Select a page

Bridgeport Crowns 2016 Champions

The Bridgeport Speedway crowned its 2016 Champions as the Spirit Auto Center Big Block Modifieds, Stewart Stainless Crate/Sportsman and PennCo Tech Outlaw Stocks ran their final events on the fast 5/8 mile speedway.  While there is still plenty of racing left on the 2016 schedule, Saturday night concluded weekly competition in the three headline divisions.

Boyertown, PA driver, Ryan Watt claimed his second Big Block title at the Bridgeport Speedway as well as his fourth win of the season when he raced by race leader, CJ Jones on a restart with just three laps to go in the twenty-five lap main event.  “You could race the top, the bottom or the middle,” the track champion exclaimed.  “You can’t ask for more than that!”

Steve Davis battled to the checkered flag with feature winner, Brad Roberts in the twenty lap Crate/Sportsman feature to capture his first track title of his racing career.  Roberts picked up his third win of the 2016 season, taking the lead from Eric Kormann just two laps before the finish.

TJ Henry has been an unwavering force in the Outlaw Stock division, earning his thirteenth win and twelfth in a row in the final point race of the season.  Henry moved into the lead of the point standings just one race ago and went on to capture the title over Tom Wills, Jr.

Ron Roberts took the lead at the start of the Big Block Modified feature event, leading the first lap before two time feature winner, CJ Jones raced into the lead.  The Big Block rookie looked like he was on his way to an unprecedented third feature win in his rookie season as he drove away from the competition in a race that went twenty-one laps without a caution.  Jim Britt spun in turns three and four with just three laps to go, setting up a three way race for the lead between, Jones, Watt and Tommy Beamer.  Jones went to the outside on the single file restart as did Beamer, opening up the bottom of the track for Watt.  Watt drove into the lead and then led the final three laps to the finish.  Jones, Beamer, Dave Hunt and Rick Laubach trailed Watt to the checkered.


Matt Stangle led the first five laps of the Crate/Sportsman feature before Kormann came through the pack and into the lead.  Roberts advanced into second just before the half way mark and began closing in on the leader.  Both Roberts and Davis made their way by Kormann with just two laps to go and then raced each other for the leader.  Roberts and Davis raced side by side to the checkered flag with Roberts edging out the new champion for the win.  Kormann, Stangle and Billy Briggs rounded out the top five at the finish.

Mike Creamer led the way in the Outlaw Stock feature event before Scott Dugan took over on lap three.  Dugan led through lap five as Henry pressured the leader from second.  Following a lap six restart, Henry drove to the front and then went unchallenged for the win.  Dugan finished a strong second followed by Wills, Jr., Brian Ludwig and Jimmy Avery.

The Bridgeport Speedway will be idle for the next two weekends but will return to action on Friday and Saturday, September 23rd and 24thOn Friday night, the Small Block Modifieds return to the speedway for their second event of the season along with the winged sprint cars of the Hilborn Tri State Race Savers.  Ryan Watt was the winner of the Small Block Modified event in August and will lead a host of Bridgeport regulars along with invaders in the Friday night competition.  TSRS has produced eight different feature winners this season with only Mike Haggenbottom able to repeat in Friday night competition.  The first green flag waves at 7:30pm for this Friday night event.

Then on Saturday night, it’s Bridgeport’s biggest event of the season with the first  King of the Big Blocks sponsored by K & A Excavating, paying $12,000 to the winner of the fifty lap main event.  The Bridgeport regulars will take on the invaders from throughout the Northeast in this premier event.  The Crate/Sportsman and Outlaw Stocks will complete this tripleheader program with racing getting underway at 6pm.

SPIRIT AUTO CENTER BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS (25 laps): 1. Ryan Watt, 2. C.J. Jones, 3. Tommy Beamer, 4. David Hunt, 5. Rick Laubach, 6. Sam Martz, 7. Neal Williams, 8. Richie Pratt, Jr., 9. Mike Barone, 10. Jordan Watson, 11. Ron Roberts, 12. Ricky DiEva, 13. Jim Britt, 14. Dave Shirk, 15. Chuck Potts, 16. Rusty Smith, 17. Anthony Moran, 18. Howard O’Neil, 19. Ryan Forte, 20. Kevin Britt, 21. Frank Doklan, DNS – Mike Franz, Pete Visconti

STEWART STAINLESS SUPPLY CRATE/SPORTSMAN (20 laps): 1. Brad Roberts, 2. Steve Davis, 3. Eric Kormann, 4. Matt Stangle, 5. Billy Briggs, 6. Roger Manning, 7. Dave Damiano, 8. Chris Jenkins, 9. Kris Lilick, 10. David Jenkins, 11. Chris Grbac, 12. Tom Sherby, 13. Shawn Ratchford, 14. Pete Serra, 15. Matthew Luzi, 16. Bob Lilick, 17. Jeramy Doerr, 18. Tom Errico, Jr., DNS – Jeff Bubori

PENNCO TECH OUTLAW STOCKS (15 laps): 1. T.J. Henry, 2. Scott Dugan, 3. Tom Wills, Jr., 4. Brian Ludwig, 5. Jim Avery, 6. Gary Klimeczak, 7. Mike Creamer, 8. John Parker, 9. Ryan Freshneck, 10. Cleve Riehl, 11. Art Avery, 12. Spider Ensinger, 13. Pat Conaway, DNS – Steven Land.



Upcoming event 

Saturday, September 10 & 17 - No Racing

Friday, September 23 - Small Block Modifieds, TSRS Sprints & Open Practice, racing at 7:30pm

Saturday, September 24 - King of the Big Blocks - $12,000 to Win Sponsored by K & A Excavating - Big Block Modifieds, Crate/Sportsman & Outlaw Stocks, racing at 6pm  (Rain date if needed - October 1)

Saturday, October 1 - 811 Dig Safe Poker Series Bonus Hand Sponsored by Colonial Pipeline  - Big Block Modifies, Crate/Sportsman, Outlaw Stocks & Powder Puff Races on the 1/4 mile


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *