also on lap
12, the second caution of the event occurred for multi-car tangle.
Miller kept his lead on the restart but Hill jumped up to the
runner-up spot. On the fourteenth circuit of the race, Hill used the
outside lane to gain the top spot from Miller. With the lead, Hill
outlasted two final yellow flags to gain his third win of the year and
his thirteenth career victory in the extra distance event. Roberts
took back the second spot from Miller on lap 15 and was the next to
follow Hill at the checkered flag. Kevin Collins came back from an
early race visit to the pits to finish in third place. Yaple wound up
in fourth place with Travis Hill coming home in fifth place. Miller
did cross the finish line in fourth place but was unfortunately
disqualified for not making the minimum weight. The 358 Sportsman heat
winners were Cavallaro, Yaple and Miller.

David Bell started on the pole of the 20-lap GM Sportsman feature and
led every lap to win his second feature of 2009. Second place finisher
Eric Kormann chased Bell for most of the contest but could not get by
him. The victory was Bell's second win in his career. Third place went
to Tom Moore, Jr. with Corey Anderson taking fourth and rookie Billy
Martino getting fifth. Moore, Jr. and Neal Williams were victors in
the GM Sportsman heat races. Jimmy Anderson led all six laps of the
Rookie GM Sportsman race to win his third feature of the year.

Pat Conaway led all 15 laps to win his third Proformance Cuts Outlaw
Stock feature of 2009. Bill Miller finished in second place with Terry
Griffin getting the third spot. Rounding out the top five finishers
were Warren Stradley and Bob Hopely. The Proformance Cuts Outlaw Stock
heat winners were Miller and Conaway.

Veteran Jimmy Hughes overpowered the 4-Cylinder Stock Car field to
win the 15-lap event on the big 5/8 mile oval. Coming from his sixth
starting spot, Hughes took the lead on lap 2 and ran away from his
foes. Warren Stradley edged Dave Damiano in an exciting battle for
second place. Nick Pjatikin and Josh Lovett completed the top five.
Pjatikin and Hughes won the 4-Cylinder Stock Car qualifying events.

In the Bridgeport Limited Sprint feature, John Wyers, the 2004
Bridgeport Limited Sprint Champion, won his fifth career feature by
leading all 15 Laps in the return of the winged warriors. Second place
was captured by Jeff Mueller with Jack Curtis coming home in third.
Dean Schaffer and Keith Anderson filled out the top five.

On Saturday, July 11th, 80's Night will be celebrated with a 30-lap
feature for the BPG Racing/Hooters Restaurant Tri-Track Big Block
Modified Challenge Series and the visiting URC Sprints sharing the
spotlight. Dirt Track champions during the 1980s from Bridgeport,
Flemington and East Winsdor will be in attendance and fans will get a
chance to greet them. The 358 Sportsman and GM Sportsman will also be
in competition. A fantastic fireworks display has been added to this
special event. Racing starts at 7:00 PM on July 11th with Grandstand
Gates opening at 5:00 PM.

Quarter mile racing resumes on Friday, July 10th with the 270cc
Micro-Sprints competing in two 15-lap features. Rounding out the
program will be the 600cc Micro-Sprints and the 4 Cylinder Stock Cars.
Heat races begin at 7:00 PM on Friday July 10th with Gates opening at
5:00 PM. For additional information, please visit
or call 302-875-4196.

Bridgeport Speedway Results Saturday, July 4th, 2009

358 Sportsman

Heat 1 John Cavallaro, Frank Dorry, Jr., Brett Ballard, Chuck
Hopkins, Jesse Hill, Craig Whitmoyer
Heat 2 Randy Yaple, Bob Lineman, Jr., Jack Swain, Don Bogey,
Larry Lippincott
Heat 3 Jarrad Miller, Ron Roberts, Travis Hill, Kevin Collins,
Sean Gunther, Dan Cogdill


JESSE HILL, Ron Roberts, Kevin Collins, Randy Yaple, Travis Hill, Bob
Lineman, Jr., Chuck Hopkins, Jack Swain, John Cavallaro, Sean Gunther,
Brett Ballard, Frank Dorry, Jr., Craig Whitmoyer, Dan Cogdill, Bob
Rambone, Larry Lippincott, Don Bogey
DQ: Jarrad Miller

GM Sportsman

Heat 1 Tom Moore, Jr., Eric Kormann, David Bell, Bob Burgess,
Chuck Buchman, Billy Martino
Heat 2 Neal Williams, Kyle Borror, Corey Anderson, Jimmy
Anderson, Erik Renninger, Rich Jackson


DAVID BELL, Eric Kormann, Tom Moore, Jr., Corey Anderson, Billy
Martino, Rich Jackson, Jimmy Anderson, Bob Bracall, Forest Peters, Bob
Burgess, Neal Williams, Kyle Borror, Dan Mazy, Mike Starke, Joe
Langshaw, Erik Renninger, Josh Roscoe
DNS: Chuck Buchman


JIMMY ANDERSON, Billy Martino, Dan Mazy, Bob Bracall, Mike Starke

Proformance Cuts Outlaw Stocks

Heat 1 Bill Miller, Terry Griffin, Dean Woolford, Jeremy Doerr,
Bob Hopely
Heat 2 Pat Conaway, Tom Gibson, Warren Stradley, Jeff Dirkes,
Russell Wurst


PAT CONAWAY, Bill Miller, Terry Griffin, Warren Stradley, Bob Hopely,
Dean Woolford, Russell Wurst, Tom Gibson, Jay Chaikin, Pete Ellis,
Jeff Dirkes, Jeremy Doerr

4 - Cylinder Stock Car

Heat 1 Nick Pjatikin, Dave Damiano, Bob Hartman, Warren Stradley
Heat 2 Jimmy Hughes, Bucky Albright, Josh Lovett, Joe Meron


JIMMY HUGHES, Warren Stradley, Dave Damiano, Nick Pjatikin, Josh
Lovett, Bucky Albright, Bob Hartman, Joe Meron


JOHN WYERS, Jeff Mueller, Jack Curtis, Dean Schaffer, Keith Anderson,
Billy Case, Steve Petry, Doug Smith

DNS: Dan Cogdill

Bridgeport Speedway
83 Floodgate Road
Bridgeport NJ 08014
DE Office: 302- 875-4196
NJ Office: 856-467-4408
24 hr. Info: 856-467-4407
Fax: 856-467-5843
E-mail: [email protected]


Fri 7/10 Fast and Furious Fridays Twin 15's for the 270cc

1/4 Mile 600cc Micro-Sprints (20L), 270cc Micro-Sprints (Twin
15L), & 4 Cylinder Stock Cars (20L)
6:30 PM Warm-Ups, 7:00 PM Qualifying

Sat 7/11 Saturday Night Stars! 80's Night with the BPG
Racing/Hooters Restaurant Tri-Track Big Block Modified Challenge
Series, URC Sprints and Fireworks.

Meet and greet session with NJ Dirt Track Champions from the 1980s.

Big Block Modifieds (30L), URC Sprints (25L), 358 Sportsman (20L) &
GM Sportsman (15L)
6:15 PM Warm-Ups, 7:00 PM Qualifying