Select a page





When Rick Laubach picked up his third Big Block Modified win on Saturday night at the Bridgeport Speedway on First Responder’s Night sponsored, by Spirit Auto Center, it was much more than just another win for the Hellertown, PA driver.  .  Laubach reached a landmark that only four other drivers share

Saturday night’s win was Laubach’s 50th Big Block Modified victory on the 5/8thmile speedway - a status that he now shares with Jimmy Horton, the late Doug Hoffman, Billy Pauch and Wade Hendrickson.  Laubach remains fifth on the All Time Feature Winners list.

It was a three wide battle for the lead when the green flag waved that saw Tommy Beamer come out on top over David Hunt and Dave Shirk.  Before a lap could be completed, the caution waved when Sam Martz made contact in turn two.  The complete restart produced the same results with Beamer leading the first lap.

Hunt raced into the lead following a lap two restart and immediately began to pull away from the field.

It was all Hunt through lap twenty when Laubach made his way through lapped traffic to challenge Hunt for the lead.  Laubach took the lead with a move to the outside of Hunt on lap twenty-one.  Laubach led the remaining circuits, taking the win over Hunt and Richie Pratt, Jr. who had another strong outing in the No. 28.  Ryan Watt made a late race pass by Neal Williams to take fourth.

Wayne Weaver has three Big Block Modified wins at Bridgeport but on Saturday night, Weaver made his first trip to Bridgeport’s Victory Lane since 1989 - this time, behind the wheel of the Overhead Door Crate/Sportsman.  Weaver combined his efforts with those of car owner, Sal DeBruno, earlier this season.  After just a handful of races, Weaver picked up his first win in Stewart Stainless Crate/Sportsman action.

Weaver took the lead from Andrew Belmont on a lap two restart and never looked back as he raced to the win over Dave Damiano.  Belmont finished third followed by Eric Kormann who made his tenth consecutive top five finish.  Matt Stangle picked up the ride in the Gallagher No. 31 when mechanical woes sidelined his own No. 6 and drove to a fifth place finish after starting at the rear of the field.

Jeramy Doerr picked up two wins in PennCo Tech Outlaw Stock competition, winning both fifteen lap feature events including a rained out hand of the 811 Dig Safely 2017 Poker Series.  Brian Ludwig gave Doerr a sizeable challenge in the first event, leading the first ten laps before Doerr took over.  Ludwig finished second followed by Tom Wills, Jr., Rich Stinson and Mike Creamer.

In the second feature event, Darren Cox led the first three laps before Wills, Jr. took over through lap six.  It was Doerr to the front on lap seven.  Wills, Jr. finished second followed by Jeff Dirkes in third.  Stinson finished fourth with Cox rounding out the top five.  It was Doerr’s first Ace of the 2017 Poker Series.

It’s Driver Appreciation Night at the Bridgeport Speedway next Saturday when the Big Block Modifeds, Crate/Sportsman and Outlaw Stocks return to action at 7pm.

SPIRIT AUTO CENTER BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS (25 LAPS) 1. Rick Laubach, 2. David Hunt, 3. Richie Pratt, Jr. 4. Ryan Watt, 5. Neal Williams, 6. Tommy Beamer, 7. Dominick Buffalino, 8. Ron Roberts, 9. Ricky DiEva, 10. Ernie Miles, Jr., 11. Dave Shirk, 12. Anthony Moran, 13. Wade Hendrickson, 14. Jim Britt, 15. Don Hallowell, 16. Bob Sarkisian, 17. Sam Martz

STEWART STAINLESS CRATE/SPORTSMAN (20 LAPS) 1. Wayne Weaver, 2. Dave Damiano, 3. Andrew Belmont, 4. Eric Kormann, 5. Matt Stangle, 6. Brian Papiez, 7. Adam Cox, 8. Clyde Cox, 9. John Micek, 10. Matthew Peck, 11. Roger Manning, 12. Brett Belmont, 13. Melissa Scarpatti, 14. David Crossman

PENNCO TECH OUTLAW STOCKS (15 LAPS) 1. Jeramy Doerr, 2. Brian Ludwig, 3. Tom Wills, Jr. 4. Rich Stinson, 5. Mike Creamer, 6. Darren Cox, 7. Jeff Dirkes, 8. Jon Meyer, 9. John Parker, 10. Jimmy Avery, 11. David Kramer, 12. Ken Moren, 13. Andrew Joslin, 14. Paul Donahue, 15. Sean Smith

PENNCO TECH OUTLAW STOCKS (15 LAPS - MAKE UP FEATURE FROM 5/28) 1. Jeramy Doerr, 2. Tom Wills, Jr. 3. Jeff Dirkes, 4. Rich Stinson, 5. Darren Cox, 6. Brian Ludwig, 7. Jimmy Avery, 8. Mike Creamer, 9. Ken Moren, 10. John Parker, 11. David Kramer, 12. Paul Donahue, 13. Jon Meyer, 14. Andrew Joslin


Upcoming events

Saturday, July 22 – Driver Appreciation Night  - Big Block Modifieds, Crate/Sportsman & Outlaw Stocks, racing at 7pm

Saturday, July 29 –  Big Block Modifieds, Crate/Sportsman & MASS Sprint Cars, racing at 7pm

Saturday, August 5 - Bike Night - Big Block Modifieds, Crate/Sportsman & Outlaw Stocks, racing at 7pm

Saturday, August 12 - Ladies Powder Puff Races - Big Block Modifieds, Crate/Sportsman, Outlaw Stocks & Vintage, racing at 7pm


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *