Select a page



For the third time in just seven days, Ryan Watt drove his Ron Roberts Racing No. 14w to victory on the lightning fast 5/8th mile Bridgeport Speedway on a night of racing sponsored by Joy Auto Parts of Dunellen and Chester, New Jersey.

Watt became the first driver this season to win three times in the Spirit Auto Center Big Block Modified ranks as he picked up back-to-back wins in Saturday night action.  Watt was also the winner of the Small Block Modified portion of Bridgeport’s Three for All program on Tuesday night.

Brad Roberts, grandson of Ron Roberts, drove to his second win of the season in the Stewart Stainless Crate/Sportsman main event after taking the lead from three time winner, Matt Stangle on the sixth circuit of the twenty lap race.  TJ Henry picked up a pair of wins in the PennCo Tech Outlaw Stocks, winning both of the Twin 12 lap feature events for that division and upping his win total to an even dozen by the end of Saturday night’s action.  No one was able to claim the bounty placed on Henry who has now won eleven Outlaw Stock features in a row.  Riehl Towing and the Bridgeport Speedway combined to post a $200 bounty to be paid to the driver who can win in this division with Henry still in the race at the checkered flag.

Tommy Beamer had the Thornton Gulf No. 31 out in front for the first five laps of the Big Block Modified feature before Neal Williams put the Overhead Door No. 0w into the lead on lap six.  Williams led the way through half way after Watt moved into second on lap nine.  Watt closed in on Williams and took a look to the inside of the leader in turn three on lap thirteen.  Mindful of Watt’s move to the inside to take the lead in last week’s event, Williams was determined not to let that happen again.  “I wasn’t going to get beat on the inside again,” Williams stated.  “I moved to the bottom.”  When Williams changed his line, it left the outside open for Watt raced side by side with Williams to complete lap fifteen.  Watt pulled ahead as the field raced out of turn two.

There was plenty of action remaining as Dominck Buffalino closed in on Williams just before the five to go sign.  Buffalino went to the outside and raced Williams to the stripe to complete lap twenty-one then moved ahead as they head through the corners.  Rick Laubach, assuming the wheel of the Atlas Paving No. 66, moved in to pressure Williams in the final laps.

A caution flag with two laps to go erased Watt’s advantage and had Buffalino, Williams, Laubach and Joseph Watson lined up nose to tail behind the leader.  But the current point leader prevailed as he led the way to the finish with Buffalino finishing second.  Laubach made a move by Williams with just a little more than a lap remaining to take third.  Williams finished fourth  with Joseph Watson rounding out the top five.

David Crossman led the field of Crate/Sportsman competitors for the first lap before Matt Stangle took over the lead on lap two.  Stangle led the way through lap five but Roberts used the inside to take the lead following a lap six restart.  It was all Roberts to the checkered flag with point leader, Steve Davis closing within a few car lengths of the leader.   Bobby Lilick finished third with Steve Kemery taking fourth.  Dave Damiano rounded out the top five.

The PennCo Tech Outlaw Stocks raced in two complete twelve lap feature events that saw Seaford, DE driver, TJ Henry drive to the front in each event.  In the first twelve lap feature,  Henry took the lead on lap two after Steve Land and Mike Creamer tangled while racing for the lead, leaving Billy Wroble no place to go.  Hard contact was made but all drivers were okay following the incident.  Henry led the way to the finish with Tom Wills, Jr. holding off the challenges of Brian Ludwig for second.  Scott Dugan finished fourth with Creamer rounding out the top five.

Gary Klimeczak put his No. 11 out in front in the second twelve lap feature event for the first four laps while holding off the challenges of Spider Ensinger.  Henry took over second on lap four and then took the lead on the next circuit around the 5/8th mile track.  Ensinger raced ahead of Klimeczak to take second but Scott Dugan made a late race charge to finish second to Henry at the checkered flag.  Ensinger finished third followed by Creamer and Klimeczak.

Colonial Pipeline’s 811 Dig Safely sponsored intermission activities that saw the young drivers of the future take to the quarter mile track for some laps before the feature events.  Competitors from Atco, Phoenixville, Blackbird and Wall Quarter Midget Clubs took part in Bridgeport’s Quarter Midget Night.  The youngsters were proud to display their cars behind the grandstand and then joined Ryan Watt, a father of a quarter midget driver himself, in Victory Lane.

The Bridgeport Speedway hosts Bike Night next Saturday night, sponsored by Harris Paving.  Anyone driving/riding a motorcycle to the races will be admitted free.  The Motorcycles will be on display throughout the night’s events behind the grandstand.  Several lucky boys and girls will win new bicycles during the night’s activities.  The Big Block Modifieds, Crate/Sportsman and Tri State Race Saver Sprint Cars will be in action with racing getting underway at 7pm.



1 – Ryan Watt, 2 – Dominick Buffalino, 3 – Rick Laubach, 4 – Neal Williams, 5 – Jojo Watson, 6 – Tommy Beamer, 7 – Sam Martz, 8 – Richie Pratt Jr, 9 – Jim Britt, 10 – Dave Shirk, 11 – Billy Pauch Sr, 12 – Mike Franz, 13 – Ron Roberts, 14 – Chuck Potts, 15 – Jordan Watson, 16 – Wade Hendrickson, 17 – Bob Sarkisian, 18 – Ricky Dieva, 19 – CJ Jones, 20 – Ryan Krachun



1 – Brad Roberts, 2 – Steve Davis, 3 – Bob Lilick, 4 – Steve Kemery, 5 – Dave Damiano, 6 – Eric Kormann, 7 – Kris Lilick, 8 – Tom Sherby, 9 – Bob Bracall, 10 – Melissa Scarpati, 11 – David Crossman, 12 – Matthew Luzi, 13 – Matt Stangle, 14 – Jeramy Doerr, 15 – Bill Briggs, 16 – Brian Lilick, 17 – Roger Manning


1 – TJ Henry, 2 – Tom Wills Jr, 3 – Brian Ludwig, 4 – Scott Dugan, 5 – Mike Creamer, 6 – Spider Ensinger, 7 – Ed Bischoff, 8 – Gary Klimeczek, 9 – Tom Princiaotta, 10 – Jack Beaumont, 11 – John Parker, 12 – Doug Debray, 13 – Steven Land, 14 – Billy Wroble   DNS – Art Avery



1 – TJ Henry, 2 – Scott Dugan, 3 – Spider Ensinger, 4 – Mike Creamer, 5 – Gary Klimeczek, 6 – Tom Princiotta, 7 – Ed Bischoff, 8 – Tom Wills Jr, 9 – Doug Bebray, 10 – Brian Ludwig, 11 - Jack Beaumont, 12 – John Parker   DNS – Art Avery, Steven Land


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *